Joseph22 Turbocharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 9:38 AM, BabyBlade said: Came across this confession on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/nusconfessions/posts/540863029323332 I have been together with my boyfriend for slightly under a year. Everything about him fits my criteria for a partner- tall and well-built, intelligent, caring and probably one of the sweetest guys around. Yet, there is one trait of him that has been perturbing me for the longest time. It is that of his frugality. Now, don't get me wrong. I am not one of those gold-digger girls who is looking for a rich husband. Case in point, if I were, my boyfriend would have been struck off the list long ago. I understand that love cannot be measured by money, but yet it seems that if money is perpetually a concern to my boyfriend when he spends on me, it just seems to me that I am perhaps of less value than a few wads of cash. Moreover, I am far from unreasonable in making him spend more than he can manage. My recent birthday celebration just made me really sad. He brought me to Sushi Tei and a gave me a sweet handmade card. Perhaps to some of you this may still be acceptable I'm not sure, but to me this was a complete disappointment. For a birthday celebration, Sushi Tei seriously? This would be the kind of restaurant I would casually meet up with friends at, and not some place I would patronise for a special occasion. A card and no present? Yes, a card is sweet, but another way of looking at it is: cheap. I get very envious when I see my friend's boyfriends bringing them to classy romantic dining establishments and gifting them with expensive presents on their birthdays. And this is when their boyfriends are still studying and just living on the pay from their part-time jobs. If they can afford to do so, why not my boyfriend? To make things clear, I myself am very generous to my boyfriend in gifting him with presents. I am not trying in any way to cheat his money. I know my boyfriend loves me but I sometimes can't help but think if his thrifty habits (read: stingy habits) is something I can live with for life. At the same time, this is a relationship I won't bear to give up. Perhaps in life, it is inevitable that you win some and lose some. Girl laments about how she wishes to be pampered on special occasions but got bashed by everyone for being a gold digger. Hmmm.. Where do you bring your girlfriend/wife for dates, birthdays? Fine line between thriftiness and stinginess. I have no qualms about going Sushi Tei for birthdays. I think a lot of people miss this line. She feel that her boyfriend is not responding in kind. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Free loader spotted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 ang mo says the guy is cheap. No wonder we are losing SG gals to the ang mo.. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bamdk%5D-citibank-vp-cheap-guy-bring-gf-sushi-tei-her-birthday-4449739.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Actually I think the Sushi Tei episode is the straw that broke her back, before that I think she already mark down instances where she was hoping he will be more expressive in the way that she yearns but he didn't, then everything just boil over with the birthday. Everything has 2 sides. Bright side is he will be very careful with his finances but bad is whoever is with him will get the collateral damage and suffer from his careful finance. 2 sides of the same coin, is how you look at it. Bottomline, nobody is perfect. She go for someone else will also probably have something she doesn't like. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 10:22 AM, Eviilusion said: skali she is the one stingy......bf never gets to touch anything or taste anything.......he knows no matter what he wont get.....so why spend soo much.....if girl say must keep for wedding night so money oso must keep for wedding night! I like your thinking! If girl keep for wedding night, guy keep money for wedding, if girl never keep for wedding night, guy keep money for his ownself future.. Haha.. And if girl never keep to him and her after wedding night, guy better keep for divorce! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator November 7, 2013 Author Share November 7, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 11:49 AM, Eviilusion said: anyone buying for you the Honda NSR 150 RR? I paid every dollar and cent for my SP hor. The first repair & servicing cost me $950. All fully paid for by myself too. Haha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator November 7, 2013 Author Share November 7, 2013 Actually there are so many other places that are of the same price range as Sushi Tei yet more exclusive and romantic. We're not talking just about dollar and cent. Maybe if the boyfriend had made a tiny wee bit more effort to bring the girlfriend to somewhere not as mainstream as Sushi Tei, she might not have felt so unappreciated. And yes Sushi Tei isn't exactly cheap too. For that same amount I pay to dine at Sushi Tei, I could have had it at somewhere else with better ambience and away from the crowd. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 1:59 PM, Holdenutessv said: Sushi Tei? It's way better than nothing, I don't see the reason why she should rant about it. In that order : Sushi Tei, Ichiban Boshi.... (trying to think of other names).....and finally, Sakae Sushi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 (edited) normal la tried not to bring very ex, try to bring $100 and below per pax. above that really heart pain to pay ahaha last year i brought her to tung lok signature and i find sushi tei acceptable le Edited November 7, 2013 by Thaiyotakamli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 (edited) On 11/7/2013 at 9:38 AM, BabyBlade said: Girl laments about how she wishes to be pampered on special occasions but got bashed by everyone for being a gold digger. Hmmm.. Where do you bring your girlfriend/wife for dates, birthdays? Fine line between thriftiness and stinginess. I have no qualms about going Sushi Tei for birthdays. Honestly, I agree with the girl. It's really cheapo to go Sushi teh for birthday. She was kind enough to use the word frugal on the bf. I would have use the word miser. It's not that Sushi teh is not acceptable, but for birthday, which is only ONCE a year , pretty sure it is not unreasonable to go to a more unique and classier place which the girl has never been before. It is not about trying to show off with money, but more of trying to show effort, value and sacrifices for the girl. It doesn't hurt to give joy and surprises by making a bit more effort and sacrifice a little bit to show her how much he value her. I don't think it is being a gold digger. She is not asking him to go to expensive places everyday. She is just expecting a better place, a classier place for her BD so that she feel valued. You don't need to go to Skypark 57, One altitude or Level 33. Just a classier restaurant which she has never been before would have done the trick. Come on guys......it doesnt hurt to make your gal feel a little special. Edited November 7, 2013 by Icedbs 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 5:24 PM, Icedbs said: Honestly, I agree with the girl. It's really cheapo to go Sushi teh for birthday. She was kind enough to use the word frugal on the bf. I would have use the word miser. It's not that Sushi teh is not acceptable, but for birthday, which is only ONCE a year , pretty sure it is not unreasonable to go to a more unique and classier place which the girl has never been before. It is not about trying to show off with money, but more of trying to show effort, value and sacrifices for the girl. It doesn't hurt to give joy and surprises by making a bit more effort and sacrifice a little bit to show her how much he value her. I don't think it is being a gold digger. She is not asking him to go to expensive places everyday. She is just expecting a better place, a classier place for her BD so that she feel valued. You don't need to go to Skypark 57, One altitude or Level 33. Just a classier restaurant which she has never been before would have done the trick. Come on guys......it doesnt hurt to make your gal feel a little special. we didnt hear the other side.....every man would try to impress the girl he is wooing. For all we know the guy is frugal for a purpose. Not cheap if one is going University and if he has younger sibling his parents have to think about. Not everybody has a rich parents and some of us are poorer from the other. To him a bill at that restaurant may cost him his entire weekly allowance. We can see from the entire episode that the upbringing from both party is like venus and mars. She can afford it while he cant.....love is about patience and sacrifice. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 8, 2013 Share November 8, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 3:45 PM, BabyBlade said: I paid every dollar and cent for my SP hor. The first repair & servicing cost me $950. All fully paid for by myself too. Haha. joking lar.....thats kinda ex for repair n servicing of bike....sound like an overhaul.....i know nsr 150 cant rebore the block...so need new engine block. lucky my time lc kia, rxz and tzr can rebore and change to bigger piston. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 8, 2013 Share November 8, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 9:44 AM, Jman888 said: another confession 'story'? [sleeping] is this a place that people practice their story writing skill? I think she is the same writer for the intern story Doesn't Sec school holidays started 3 weeks ago .... More stories to come ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator November 8, 2013 Author Share November 8, 2013 On 11/8/2013 at 12:01 AM, Eviilusion said: joking lar..... thats kinda ex for repair n servicing of bike....sound like an overhaul.....i know nsr 150 cant rebore the block...so need new engine block. lucky my time lc kia, rxz and tzr can rebore and change to bigger piston. Yes it's costly. My front and rear brakes both were gone. Had to replace the brake pads, service the calipers, change pistons, orings etc, front tyre had to replace just to pass inspection as one thread was botak, just one! The brakes were the bulk of it. Yet to even open the top. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 8, 2013 Share November 8, 2013 Is she is truely love that guy, even a small dinner at Ya Kun or Koufu are good enough ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator November 8, 2013 Author Share November 8, 2013 On 11/7/2013 at 4:08 PM, Thaiyotakamli said: normal la tried not to bring very ex, try to bring $100 and below per pax. above that really heart pain to pay ahaha last year i brought her to tung lok signature and i find sushi tei acceptable le Tung Lok Signature.. where? How much did it cost? Sounds good. On 11/8/2013 at 12:18 AM, Picnic06 said: Is she is truely love that guy, even a small dinner at Ya Kun or Koufu are good enough ... You are up early! Good morning. If every other date go Kou Fu, no harm going somewhere nicer for birthdays ba. There are so many nice restaurants at Dempsey. Below $100 also can settle. Or $150. Romantic ambience somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 8, 2013 Share November 8, 2013 On 11/8/2013 at 12:22 AM, BabyBlade said: You are up early! Good morning. If every other date go Kou Fu, no harm going somewhere nicer for birthdays ba. There are so many nice restaurants at Dempsey. Below $100 also can settle. Or $150. Romantic ambience somemore. To the girl, its romantic ambience but to the guy, knn, don't know will go steady or not and 'fuel consumption so high' (chia yu tang) during pak tor ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear November 8, 2013 Share November 8, 2013 Kids these days have too much of a good thing... Sushi Teh is expensive food!! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...