Count-Bracula Twincharged January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 How old? You are his boss or colleague? mid-20's . . . long suffering colleague, if boss he will not last 3 days What is CBTL ? I guess in workplace it is Cho Boh Tio Lut? Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. Cho Boh Tio Lut ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 Why quote me again? Can I collect royalty fees? you still owe me a kfc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 searched in fb. Is is the guy working in CBTL? From photo, look pui puppui also... heh nah... not that guy. I know which one are you referring to. He took off his online presence quite sometime back after a witchhunt for him over what he did to people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 http://www.straitstimes.com/news/opinion/more-opinion-stories/story/singaporeans-have-misplaced-sense-entitlement-says-sicc-head "We're now going through a period I saw in Hong Kong in the 1980s. The level of materialism - what you wear, where you live, what you drive, what you wear on your wrist - has become a key determinant of the value of human life. This is absolute nonsense. But it's the unintended consequence of the fantastic economic success which we have enjoyed. In our headlong rush for more money, a lot of values seem to have been lost. The ability to communicate with anybody else is less evident, and people now, generally, want to interact only with people of their own perceived social group." agree on the above pts... from expensive cars to watches to phones to shoes to glasses... everything is rat race now.. Fortunately if we want to choose not to go this way, we can ignore such people around us (not physically, but dont bother too much with their attitudes / show-offs etc) and choose to have real friends with those who are not materialistic. Our colleagues or neighbors may be materialistic, but they dont really run our life, do they? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 Actually the kid can take on temp job first to (at least) self-support him/herself. It reliefs the parents' of the burden too. Of course all those luxury items cannot buy yet lah....until find a stable full time job. can imagine how they splurge on luxury purchases the moment they get their first pay check!!! Not sure if they will give part of their first pay check to their parent though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 Sounds like some bad words Coffee bean u wrong la, it's c-bay-tu-lan. http://www.straitstimes.com/news/opinion/more-opinion-stories/story/singaporeans-have-misplaced-sense-entitlement-says-sicc-head "We're now going through a period I saw in Hong Kong in the 1980s. The level of materialism - what you wear, where you live, what you drive, what you wear on your wrist - has become a key determinant of the value of human life. This is absolute nonsense. But it's the unintended consequence of the fantastic economic success which we have enjoyed. In our headlong rush for more money, a lot of values seem to have been lost. The ability to communicate with anybody else is less evident, and people now, generally, want to interact only with people of their own perceived social group." agree on the above pts... from expensive cars to watches to phones to shoes to glasses... everything is rat race now.. happens at every era also. kiasu-ism at work. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 nah... not that guy. I know which one are you referring to. He took off his online presence quite sometime back after a witchhunt for him over what he did to people. Maybe the guy you're refering to is our MCF Observer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 can imagine how they splurge on luxury purchases the moment they get their first pay check!!! Not sure if they will give part of their first pay check to their parent though. I only hope when my kid gets his first pay check I would no longer need to give allowance..... Keep expectations low and we won't be disappointed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 sorry hor ... the trend now is to support your kid to uni, look for job, get marry, buy EC and the best is to buy a car ... lol I only hope when my kid gets his first pay check I would no longer need to give allowance..... Keep expectations low and we won't be disappointed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 (edited) sorry hor ... the trend now is to support your kid to uni, look for job, get marry, buy EC and the best is to buy a car ... lol Haha, I know one better: marry, take father's car (3 year conti, mind you), get parent's to pay for condo, dump grandkids with parents, 7 days a week go to parent's house for dinner. Only take back kid on saturday. Parent's stay in hardland decrepit buildings. Edited January 27, 2015 by Mason016 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 i wish i got daddy mummy giv me $$$ open cafe/spa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 i wish i got daddy mummy giv me $$$ open cafe/spa Like that, I think you can retire happily and rich. Remember to pass some of your gains to the tax man and renew your license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 Haha, I know one better: marry, take father's car (3 year conti, mind you), get parent's to pay for condo, dump grandkids with parents, 7 days a week go to parent's house for dinner. Only take back kid on saturday. Parent's stay in hardland decrepit buildings. One day, the grandson might do the same to his father. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 haha ... good one .... a man sent his father to old folk home ... the son took some brochure home and ask his father (the man) which one he prefer in next few years ... One day, the grandson might do the same to his father. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 Yeah... like the story about the parents giving the wooden bowl to the ah mah becos she keeps breaking the ceramic ones, and the grandkid started carving another wooden bowl... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 u wrong la, it's c-bay-tu-lan. u also wrong, it's c-bay-tuah-liap 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 you still owe me a kfc. And some German beer and French wine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged January 27, 2015 Share January 27, 2015 Yeah... like the story about the parents giving the wooden bowl to the ah mah becos she keeps breaking the ceramic ones, and the grandkid started carving another wooden bowl... this story is not written with the correct generation in mind. The grandkid wouldn't spend the effort carving a wooden bowl, but expect (1) one to be provided to him already (2) outsource the carving effort to low cost labour (3) buy 1 off the shelf ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...