Phluvcat 6th Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 If I signal to switch lane, and see another vehicle accelerate, I will let the other party 'Win'.... The Toyota driver seem reckless to try to cut in even after the gap was closed up. Then, the Lexus driver seem to bang the Toyota intentionally. it doesn't seem that the Lexus wanted to go straight . Another senseless incident on the road... Hai~ The way the Toyota change lane, if the driver did not bother to turn his head to check blind spot, then he would have totally missed the traffic on the lane that he wanted to change to. As he was slowly cutting across the lanes at an angle, just depending on the side view mirror is not sufficient as the desired angle of view had changed. Instead of glancing at traffic in the 1st lane, he was probably looking back more at the second lane and missing the on rushing Lexus. But that said, even if he had turned his head, he would assume that he had plenty of space at that moment and did not expect the Lexus to close the gap like a mad hare. You can only turn your head so many times when driving else you get into accident cause the constant turning of head causes you to get dizzy. In situation like this, if I am the Lexus, I always give the benefit of doubt to drivers in the Toyota's position. I would not say that the Toyota is reckless, but I have a much better view of what is happening around me compared to the Toyota who is trying to change lane, look out for traffic in the 1st lane, and also ensure sufficient distance to the cars in front. Even if the Toyota made a mistake, I would just let go as I would like people to give more leeway if I am changing lane too. It is unfortunately that the Toyota cannot be totally absolved of the blame, but in my humble opinion, the Lexus is a complete jeck-ess, who is probably too free in his life and looking out for some excitement, and filthy rich too, either that or his brain was shorted at that moment, just like the Incredible Hulk, the signal light is the stimulus, the catalyst that made him catapult his vehicle to the front. In summary, the Lexus plotted the accident, the Toyota felled prey to it. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 冤家路窄 香 蕉 小 姐, 妳 真 聪 明,疑案当前, 无思乱想, 交通意外, 死伤轻罪, 冤家路窄, 计谋行凶, 杀人动机,撞死消仇。 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xover 1st Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 alti driver shoud take taxilexi driver should take taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 i think all their car 2L and above right, their norm 150km/h is like our 110km for 1.3L car on NSHW I was driving in usa and yes, if I drive 110km/h I would be overtaken by everyone else. their cars I see is mostly above 2000cc with 2500cc - 3000cc more common. that's why I think Singapore sets their speed limits too low. even Malaysia got 110kmh as maximum.....what is our 90kmh objective? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 I was driving in usa and yes, if I drive 110km/h I would be overtaken by everyone else. their cars I see is mostly above 2000cc with 2500cc - 3000cc more common. that's why I think Singapore sets their speed limits too low. even Malaysia got 110kmh as maximum.....what is our 90kmh objective? maybe TP LTA know many local drivers are kuku, and they cant handle anything higher than 90kmh in USA, the engine size (for the same bodysize here) are usually at least 50% bigger, eg our 2000 / 2500cc accord/camry ends up having 3000, or 3500cc engine there but there is a trend there to downsize, typical family sedans had 5 litres engine or above, now it goes down to 3.5 - 4 litres alti driver shoud take taxi lexi driver should take taxi taxi ah cheks also not angels hor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 maybe TP LTA know many local drivers are kuku, and they cant handle anything higher than 90kmh in USA, the engine size (for the same bodysize here) are usually at least 50% bigger, eg our 2000 / 2500cc accord/camry ends up having 3000, or 3500cc engine there but there is a trend there to downsize, typical family sedans had 5 litres engine or above, now it goes down to 3.5 - 4 litres taxi ah cheks also not angels hor.... taxi ah cheks tend to only be fast off from standstill.......but overall they don't drive fast. in my opinion, our LTA or TP is always choosing to err on the side of caution by stipulating a lower limit. you see in Malaysia, their cars are not necessarily higher capacity than Singapore but they allow 110km/h on the highway. what more the lighting condition is much more favourable for driving than Malaysia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 I was driving in usa and yes, if I drive 110km/h I would be overtaken by everyone else. their cars I see is mostly above 2000cc with 2500cc - 3000cc more common. that's why I think Singapore sets their speed limits too low. even Malaysia got 110kmh as maximum.....what is our 90kmh objective? highway is different from expressway, their highway is between state to state measure by 100 of km. The expressway here is estate to estate within 10km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 taxi ah cheks tend to only be fast off from standstill.......but overall they don't drive fast. in my opinion, our LTA or TP is always choosing to err on the side of caution by stipulating a lower limit. you see in Malaysia, their cars are not necessarily higher capacity than Singapore but they allow 110km/h on the highway. what more the lighting condition is much more favourable for driving than Malaysia. you are quite right ---------- many of our roads are good for higher speed like 100, or 110kmh! in fact, most of us have taken some bends at say 90kmh safely where the signboard says 60kmh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 Distance to travel plays a part in the speed also... I mean - realistically, we are 40km from end to end- at 90 km its around 27 min at 120 km its 20 minutes - does the higher speed really matter? take MY on the other hand - at 500km JB to IPOH - the difference of 20km/h makes about 1 hour difference in time - which is rather more substanial Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 highway is different from expressway, their highway is between state to state measure by 100 of km. The expressway here is estate to estate within 10km I know about this difference. although I feel the speed limit should be based on the conditions of the road and not the distance on average drivers have to commute. Distance to travel plays a part in the speed also... I mean - realistically, we are 40km from end to end- at 90 km its around 27 min at 120 km its 20 minutes - does the higher speed really matter? take MY on the other hand - at 500km JB to IPOH - the difference of 20km/h makes about 1 hour difference in time - which is rather more substanial hee I agree with your reasoning. nonetheless I still feel 90km/h, 80km/h and 70km/h in parts of Singapore expressway too slow Distance to travel plays a part in the speed also... I mean - realistically, we are 40km from end to end- at 90 km its around 27 min at 120 km its 20 minutes - does the higher speed really matter? take MY on the other hand - at 500km JB to IPOH - the difference of 20km/h makes about 1 hour difference in time - which is rather more substanial hee I agree with your reasoning. nonetheless I still feel 90km/h, 80km/h and 70km/h in parts of Singapore expressway too slow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 I know about this difference. although I feel the speed limit should be based on the conditions of the road and not the distance on average drivers have to commute. hee I agree with your reasoning. nonetheless I still feel 90km/h, 80km/h and 70km/h in parts of Singapore expressway too slow hee I agree with your reasoning. nonetheless I still feel 90km/h, 80km/h and 70km/h in parts of Singapore expressway too slow I tink so too - I also happen to think that 50km/h is too slow for heavy vehicles and 70 too slow for LGV. But hey - I'm just an aging beng - what do I know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 Distance to travel plays a part in the speed also... I mean - realistically, we are 40km from end to end- at 90 km its around 27 min at 120 km its 20 minutes - does the higher speed really matter? take MY on the other hand - at 500km JB to IPOH - the difference of 20km/h makes about 1 hour difference in time - which is rather more substanial this brings us to another point ---------- sgp-KL about 300km distance, covering this at legal speed of 110-115kmh will take us about just below 3hrs, but at an average speed of say 140kmh it drops to just about 2hrs14mins +- the saving of 30mins or so can be easily used up by having kopi + pee if the guy is not rushing for a meeting but a 500km journey will be a different story back to sgp, our trips are usually not more than 40km, the time saved by going faster than 90kmh is really negligible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 I know about this difference. although I feel the speed limit should be based on the conditions of the road and not the distance on average drivers have to commute. hee I agree with your reasoning. nonetheless I still feel 90km/h, 80km/h and 70km/h in parts of Singapore expressway too slow hee I agree with your reasoning. nonetheless I still feel 90km/h, 80km/h and 70km/h in parts of Singapore expressway too slow put 110km/h also kena jam most of the time mah, and when no jam who actually stick to 90km/h...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 put 110km/h also kena jam most of the time mah, and when no jam who actually stick to 90km/h...... hehe my put 110kmh, people drive 130kmh. that's why Singapore you put 80kmh and 70kmh limit, forcing people to drive below 100kmh and 90kmh on expressway is sacrilegious! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 I was driving in usa and yes, if I drive 110km/h I would be overtaken by everyone else. their cars I see is mostly above 2000cc with 2500cc - 3000cc more common. that's why I think Singapore sets their speed limits too low. even Malaysia got 110kmh as maximum.....what is our 90kmh objective? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuY_VHzKdjc https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Z23CzSONiU Second video is interesting. Speed limit of 60km/hr in a single dual road, housing zone with no high kerb to divert the car away. It shows how slow our speed limits are. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 (edited) Ya, in the US, the cops pull you over too. They make sure you get close and personal with the road like prone star shape on the ground. Kbkb get popped, then drop spare unmarked gun to say you scare them. Diff strokes diff folks. Remember you Asian. The people there have kampung style also. Dun mean American are cosmopolitan....got ' my granpappy fought at bullrun, showed then Yank buzzards the whatnot.' if you understand that is. Or good cop think you running from some crime.... Speedsters also can get radio scanner from radioshack too...90 Acura integra remember....muahahahahaha. Got a dude I know got suspended sentence, coz he drive like Need for Speed. For those into Datsun. 120Y, you can get there, original restored or souped / modded up also can... Wah shiok. If I run there again, prefer Mustank vehicle, good for all weather, down there got cross winds, try flying through at 100mph with 35mph crosswind, you know vectors in physics, PA SA leng also dunnoe what happen. Optimus Prime style lorry also flip ah, saw it, could not believe it, but end up lying on it's side. This Toyota on Lexus incident maciam like husband and wife argument or in this case....brokeback.... 8-P Edited November 1, 2013 by Datsun366 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 this brings us to another point ---------- sgp-KL about 300km distance, covering this at legal speed of 110-115kmh will take us about just below 3hrs, but at an average speed of say 140kmh it drops to just about 2hrs14mins +- the saving of 30mins or so can be easily used up by having kopi + pee if the guy is not rushing for a meeting but a 500km journey will be a different story back to sgp, our trips are usually not more than 40km, the time saved by going faster than 90kmh is really negligible You are so accurate with your calculation in distance, speed and timing No wonder I was 15 minutes late to meet you at SGH B-5 I am so sorry to you and younger brother EG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 1, 2013 Share November 1, 2013 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuY_VHzKdjc https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Z23CzSONiU Second video is interesting. Speed limit of 60km/hr in a single dual road, housing zone with no high kerb to divert the car away. It shows how slow our speed limits are. I wouldn't disagree with the research findings but I say it has been too conveniently used to justify a stricter stance against higher speed. the first video is at a junction while the second is at a housing estate, both of which are quite different against an expressway's type of traffic flow and direction. while it is not wrong to say generally the higher the speed, the more seriously injured the casualty, such a way of attribution is no different to saying the more one eat, the more chances of one getting choke. end of the day, the important thing is find a balance between a need to fill up the stomach vs the risk of choking. likewise balance the need for commuting efficiently vs the risks of accidents and injury. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...