Mustank Hypersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 I think he spotted the vid camera la, so, diam diam faster drove off. As he is at fault. If no vid camera, the driver may inflate claim sia. cannot be lah very long ago that time no video ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 cannot be lah very long ago that time no video Got leh, the van that abruptly cut into honda civic lane and do a hard brake due to red light ahead. And the guy come out and 1 to 2 seconds go back in and drive off. Or is it my memory poor, it is the opposite? [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lybc 1st Gear November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 can put link so i can go see see look look? $65 also wanna scam, really is kan boh standard!!! Here u go. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bsexposed%5D-beware-hwz-user-ifeeltrappedhere-hp-936371xx-4441331.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Got leh, the van that abruptly cut into honda civic lane and do a hard brake due to red light ahead. And the guy come out and 1 to 2 seconds go back in and drive off. Or is it my memory poor, it is the opposite? [sweatdrop] no no no not that one another one the van at thomson junction at iras there the van waiting at red light then the car bang into van backside but is small knock lah Here u go. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bsexposed%5D-beware-hwz-user-ifeeltrappedhere-hp-936371xx-4441331.html wah!!! alot of people eating popcorn inside!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vitaminc1231 2nd Gear November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Actually I find both at fault leh... One reverse without checking, one followed too close? While it may be arguable whether taxi is tailgating or not, still, one doesn't have to drive so near to the vehicle in front lo. Some drivers really love to follow till close close when near traffic light, it's like so scare the car from next lane will filter in front of them, like lose 1 car length will die... Be tolerant, drive safely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 i reckon it would be a 50-50 case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Actually I find both at fault leh... One reverse without checking, one followed too close? While it may be arguable whether taxi is tailgating or not, still, one doesn't have to drive so near to the vehicle in front lo. Some drivers really love to follow till close close when near traffic light, it's like so scare the car from next lane will filter in front of them, like lose 1 car length will die... Be tolerant, drive safely. you should the garmen don put the parrallel parking so close if not ah is tailgating Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 (edited) i reckon it would be a 50-50 case I feel 50-50 not fair for the taxi driver. He was tailgating when the cars were moving but when the accident happened, he had already stopped. When he stopped behind that car, I don't think that is considered too close, seems more like a normal gap people leave when stopping behind another car. The car reversing should be looking out for obstacles behind even before reversing cannot assume that there are no cars/obstructions behind just because she just stopped. Edited November 7, 2013 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Actually I find both at fault leh... One reverse without checking, one followed too close? While it may be arguable whether taxi is tailgating or not, still, one doesn't have to drive so near to the vehicle in front lo. Some drivers really love to follow till close close when near traffic light, it's like so scare the car from next lane will filter in front of them, like lose 1 car length will die... Be tolerant, drive safely. Be it both wrong or one party wrong, try not to argue when you get down the car but instead check for injuries first UNLESS it's on purpose like the Lexus that side swipe, for that case I don't even wanna get down of my car.... If the lady avoid the argument, exchange particulars and move on and the husband don't post such comments on FB, their life would be better now.... I feel 50-50 not fair for the taxi driver. He was tailgating when the cars were moving but when the accident happened, he had already stopped. When he stopped behind that car, I don't think that is considered too close, seems more like a normal gap people leave when stopping behind another car. The car reversing should be looking out for obstacles behind even before reversing cannot assume that there are no cars/obstructions behind just because she just stopped. I notice the lady didn't even signal or hazard light? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 I feel 50-50 not fair for the taxi driver. He was tailgating when the cars were moving but when the accident happened, he had already stopped. When he stopped behind that car, I don't think that is considered too close, seems more like a normal gap people leave when stopping behind another car. The car reversing should be looking out for obstacles behind even before reversing cannot assume that there are no cars/obstructions behind just because she just stopped. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2686481-tp-road-hogging-is-an-offence-but-tailgating-is-not/ The traffic police will be developing a comprehensive plan to improve road safety, said Senior Minister of State for Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs, Mr Masagos Zulkifli in Parliament today. He added thatover the last three years, an average of 1,750 summons were issued each year for road hogging, and clarified that while road hogging is an offence, tailgating is not. Mr Masagos said: "We recognise that to have better road safety, it is a sum of both education enforcement and of course better road infrastructure. We will be rolling out more traffic police on the road to enforce and make sure that the message goes through that errant behaviour that jeopardises safety of all other road users will not be tolerated. We will do more and the reason is because we believe right now it is not sufficient." Source: http://www.todayonli...ove-road-safety Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Here u go. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bsexposed%5D-beware-hwz-user-ifeeltrappedhere-hp-936371xx-4441331.html I was going to post the executive summary here but since it is not good to go OT, http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/80839424-post1308.html Start a new thread if people want to discuss about this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 road hogging got speed as a gauge , I think road hogging while moving they cannot measure the distance and speed .... anyway I think the taxi driver is not at fault. basically the woman did not check before reversing. what happens if someone moves down from the pavement? she did not on her hazard lights and there was a side road, at most one would have thought another fellow who never turn on the signal lights trying to turn while slowing down. get her some demerits points and off the road...dangerous for other drivers too. by the way I also do not like most of the way taxi drivers drive too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 I was going to post the executive summary here but since it is not good to go OT, http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/80839424-post1308.html Start a new thread if people want to discuss about this. wagh!! the summary very good!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vitaminc1231 2nd Gear November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 Oral reply by Mr Masagos Zulkifli, Senior Minister of State for Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs: Educating the public on good driving habits is one of the key prongs in the Traffic Police’s road safety strategy. Outreach is done through many platforms, including road shows and talks, as well as the mass media. Traffic Police’s annual Road Courtesy Campaign has always underscored the importance of being considerate on the roads. Motorists who display acts of road courtesy are identified and commended for their efforts. At the same time, Traffic Police will continue to enforce the traffic rules against errant drivers. 2 “Tailgating” is the common term used to describe the situation where one vehicle is following too closely behind another. It is not a specific offence in itself under our road traffic laws. However, tailgating a vehicle, especially one travelling at high speed, may result in an accident. The driver may then be liable for careless or inconsiderate driving, depending on the circumstances of each case. In any case, although tailgating itself is not a specific offence, Traffic Police will enforce this in their routine patrols of the roads. However, we do not maintain a record of instances of tailgating detected in Singapore. 3 “Road hogging”, which refers to the obstruction of traffic moving at faster speeds, is a traffic offence under our road traffic rules and carries four demerit points, in addition to a monetary penalty. Motorists should drive as close to the left-hand side of the roadway as possible, so as not to obstruct other vehicles using the other lanes. Over the last three years, an average of 1,750 summonses were issued each year for road hogging. 4 On a broader level, Traffic Police are developing a comprehensive plan to improve road safety and address incorrect road behaviours holistically. The Ministry will provide more details of this plan at the upcoming Committee of Supply debate. Depend how you argue, I still think 50:50... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jumpmanz 5th Gear November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 i learnt my lesson lucky it was a $300 lesson as the car behind was very old lucky for u bro. settle privately instead of going to claims. had one experience too when i reverse slighly into a picanto at the upper east coast POSB, off starbucks/kfc. was distracted by a passer-by and told him to cross. picanto driver was nice enough to say no damage and case close. just a light kiss heng ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 (edited) I feel 50-50 not fair for the taxi driver. He was tailgating when the cars were moving but when the accident happened, he had already stopped. When he stopped behind that car, I don't think that is considered too close, seems more like a normal gap people leave when stopping behind another car. The car reversing should be looking out for obstacles behind even before reversing cannot assume that there are no cars/obstructions behind just because she just stopped. No point arguing about the technicality of the accident, I can also say normal gap when I see reverse lights on then I assume she will be going forward? I have ample time to sound my horn and warn the kuku driver. To me end of the day Insurance Company is the one to benefit. When 2 insurance cannot agree on the faulty, they will simply put as 50-50. We can argue not fair and so on but final say from Insurance Company. If they say 50-50, drivers still have to suck thumb. You want to fight go court at own cost, you want? End of the day, even 70-30, both premium will STILL increase. So who wins? To me, anticipation is important driving in Singapore. There is no clear cut 100% faulty unless the other party admits liability which is very RARE in Singapore (Why? Because all insurance companies informed drivers to NEVER admit liability). Of course if you meet with a "Prata" lady or man, then you are in for a 50-50 outcome. Final winner - Mr Insurance!! Edited November 7, 2013 by Carnoob Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 To me, anticipation is important driving in Singapore. There is no clear cut 100% faulty unless the other party admits liability which is very RARE in Singapore (Why? Because all insurance companies informed drivers to NEVER admit liability. Of course if you meet with a "Prata" lady or man, then you are in for a 50-50 outcome. Final winner - Mr Insurance!! i always admit for the last 2 accidents i had (i never claim from other for minor accident), 1 i let the insurance settle and the other i pay for repair at the choice of workshop by the other driver. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged November 7, 2013 Share November 7, 2013 I actually pity the 2 poeple who are their husbands. Not only do they get ugly bitches. They're liars and fraudsters too. Or maybe they're husbands are just like them, only 10x worse? wanted to praise this, but ran out of points! beauty is in the eye of the beholder lah. dun be so judgemental ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...