Foldable side mirror... is it serviceable?

Bluepica

The mirror is hold in place by double side tape. Remove the mirrror you will be able to access the gearing components.

Ok, I'll try... thanks :)

does spraying wd40 really works?i

also got this problem..

both side cannot open nor close.

WD40 is mainly used for removing rust. Don't use it for lubricating your mechanical parts!

For lube spray, I use Selleys RP7. Its a real lube spray. U can use any good quality lube or even grease if u can get it into the tiny space.

WD 40 is a penetrateing fluid to free rusty parts n wil eat into the metal after some time.

When I was at an aerospace company, WD 40 was banned n anybody caught using it at work wil b sacked immediately.

So far RP 7 has not stained the paint. After a carwash, u cant see it anymore but its inside lubricating the part.

Sounds good. I Googled it, it says Penetrating and Lube spray... Singapore where to find?

My guys always use WD40 to oil machines leh... but I agree WD40 is damn good at removing rust!

Sounds good. I Googled it, it says Penetrating and Lube spray... Singapore where to find?

My guys always use WD40 to oil machines leh... but I agree WD40 is damn good at removing rust!

Sellys RP7 I get from those Home-Fix DIY shops.

WD40 is eating away at the metal. Thats why the rust comes off easily.

so how much u got it from home-fix?

Sellys RP7 I get from those Home-Fix DIY shops.

WD40 is eating away at the metal. Thats why the rust comes off easily.

I greased it, cannot... now both left and right also got problem... close a bit then stop... but if I use little pressure to help it close and open, it can.... weird..

I can't seem to locate and screw to open up the casing.... :(

yeah you need to pull out the mirror to get to the inside components. usually you open it from the bottom or top of the mirror use a screw driver to ply the mirror our but be careful.

For the lube, i prefer to use silicon spray. i buy from malaysia cheaper. Silicon lubricant does not eat up plastic and rubber, i only use RP7 and WD40 for metal products only. Alternatively you can use dielectric grease as they are silicon grease, safe for rubber, plastic and vinyl use.

120929171712-thumb.jpg

R0494124-01.jpg

Edited by Ivanpaseo

The mirror is hold in place by double side tape. Remove the mirrror you will be able to access the gearing components.

ehh bro, is it easy to fix back after taking out? my side mirrors very squeaky [sweatdrop]

Should not be so difficult if you have the right suction cup and high quality UV double side tape.

Mine left side also gone bonkers liao.

Everytime start or stop the car engine, can hear the motor go e e e e e e.

Stii remain open.....lol.

Duno its the motor spolit or something stuck inside.

so annoying until i feel like tearing the mirror out.....lol.

Right mirror is ok tho.......

Edited by Hiphiphoray

yeah you need to pull out the mirror to get to the inside components. usually you open it from the bottom or top of the mirror use a screw driver to ply the mirror our but be careful.

For the lube, i prefer to use silicon spray. i buy from malaysia cheaper. Silicon lubricant does not eat up plastic and rubber, i only use RP7 and WD40 for metal products only. Alternatively you can use dielectric grease as they are silicon grease, safe for rubber, plastic and vinyl use.

120929171712-thumb.jpg

R0494124-01.jpg

Yes Silicon spray n grease is the proper thing to use if plastic n rubber is involved. Wil not destroy the palstic n rubber parts.

Or maybe some mice hv made their home in yr mirrors?

yayayayaya..........manage to get this ws to repair my spolit left mirror last nite.

They replace the gear and its now working well.

Cost $80 which not so bad lar. ^_^

Anyone check this ad out? Workshop doing side mirror repair. My passenger side mirror making creaking sound and can't close fully

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?app=sgcarstore&req=showprod&product=68947

yayayayaya..........manage to get this ws to repair my spolit left mirror last nite.

They replace the gear and its now working well.

Cost $80 which not so bad lar. ^_^

bro, no need to change any parts?

my left side mirror also have the "tek tek tek" sound and cannot close anymore... i ask around for the price to change the whole side mirror... almost $300 including labour.

If got sound probably its the gear spolited. If its the motor spolit, there wont be any sound nor movement.

i oversee the job. Need to dismantle the door panel to disengage some wiring to remove the whole mirror to replace the gear.

About 30 mins job, but have to wait for your turn lor. Cos they take in quite a number of cars to do other things.....even at 6.30pm.

I reach there about 6.30pm, left the place 8.15pm $80 poorer but very happy lor.

Why dont you call them and ask........ [sunny]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

For my case it the worm gear on the motor that fails. the gear just crack open so it is loose and could not hold on the the motor shaft. i guess most car mirrors the weakest link is the worm gear. If you force close or open the mirror the tendency for the worm gear to crack is high.