Judge rejects accident settlement for probe

Jman888

On 11/12/2013 at 12:59 PM, Pisces69 said:

Exactly. I just wonder what r those surveyors surveying?

Either ty r sleeping on the job or ty r taking ang pow on the job.

He supposed to decide if a part sud b replaced or repaired. Profit to ws can b very different.

Even sometimes ws just repair but wil claim new. So are those surveyors checking n catching these crooked goings on?

If ty are, then we sud not see so much fraud cases. For those medical related, the insurance companies sud hv their own doctors to catch such fraudlent claims.

In 2009 I bumped into a 125cc CISCO motorcycle at a traffic light where light turn green, the bike in front start to move n I start to move.. then the bike stopped n my car bumped slightly and bike dropped sideways. Some scratches to the box and the stainless steel crash bar. I cannot settle privately Bec Cisco have to report to company.. bill came and it's nearly $5k for repair, 1k for lawyer, 4 k replace SS bar and box and engine fender. The fender cost $3k.. SS bar and box 1 k.

I dispute the cost with my insurer about the fender that cost 3k..as a 125cc bike cost 6k brand new. they also bochap and just went ahead to pay out.

If Mr Tan case of suaniess is genuine...then he is indeed suay to the max.

Back in 2007/08...my car was involved in 4 accidents...all 4 times I was rear ended and one of it resulted in a chain accident involving 3 other cars.

So if the cases happen now...I would be in the same situation as Mr Tan !!

On 11/14/2013 at 5:20 AM, Ghostrider said:

So if the cases happen now...I would be in the same situation as Mr Tan !!

Mr Tan is a recently discharged bankrupt, who can chalked up $100,000 over of claims for the last accident. It is not reported how much he got for his last 5 other accidents so it must have been the amount that shocked the judge to make such a decision.

If every time, the damage is $10k over, would you be so "unlucky"?

On 11/14/2013 at 5:27 AM, Carnoob said:

Mr Tan is a recently discharged bankrupt, who can chalked up $100,000 over of claims for the last accident. It is not reported how much he got for his last 5 other accidents so it must have been the amount that shocked the judge to make such a decision.

If every time, the damage is $10k over, would you be so "unlucky"?

Hard to say leh...my brother in law rear ended somebody...not so jialat for the other party...but his own damage plus 3rd party claim came up to 16K.

My own experience...on one of the accident that somebody hit me from the back...he ask for private settlement cos he just made a claim on his own policy very recently. So I brought him to my workshop and left him to nego with my workshop...

Private settle is around 2K for repair...not inclusive of lost of use (which I was prepared to forgo). Claim insurance is at least 4K (with lost of use). The diff is because my WS explain to the guy who hit me cash vs credit. Insurance company will take a long time to reimburse the repair cost...so he has to factor in opportunity cost. According to most workshop...fastest reimbursement will be at least 4-6 months. If any dispute along the way...may take longer or dispute on claim amount have to discount a bit here and there.

The chain accident...the WS claim injury for me...which came up to around 8K (medical reimbursement is already close to 5K...the balance dunno for what hardship crap)

So maybe possible that he suay kenna 10K claim amount...

But its good that the judge dun anyhow approve the claim....at least somebody is doing something to stop all these crazy claims. They should jail those who make fraudulent claims...then at least people who anyhow claim will think twice.

On 11/14/2013 at 3:28 AM, Chucky2007 said:

In 2009 I bumped into a 125cc CISCO motorcycle at a traffic light where light turn green, the bike in front start to move n I start to move.. then the bike stopped n my car bumped slightly and bike dropped sideways. Some scratches to the box and the stainless steel crash bar. I cannot settle privately Bec Cisco have to report to company.. bill came and it's nearly $5k for repair, 1k for lawyer, 4 k replace SS bar and box and engine fender. The fender cost $3k.. SS bar and box 1 k.

I dispute the cost with my insurer about the fender that cost 3k..as a 125cc bike cost 6k brand new. they also bochap and just went ahead to pay out.

Unfortunately CISCO is also connected with gharmen in a way so ins co decide better not to fight wait ty kenna pay even more if go to court.

We all know how it is here hor.

So lesson learnt is never bang any gharmen or related vehicle or even their property cos the payout wil shock the socks off u.

Good to have social media, to keep pressure on insurance and judge to do the right thing. If not, we will keep voice our concern in social media.

Edited by Yewheng

On 11/14/2013 at 7:27 AM, Ghostrider said:

But its good that the judge dun anyhow approve the claim....at least somebody is doing something to stop all these crazy claims. They should jail those who make fraudulent claims...then at least people who anyhow claim will think twice.

Insurance Fraud is a very serious offence in many other countries n jail is very likely.

Funny in SG its taken very lightly by the authorities n these fraudsters r getting away scott-free. [gossip][thumbsdown][shakehead]

On 11/14/2013 at 1:26 PM, Pisces69 said:

Insurance Fraud is a very serious offence in many other countries n jail is very likely.

Funny in SG its taken very lightly by the authorities n these fraudsters r getting away scott-free. [gossip][thumbsdown][shakehead]

That is why, some people prefer to expose these people on social media then go through proper channel. As they may have given up on the authorities. Expose them on social media, authorities instant react. Complain through proper channel, erm....

On 11/14/2013 at 1:25 PM, Yewheng said:

Good to have social media, to keep pressure on insurance and judge to do the right thing. If not, we will keep voice our concern in social media.

Yes. Thats why internet forums r a good message board for these social issues to make known to many others what is happening n what is the gharmen doing about it.

But now our gharmen wan to control the Internet which is hardly seen in any first world free country.

Its only seen in communist or dictatorship n repressive countries.

On 11/14/2013 at 1:29 PM, Yewheng said:

That is why, some people prefer to expose these people on social media then go through proper channel. As they may have given up on the authorities. Expose them on social media, authorities instant react. Complain through proper channel, erm....

Yes I know what u r saying n agree with u.

On 11/14/2013 at 1:20 PM, Pisces69 said:

Unfortunately CISCO is also connected with gharmen in a way so ins co decide better not to fight wait ty kenna pay even more if go to court.

We all know how it is here hor.

So lesson learnt is never bang any gharmen or related vehicle or even their property cos the payout wil shock the socks off u.

ya man.. I wanna settle privately with the a bang also no chance. The damage I give 1k a bang still give me back the change.. Make me lose 30% ncb...

On 11/14/2013 at 2:46 PM, Chucky2007 said:

ya man.. I wanna settle privately with the a bang also no chance. The damage I give 1k a bang still give me back the change.. Make me lose 30% ncb...

Lucky not those 100% gharmen vehicle like Police, fire engine etc. Those I think must go tru dunno what gharmen survey n then ty estimate the repair costs. That one u see the bill maybe u faint even. [sweatdrop]