Judge rejects accident settlement for probe

Jman888

Anything that involve insurance are prone to fraud and abuse. Did someone mention lawyers and doctors?? All work the same as fellow workshop bosses.

Cut doctors a bit of slack, esp those working in A&E. Don't one bamboo stick capsize one boat of people.

On 11/9/2013 at 11:46 PM, Zxcvb said:

Anything that involve insurance are prone to fraud and abuse. Did someone mention lawyers and doctors?? All work the same as fellow workshop bosses.

On 11/9/2013 at 11:28 PM, Pisces69 said:

So by Insurance companies not investigating n bringing to court suspected Insurance Fraud cases, these insurance companies r actually perpetuating n encougrageing insurance fraud cos the criminals know ty can very easily get away with it.

So like that whose fault is it? Motorists or Insurance Companies? If its Insurance Companies lax ways, why r motorists being made to pay the price n suffer rising premiums?

Looks like the insurance companies r simply passing the buck to motorists to bear the burden of their incompentent ways.

That is a very unfair statement. If you have read the news papers even to 2 weeks ago, over the last 2 years, many motor accident claim touts and scammers have been fined and sent to prison. This is because insurance companies are actively investigating such claims. Its is difficult to prove as there are always almost no witnesses, willing witnesses or tip offs. Its simply sniffing certain traits in claims and investigating all the way and reporting them to CAD. Go read the papers and police website. Do understand more before accusing.

• Dislike 1

On 11/10/2013 at 3:03 AM, Suv8 said:

That is a very unfair statement. If you have read the news papers even to 2 weeks ago, over the last 2 years, many motor accident claim touts and scammers have been fined and sent to prison. This is because insurance companies are actively investigating such claims. Its is difficult to prove as there are always almost no witnesses, willing witnesses or tip offs. Its simply sniffing certain traits in claims and investigating all the way and reporting them to CAD. Go read the papers and police website. Do understand more before accusing.

Relax, no need get so angry. Side track a bit. Social media do give pressure to authorities that, hey we are watching you. If you are not fair, or things that are happening is quite obvious and yet let the person off or very light sentence, something must be wrong. Yes although sometimes really difficult because of lack of evidence. But this above case is one scenario that finally judge did what it is right thing to do. Yeah, and hopefully send a strong signal for people to drive more carefully and to those who still got this.. mindset of inflating claim. Please don't do it as nowadays those kind of things will be exposed quite easily.

Drive safe everyone.

Let me cite a simple example of inflating claim without fraud nor scam nor 3rd party.

Just say someone made a considerable dent on your car door, one look you know it can be knocked back or repaired. You bring to workshop, the boss will want to make the most profit out of this - change new door instead of knocking back.

The above was my personal experience many years ago. You can imagine if a more serious accident involving more parties will inflate until gao gao.

On 11/9/2013 at 11:28 PM, Pisces69 said:

So by Insurance companies not investigating n bringing to court suspected Insurance Fraud cases, these insurance companies r actually perpetuating n encougrageing insurance fraud cos the criminals know ty can very easily get away with it.

So like that whose fault is it? Motorists or Insurance Companies? If its Insurance Companies lax ways, why r motorists being made to pay the price n suffer rising premiums?

Looks like the insurance companies r simply passing the buck to motorists to bear the burden of their incompentent ways.

the whole motor insurance industry is screwed lah .............. on one hand, the insurers do want to reign in fraud claims, but on the other they really do not have the resources. Cos the law allows 3rd party claim. If all insurers band together and make claims/accident reporting centralised, then all these will be eliminated cos every claim must be assessed. Just like how NTUC setup IDAC, but because it does not apply to all, failed eventually.

this IS a problem that EVERYONE, including the authorities know but no one wants to be hero, so we consumers suffer lor....... as usual

On 11/10/2013 at 9:37 AM, Zxcvb said:

Let me cite a simple example of inflating claim without fraud nor scam nor 3rd party.

Just say someone made a considerable dent on your car door, one look you know it can be knocked back or repaired. You bring to workshop, the boss will want to make the most profit out of this - change new door instead of knocking back.

The above was my personal experience many years ago. You can imagine if a more serious accident involving more parties will inflate until gao gao.

please lor, sometimes never even change door [laugh] I got into an accident years ago. The van bumper dropped 3cm, but he claim me $8000 [nod]

in many cases, the "victim" got kickback, thats why anything the workshop says, they sign.

That's why the solution is not punishing, but preventing

workshop want easy way out, get a new door and just hange it.

customer dun mind a new door and listen to their advice. what would you do if workshop recommend you to change new door? 9 out of 10 will be happy to do so. the last one probably claiming from his own insurance [laugh]

On 11/10/2013 at 3:03 AM, Suv8 said:

Hahaha. Reading the papers in SG is a bit like reading the comics lah.

Always paint a nice picture but in reality, its quite different.

If so many pple hv been caught n punished, there wud b a strong deterrent for pple to commit Insurance Fraud. But if Insurance Fraud is so rampant that our premiums keep going up, then something is not right.

Why sud motorists b made to pay for the inabality of insurance companies to detect the fraud cases? Innocent Motorists cant do anything about it so why throw the burden on motorists then?

Insurance companies sud pull up their socks n take responsiblity for the many who get away with it.

If the damaged door is under yr insurance company claim, then there is the insurance assessor to determine if a new door is needed or it sud b just repaired.

If the assessor approves the new door, then again, whose fault is it? The motorist is innocent but end up paying higher premiums.

Afterall thats what ty hv the assessor for. To determine if the repairs/costs suggested by the workshop is justified or not.

On 11/10/2013 at 11:42 AM, Othello said:

1) the whole motor insurance industry is screwed lah .............. on one hand, the insurers do want to reign in fraud claims, but on the other they really do not have the resources. Cos the law allows 3rd party claim. If all insurers band together and make claims/accident reporting centralised, then all these will be eliminated cos every claim must be assessed. Just like how NTUC setup IDAC, but because it does not apply to all, failed eventually.

this IS a problem that EVERYONE, including the authorities know but no one wants to be hero, so we consumers suffer lor....... as usual

2)please lor, sometimes never even change door [laugh] I got into an accident years ago. The van bumper dropped 3cm, but he claim me $8000 [nod]

in many cases, the "victim" got kickback, thats why anything the workshop says, they sign.

That's why the solution is not punishing, but preventing

1) So its the fault of the Insurance Companies to work out a system to reduce fraudlent claims but ty dun do it. Like that why sud motorists b penalised. I tell u why. Cos its the easy way out to bill the poor innocent motorist but ITS WRONG.

2) Ah so u said something, which is although sensitive, might just b the real problem of the whole Insurance Industry here. But why dun the insurance companies want to look deeper into it? I leave it to your own reasoning. [sly]

On 11/10/2013 at 11:48 AM, Jman888 said:

customer dun mind a new door and listen to their advice. what would you do if workshop recommend you to change new door? 9 out of 10 will be happy to do so. the last one probably claiming from his own insurance [laugh]

What u said is Spot On.

But then where does the Insurance Assessor come in? Isnt he supposed to determine if a new door is indeed necessary or if the damaged door sud b repaired?

So like that what do ty need the extra cost of employing the assessor for?????? He is supposed to help reduce repair costs, not add to the bill with his salary.

On 11/10/2013 at 11:48 AM, Jman888 said:

Very true. Honestly, will you reject a new door if your workshop n surveyor recommends it? Honestly? Say no? Its okay to knock it out, putty and respray?

Also another problem is 3rd party claims. The law allows you to change the door if you sue. Do you know that? Insurance companies knows that. So why waste money and pay 2 lawyers fees defending the unwinnable? In the end the costs of 2 lawyers and repairs will go to your account. Yup, it causes horrible premium loading!

Actually 2nd hand car dealer can so freely temper odometer, inflated claim from workshop and etc... is because they have a very strong backing from the head who speak for them.

I feel that instead of speaking for them, they should come down hard on them and get rid of the rotten eggs. If the rotten eggs never get removed, sooner or later whole basket of eggs will be infected and become rotten.

Edited by Yewheng

On 11/8/2013 at 12:14 PM, Yeshe said:

this one is ok lah, if got medical bill to prove.

better than 1 bugger whom i rear ended previously, he got 1 day MC and tried to claim me $8000 for pain and distress [thumbsdown]

Sounds like a juicy story.

You must have rear ended that bugger all night long... ham kai anee distressed...

On 11/10/2013 at 2:05 PM, Yewheng said:

Actually 2nd hand car dealer can so freely temper odometer, inflated claim from workshop and etc... is because they have a very strong backing from the head who speak for them.

I feel that instead of speaking for them, they should come down hard on them and get rid of the rotten eggs. If the rotten eggs never get removed, sooner or later whole basket of eggs will be infected and become rotten.

Yes the industry is already very rotten compared to what I remember of it 20-30 years ago when it was bad but not as bad as it is today.

Our gharmen do not wan to clean up all these rotten eggs n it wil get worse till we will just b labelled the con capital of Asia if not the world in time to come.

There just seems to b so much dishonesty n cheating going on nowadays compared to long ago.

Best part is police dun act. Then who is supposed to act?

On 11/10/2013 at 2:21 PM, Relagsingh said:

Sounds like a juicy story.

You must have rear ended that bugger all night long... ham kai anee distressed...

Hahaha. Wah piang. Now this thread also become a Tiko thread. Hahaha.

On 11/10/2013 at 6:25 PM, Pisces69 said:

Yes the industry is already very rotten compared to what I remember of it 20-30 years ago when it was bad but not as bad as it is today.

Our gharmen do not wan to clean up all these rotten eggs n it wil get worse till we will just b labelled the con capital of Asia if not the world in time to come.

There just seems to b so much dishonesty n cheating going on nowadays compared to long ago.

Best part is police dun act. Then who is supposed to act?

Hahaha. Wah piang. Now this thread also become a Tiko thread. Hahaha.

I feel that they as motor industry has a big umbrella that is protected by the head. Every time there is a problem, no worries the head will help speak for them and fight for them. So much so that they are no afraid of any complain as they know they are well protected.

Just my complain or feedback alone had been thrown aside saying if there is a suspected of tampering of odometer, please report to police. And my reply to them is that it is not so simple as report to police as almost whole industry is doing it. And it seems like they know but giving a " who cares " attitude. I get so puss off..

Edited by Yewheng

On 11/10/2013 at 7:55 PM, Yewheng said:

I feel that they as motor industry has a big umbrella that is protected by the head. Every time there is a problem, no worries the head will help speak for them and fight for them. So much so that they are no afraid of any complain as they know they are well protected.

Just my complain or feedback alone had been thrown aside saying if there is a suspected of tampering of odometer, please report to police. And my reply to them is that it is not so simple as report to police as almost whole industry is doing it. And it seems like they know but giving a " who cares " attitude. I get so puss off..

Unfortunately SG is evolving into a first world country with third world biz practices.

On 11/8/2013 at 2:58 PM, Suv8 said:

TIBS bus. Yes its time judges pay greater attention to the claimants with allegations of neck pains and getting a doctor to certify just to claim. Which clinics these people regularly go to and which law firms always represent such claims. There is a pattern.

Hmm.. Actually I find the judge rejecting the settlement a bit weird. Especially if it involves SMRT bus like someone mentioned earlier.

Usually it is very difficult to have the party at fault to agree to the payments.

How is it such that it was a fraud if the party at fault was the SMRT driver and insurance company to access it? I wonder how that guy actually arrange for it..

Unless the judge reject the payments as he see a possible "fraud" when the "victim" submits a suspicious MC.