Car Choice

Hiphiphoray

Actually 328i GT cost $276,000, most ppl would rather take 520i.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11382

Maybe in SG cos of our tax structure etc but many other countries, pple wil take the 328i for its sporty drive over the 520i more comfortable n leisurely ride.

\oops... u r rite... on 2nd thot, IS may be a better choice [grin]

But I find the front grill quite ugly.

my understanding is that JDMs are not officially exported by manufacturer. Its bought in bulk by a Jap Dealer whom in turn deregister the car in Japan with their auth (so its off Toyota's record & liability) & then resell to PI in SG. Hence, to Toyota, the Mark X car/owner is non existant liao.... So to get spares, must make sure ur PI has good rapport with his counterpart in Japan.

So are foreigners not allowed to buy JDM? I would say officially no, but businesses exploit loopholes hence so many JDMs in SG.

As for the HP difference, I would think is marginal/acaemic. Unless u constantly push the car to the limit beyond straight roads. Guess is ts Hybrid IS that is exclusive to Lex.

Japs same the best for themselves. On a side note, a friend once told me his dad who is a businessman, said the red light district in maj cities in Jpn do not serve foreigners too, But if u must have, u need to drive to those "love hotels" in the suburbs, where "they" are there too. But foreigner ends up paying double. Once to the sex worker at transaction & again when leaving the lobby to a Yakuza member. ...

Back to Mark X, it even has the 3.5 L version. So seems like it just dont have Hybrid. Oh....Mark X as its JDM, speed limiter restricted to 180kmh.....but thats not too difficult to resolve.

Japs same the best for themselves. On a side note, a friend once told me his dad who is a businessman, said the red light district in maj cities in Jpn do not serve foreigners too, But if u must have, u need to drive to those "love hotels" in the suburbs, where "they" are there too. But foreigner ends up paying double. Once to the sex worker at transaction & again when leaving the lobby to a Yakuza member. ...

Jap prostitutes dun like to hv sex wh foreigners cos ty r considered as "dirty". Thats why seldom Jap pros wil accept a foreigner unless ty willing to pay much more than the locals.

Japs think very highly of themselves. To them all foreigners r bad. Thats been their thinking for a long time already. Ty consider themselves superior to all other races.

But its slowly changing with the new generation being more open to foreigh culture etc.

i went to lexus in car expo in tokyo, and i remembered many LS in the road

If I'm not wrong, Lexus is not sold in Japan.

Therefore, Mark X is actually the IS250. And Mark X is only sold in Japan as Toyota for their domestic market, while the same car is sold overseas as Lexus IS250. That's why Mark X is only available from PI and not AD. Yes/no ?

The last time I was googling/wiking, it mentioned that though Lexus was formed much earlier, it was only during 2005 that Lex was sold within Japan.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lexus

".....The division inaugurated dealerships in Japan's domestic market in 2005, becoming the first Japanese premium car marque to launch in its country of origin.[4] Further debuts in Southeast Asia, Latin America, Europe, and other export regions have since followed. The division's lineup has also been expanded to reflect regional specifications in model and powertrain configurations."

It is true ..... LEXUS ... Luxury EXport to the US ..... I was told that is how LEXUS got it's name. The brand Lexus never exist in Japan, all Lexus are brand under Toyota ... I am sure you guys remember TOYOTA Harrier .... It is till much later that they start selling LEXUS in Japan.

I agree ... LEXUS is not Toyota but for the same amount of money, I would choose a Merc, BMW over LEXUS.

The same thing that NISSAN did for Infinity and Honda with ACURA.... the USA car market is a huge market. I must say that the Japanese has been successful with their "Brand A" Strategy. Reliability ........ no doubt but for driveability and character, I would still go for the Germans.

Maybe in SG cos of our tax structure etc but many other countries, pple wil take the 328i for its sporty drive over the 520i more comfortable n leisurely ride.

If I am not wrong, 520i and 328i is using the same engine as no different in the tax ....

Choice would be dependent on AGE. A young man would go for 328i and a Ah Pek like me would go for the 520i. Different choice at different stage of life.

1) It is true ..... LEXUS ... Luxury EXport to the US ..... I was told that is how LEXUS got it's name. The brand Lexus never exist in Japan, all Lexus are brand under Toyota ... I am sure you guys remember TOYOTA Harrier .... It is till much later that they start selling LEXUS in Japan.

I agree ... LEXUS is not Toyota but for the same amount of money, I would choose a Merc, BMW over LEXUS.

The same thing that NISSAN did for Infinity and Honda with ACURA.... the USA car market is a huge market. I must say that the Japanese has been successful with their "Brand A" Strategy. Reliability ........ no doubt but for driveability and character, I would still go for the Germans.

2) If I am not wrong, 520i and 328i is using the same engine as no different in the tax ....

Choice would be dependent on AGE. A young man would go for 328i and a Ah Pek like me would go for the 520i. Different choice at different stage of life.

1) Hahaha. I think was already mentioned( and proved) in another thread its a myth about how Lexus got its name. [flowerface]

2) I dun think the 520 n 328 hv same engine. More likely the 318, 320 n 325 n 520 n 525 cud share the same engine in different tune but 528 sud b a larger engine.

Maybe 528, 530 n 535 might b same engine cos the power from them is more logical, but I cud b wrong. Its just an educated guess only.

Yalor, toyota own self admit it's based on camry wif a few tweaks. Nvm lah, some ppl want to believe it's an exclusive, non-toyota so dun burst their bubble lah.

It is based on the chassis of Toyota Camry.

If I'm not wrong, Lexus is not sold in Japan.

Therefore, Mark X is actually the IS250. And Mark X is only sold in Japan as Toyota for their domestic market, while the same car is sold overseas as Lexus IS250. That's why Mark X is only available from PI and not AD. Yes/no ?

Ur info outdated lah.

Previously, Lexus & Toyota share the same model.

For example, Lexus ES is sold as Toyota Windom.

Since Lexus starts to sell in Japan, not more liao lah.

Lastly, Mark X is NOT IS250. But Mark X shares the same chassis together with IS & GS.

same, cant afford them even the down payment...... back to reality ----- where's the key to my jap b&b COE-ed car?

Spiritually speaking, you can say MarkX is the domestic version of IS250

But technically speaking, the two bodies are very different. the engine may be very similar, but the hp ratings are not the same also. I know coz my bro has the MarkX, my friend has the IS250

Ur comment is not exactly right. Both cars are sold in diff. customer segment. Mark X is also sold in China as Toyota Reis.

1) Hahaha. I think was already mentioned( and proved) in another thread its a myth about how Lexus got its name. [flowerface]

2) I dun think the 520 n 328 hv same engine. More likely the 318, 320 n 325 n 520 n 525 cud share the same engine in different tune but 528 sud b a larger engine.

Maybe 528, 530 n 535 might b same engine cos the power from them is more logical, but I cud b wrong. Its just an educated guess only.

U outdated. Nowadays, got no 318, 325 & 525.

320 & 328 shares the same 2L.

530 no longer in production lah. 535 is not the same as 530.

Oh OK. Tks for the update. [flowerface]

Ur info outdated lah.

Lastly, Mark X is NOT IS250. But Mark X shares the same chassis together with IS & GS.

Oh, so now Lexus is sold in Japan.....

OK, thanks for the update! [:)]

It is based on the chassis of Toyota Camry.

Ur info outdated lah.

Ur comment is not exactly right. Both cars are sold in diff. customer segment. Mark X is also sold in China as Toyota Reis.

I watched detectives driving markX in quite a few jap crime dvds, IS250 was used by the intellectuals in these dvds

so the segments are really quite different, based on such crime stories, should be not too far from real life I guess

yes, markX is branded as Reis in china, but my bro told me the engine used there is somewhat different from the markX here, not sure how true it is

Oh, so now Lexus is sold in Japan.....

OK, thanks for the update! [:)]

hahahaaa.... your updates too focused on pawn, now must broaden them

nowadays I am quite confused with the numbers used in model lineup by bmw, is there a way to relate them to the actual cc of the engines?

I will gladly 'drive' a model with model code 36D2435!!! can you tell the reason why? it may not be a diesel or 24valve, 3.5litre hor....

Edited by Maseratigood

>>>>>>>>>

It is true .....XUS ... Luxury EXport to the US ..... I was told that is how LEXUS got it's name. The brand Lexus never exist in Japan, all Lexus are brand under Toyota ... I am sure you guys remember TOYOTA Harrier .... It is till much later that they start selling LEXUS in Japan.

<<<<<<<<<<

Personally I wont mind a Lexus instead of conti, reliability is one of the reasons

Talking about character, if I were in the league to afford highend cars, I would choose a NSX over a beemer in the same category, if ever beemer had such a model. its proven that if the jap wants to do it, they could match if not surpass the germans in driveability combined with reliability.... the NSX did give Ferraris and the likes at the time a scare when it appeared in the market

Hahaha. I think was already mentioned( and proved) in another thread its a myth about how Lexus got its name. [flowerface]

oh, do you mean the reverse of LEXUS ie SUXEL means sux, ejecuate, lick? in this sequence, very horny!! oppps.... [lipsrsealed]

Jap prostitutes dun like to hv sex wh foreigners cos ty r considered as "dirty". Thats why seldom Jap pros wil accept a foreigner unless ty willing to pay much more than the locals.

Japs think very highly of themselves. To them all foreigners r bad. Thats been their thinking for a long time already. Ty consider themselves superior to all other races.

But its slowly changing with the new generation being more open to foreigh culture etc.

nothing wrong with taking pride in one's own race/country but we shouldn't do it excessively

same for the car we drive and as long as we accept we get what we pay for, ie a b&b car will give us only b&b results, we still can take pride in our car bought with honest money, used for honest purposes, and pay CEO/ERP etc honestly...

btw, I like honest car names: eg FIT, it fits passengers in a efficient way in terms of its modest size yet does the job

CIVIC, quite a civic car to drive around if you don't trash it hard, these names are not fanciful.

But I find the front grill quite ugly.

I like it coz it matches my tooth-gap and darkish teeth..... [grin]

Edited by Maseratigood

I will gladly 'drive' a model with model code 36D2435!!! can you tell the reason why? it may not be a diesel or 24valve, 3.5litre hor....

Ya I know u like those with D (diesel) but a 36D has huge airbags which can cause u serious concussion if u bounce too hard n ty hit u in the face.

I go for the smaller airbags like 34b/c. Much safer in case of extreme violent movements.

Something like 2 women with 2 different bodies, but similar sex organs, but sex drive ratings are not the same ??? ^_^

maybe the two wear different undergarmenst:- one grandma's white cotton bras and panties that go up to the belly button, the other lacey, see thru, kinky bras and G-string? same feel or not, you say? [grin]

Ya I know u like those with D (diesel) but a 36D has huge airbags which can cause u serious concussion if u bounce too hard n ty hit u in the face.

I go for the smaller airbags like 34b/c. Much safer in case of extreme violent movements.

come to think of it, you do have good taste!!! for Asians, 34 is just about right coz my hands not big enough for 36 and above

I mean the space / length between my hip and the brake/gas pedals should just be 34 inch, not 36inch... the latter makes using the pedals difficult.... we are safe, this is still car-talk!!