SR-72 Son of Blackbird

JackRabbit

Then got warships, where Nimitz' 280,000 cc displacement was top until Enterprise came along...

actually Enterprise has a smaller displacement than Nimitz and the latter was the newer class compared to Enterprise.

Which Enterprise?

post-68075-0-32302900-1383833089_thumb.jpg

Mach 6? I think the missiles don't even have time to get out of the launch pad.

The SR-71's countermeasure for AAM and SAM is to "simply outfly the chasing missile" according to Wikipedia.

SR-72? I think it will chase the missile instead.

Turboprop Engine < Jet Engine < Ramjet Engine

Learn that from History Channel :D

Actually the SR-72 reminds me of a Spacecraft from an old PC game I play during School Days.

sr72_2650.jpg

original-centurion.pngg04984bg97o.jpg

Wing Commander Privateer

Anyone play this game too?

Edited by Pocus

the pain of losing a 1st king during a game to another.... [bigcry].

"First King"!

I like this one, this description sure sounds very familiar.

Loved this game - especially the 1st version.. fighting against the Kilrathi.

But the sequel was not that good.

The SR-71's countermeasure for AAM and SAM is to "simply outfly the chasing missile" according to Wikipedia.

Actually the SR-72 reminds me of a Spacecraft from an old PC game I play during School Days.

sr72_2650.jpg

Wing Commander Privateer

Loved this game - especially the 1st version.. fighting against the Kilrathi.

But the sequel was not that good.

Cannot praise liao...

SO I guess we around same generation....Youngsters know sheet about Retro PC games like Wing Commander..

Which Enterprise?

This is funny... [thumbsup]

sr72_2650.jpg

Wing Commander Privateer

You bought back some memories....

Ah Wing Commander...the game that sparked Creative's rise to prominence and countless others to buy a pc just to play the game..

I had a 286 with 2MB RAM and 20MB HDD, my first PC - bought with hard earned money from my 1st job after NS.

Just to play Wing Commander (I remember it was like more than 10x3.5" diskettes or something like that) - I had to delete most of my apps from the HDD, and leave just the OS (Dos 3.x) at the time; and then had to edit config.sys and autoexec.bat files to optimise the RAM to get at least 612KB (or something similar) in expanded (EMM) memory to play the game with full sound (speech and music on my new soundblaster card) and graphics (cut scenes and the scrolling messages and enemy pilot's image in the cockpit).

Those were the days, my friend...

I had a 286 with 2MB RAM and 20MB HDD, my first PC - bought with hard earned money from my 1st job after NS.

Just to play Wing Commander (I remember it was like more than 10x3.5" diskettes or something like that) - I had to delete most of my apps from the HDD, and leave just the OS (Dos 3.x) at the time; and then had to edit config.sys and autoexec.bat files to optimise the RAM to get at least 612KB (or something similar) in expanded (EMM) memory to play the game with full sound (speech and music on my new soundblaster card) and graphics (cut scenes and the scrolling messages and enemy pilot's image in the cockpit).

Yup, assembly of present day PCs are chickenfeed compared to those of yesteryears..Also remembered logging in to bbs via rs232 port using 14.4k modem and I remembered Hayes was the premium brand then! Geez getting old lol...

286 XT can use EMM meh? I remember I was helping my friend configure expanded memory for Wing Commander and realise EMM386.exe is compatible with only 386SX16Mhz CPU and above. In the end very limited features only with extended memory XMM.

Anyway those were the good old days, where geeks share the best optimized autoexec.bat and config.sys files for various games. Also go BBS to download the most light-weight mouse/sound drivers and CD-ROM drivers (but most cannot make it)

Those days, how many people know the mean of "download"?

Also some BBS got very simple MUD games like Legend of the Red Dragon (LORD)...Love those turn-based online games.

yes.. I remember from BBS was the 1st time I downloaded por... I mean artistic graphics... [sly] ; and learned the difference between bmp, pcx, tif,, gif and jpg files.

Yah, I also know that... but only much later when my interest carried me to reading more about such weapons...

But the cards (and they were two different sets), showed differently lor... I remember the pack with Enterprise had cc >300,000 (was it 360,000?), and i called it 'top king'. In that same box the '2nd king' was Kitty Hawk, whose cc was in the 200Ks range.

yes.. I remember from BBS was the 1st time I downloaded por... I mean artistic graphics... [sly] ; and learned the difference between bmp, pcx, tif,, gif and jpg files.

The transition from GIF to JPG files is a pain cos most viewers cannot support non-standard JPG file that time...but the returns were nosebleedingly worth it.....lol

Yah, I also know that... but only much later when my interest carried me to reading more about such weapons...

But the cards (and they were two different sets), showed differently lor... I remember the pack with Enterprise had cc >300,000 (was it 360,000?), and i called it 'top king'. In that same box the '2nd king' was Kitty Hawk, whose cc was in the 200Ks range.

i actually called it First King, then 2nd king for the card with the 2nd best statistics LOL

thanks for bringing back those memories

i think 612kb was the conventional memory. I had streetfighter in my pc but cannot play because my autoex bat and config.sys files contained a lot of shortcut eg the shortcut in dos to start windows 3.1

in the end had to remove that shortcut to get a few more kb to play streetfighter but everytime had to hit c:\windows

win instead of c:win