Rustyz 5th Gear November 10, 2013 Share November 10, 2013 (edited) Dear all,Yup to relocate ecu, I read how to better prevent car from stolen. The highly rated solution is yo relocate ecu( I think only can delay a while longer only). My questions are is it legal, I dont see why it is illegal. Anyone know where got such service. Lastly any better suggestion to prevent such unfortunate experience. I understand the top 2 option is dont go malaysia and dont drive. Please share valuable inputThank for reading Edited June 3, 2014 by BabyBlade ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 10, 2013 Share November 10, 2013 Moving ecu requires moving a lot of wires which is not feasible. If you want to make the car not able to start or run, just worked on a couple of the wires will do. But it won't defeat the thief who comes with a tow truck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lydiachristopher 3rd Gear November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 In Malaysia theft now they use tow truck with platform or winch truck. Whether you relocate ecu or remove engine still they'll tow away your truck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 To prevent theft, this is the best device 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 Dear all, Yup to relocate ecu, I read how to better prevent car from stolen. The highly rated solution is yo relocate ecu( I think only can delay a while longer only). My questions are is it legal, I dont see why it is illegal. Anyone know where got such service. Lastly any better suggestion to prevent such unfortunate experience. I understand the top 2 option is dont go malaysia and dont drive. Please share valuable input Thank for reading errrrr....what car u driving until so scared hv to relocate ECU n all? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 relocate ECU? might as well remove the entire ECU! lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiawy 1st Gear November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 To prevent theft, this is the best device Not very good leh, if need to drive off urgently have to unlock the wheel clamp and remove it from the wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 ...in the first place, can someone enlighten me how relocating the ecu can prevent car theft? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 If relocated might as well make it plug and play? When u leave yr car..take out the connectors and take away your ECU. Make it a quick release. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 If relocated might as well make it plug and play? When u leave yr car..take out the connectors and take away your ECU. Make it a quick release. Why not detachable steering wheel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 In the days when cars were low tech, i simply removed the little distributor rotor. Simple, free and effective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 Why not detachable steering wheel? they will plug in another F1 one...not easy get same ECU lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivanpaseo 2nd Gear November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 (edited) easy way is to pull out the fuse or relay for your ecu...... Edited November 13, 2013 by Ivanpaseo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 Why not detachable steering wheel? then they will bring another steering wheel and steal your car! take out all 4 wheels! sure no one steal! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 To prevent theft, this is the best device commercially available meh? easy way is to pull out the fuse or relay for your ecu...... sekali pull out liow pak boh tio hoh seh liow~! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 (edited) This must be a joke. If I want to take longer to cook my rice should I relocate the rice cooker further away from the kitchen? Edited November 13, 2013 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jansonchua 2nd Gear November 13, 2013 Share November 13, 2013 Best way to prevent theft is don't drive to boleh land! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mongater November 15, 2013 Share November 15, 2013 Car theft are all over the world. Most of those Car theft in Malaysia whose car from Singapore are Targeted person. If you want better prevention from Car theft.. sometime you have to be a theft yourself. Btw, If I'm a theft ,I'll be laughing my guts out after seeing the suggestion posted above. I would suggest a Self-powered GPS/GSM locator hidden inside your dash, Since you can't prevent your car being towed away, at least you know where your car at (Mobile phone Google map). We can dismantle car to bare-bone in less then 1.5 hours so can anyone, so you better be fast. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...