Home renovation tips

Gary469

I don't mind fiddling around in the kitchen and cooking for myself (bachelor style tambah anything inside), but I fookin hate the cleaning up after. Heng my kitchen small.

I ever thought of before how my kitchen will look like if I was single. 1 portable induction cooker, 1 small multi purpose pot for cooking maggi mee or can soup. 1 microwave oven, 1 toaster oven, 1 small fridge, 1 sink, 2 cups and disposable utensils/cutlery. Perfect!

I've got the ikea "Udden" stainless steel console/worktop. Can fit cabinet or drawer module under, I got one of each. Useful thing and industrial looking which fits my house. Good if you've got extra space or need some storage/work area apart from the usual kitchen cabinets and countertop.

But the quality horrrr, errrmm the drawer handles came loose after two days so have to use glue to keep it secure.

But it's ikea *shrug*

I ever thought of before how my kitchen will look like if I was single. 1 portable induction cooker, 1 small multi purpose pot for cooking maggi mee or can soup. 1 microwave oven, 1 toaster oven, 1 small fridge, 1 sink, 2 cups and disposable utensils/cutlery. Perfect!

Haha I have 2 portable induction cookers, keep in cabinet when not in use so kitchen looks neat, gas stove was junked and I got a new countertop installed.

I have 3 pots+2 big steamboat/shabu-shabu pots that came with the cookers, 3 frying pans and enough cutlery and crockery for 3 people to dine. Cutlery/crockery/utensils mostly from ikea including my chef/utility/vegetable knives.

Microwave, toaster, kettle all sit on the Udden console.

And my house always got the smell of frying bacon.

i notice ikea stuff nothing to shout for..

basically, they are good for their design and concept, other than that..

quality is really poor..

Haha I have 2 portable induction cookers, keep in cabinet when not in use so kitchen looks neat, gas stove was junked and I got a new countertop installed.

I have 3 pots+2 big steamboat/shabu-shabu pots that came with the cookers, 3 frying pans and enough cutlery and crockery for 3 people to dine. Cutlery/crockery/utensils mostly from ikea including my chef/utility/vegetable knives.

Microwave, toaster, kettle all sit on the Udden console.

And my house always got the smell of frying bacon.

any knowledge on selecting a hob?

my finding is stainless steel type, safety feature, 2-3 burner is suffice

quality is really poor..

the solid wood ones are quite ex, around $10K.

but they are modular so many people dun like like.

quality is really poor..

any knowledge on selecting a hob?

my finding is stainless steel type, safety feature, 2-3 burner is suffice

3 is the way to go, one big one medium and 1 small for wok, soup boiling, and spare.

Guys... I also wanna renovate my aging hdb. Can anyone share with me how much budget they put aside for such renovation?

how many rooms hdb? full reno or partial?

estimate for avg reno complete for 5rm hdb around 40k and above.

how many rooms hdb? full reno or partial?

estimate for avg reno complete for 5rm hdb around 40k and above.

4 rm for my place. I dunno consider fully reno anot. i will do everything except the floor. Wiring also need to change. 20 over years liao.

old flats don't need to do built-in wardrobe/cabinets 'cos space big enuff. Buy proper wood cabinets. Important is to get the wirings changed, pipes and sanitary equipment changed.

Old floor using marble and granite can also keep. Those were the days when they are thicker. Just need polishing.

Edited by Kangadrool

Yeah unless you got some vision of a complete remake, work with what you have. It's suprising how a change of furniture and new colours can give a place new life without having to strip the whole house down to the bones first.

around $25K - $35K ($40K if you redo the whole kitchen from floor to wall and piping), get a few quote to compare.

Rewiring the house is easily 3-4k alone with the powerpoints. Maybe even more depending on how many points u want.

Kitchen and toilets will also a tidy sum.

Repainting i would say about 1k+

I disagree. I think floor to ceiling cabinets are always worth the $. Just the effort over the years u spend cleaning the dusty tops will be worth the additional $ u pay. Not to mention the extra storage space.

you can spend a lot but only to cook instant noodle [rolleyes][rolleyes]

last time I go one condo showroom. the salesman keep drumming up the unbeatable sea view we can enjoy each day by lazing on a deck chair and admiring the view.

at the back of my mind I was thinking, "come on, the condo is so expensive, I gotta work my socks off to finance it, why would I have the time to laze around and enjoy the sea view?"

Once you have spend $$$ to buy it, you die die will find some time to laze in the deck, and enjoy the seaview! [laugh]

I disagree. I think floor to ceiling cabinets are always worth the $. Just the effort over the years u spend cleaning the dusty tops will be worth the additional $ u pay. Not to mention the extra storage space.

agree. if want a more complete look, built in customised cabinets are the way to go. very hard to buy gam gam hor fit kind of cabinets in the market.

if i live in big landed property, then i won't bother with built in cabinets as i can easily place my loose pieces anywhere i want in a bigger area. but smaller areas like hdbs, i prefer built in.

last time I go one condo showroom. the salesman keep drumming up the unbeatable sea view we can enjoy each day by lazing on a deck chair and admiring the view.

i tell my wife before: those who buy condos on a budget will find that their domestic helper enjoy the condo the most cos the helper is at home 24x7 while you are slaving in your office from 7am to 10pm daily. [grin]

Once you have spend $$$ to buy it, you die die will find some time to laze in the deck, and enjoy the seaview! [laugh]

haha I think things doesn't work in this way for me!

i tell my wife before: those who buy condos on a budget will find that their domestic helper enjoy the condo the most cos the helper is at home 24x7 while you are slaving in your office from 7am to 10pm daily. [grin]

haha, that's the same reasoning my wife used when she die die don't want to hire a maid. she say why hire maid to allow them to enjoy the good facilities at home.......haha.......

hi guys, just wanna check if anyone know a reasonable price of the following works for 1000sqft

1) Hacking of 3 walls

2) Hacking of 2 toilet flooring and wall tiles

3) Hacking and removal of kitchen cabinets, build in 1 x wardrobes, sanitary fixtures, wall skirtings

4) Removal of debris

*no hacking on existing flooring except toilets.