Othello Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 (edited) quickly sell.... when he is still 29... it is clear that that the Skrtel/Agger axis is gone liao. Agger hardly gets a look in nowadays, while Skrtel is increasingly making mistakes. I wonder if the referee association will discuss and "aim" at him next few games for continually HUGGING his opponent. How this has managed to go on for years amazes me (have a penalty been awarded against him before???) ..... so I agree, sell Skrtel & Agger while they still have value. Sakho + someone else will gonna be the CB pairing going forward. somehow i still hope Coates can come good. He clearly has the ability, dunno what happened.... *sigh* With Kelly and Flanagan looking good. It might be a good time to refresh the defender... After this season. Flanagan has hamstring strain, hence the sub. Kelly - better not depend on him. Dunno what gonna breakdown again. I fear for him, and doubt he'll ever reach his true potential (He's already 23). Flanagan - on the other hand is going from strength to strength and still under 20 Our LB has been a problem for so long, how about a cheeky bid for Ashley Cole ? Edited December 23, 2013 by Othello ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 it is clear that that the Skrtel/Agger axis is gone liao. Agger hardly gets a look in nowadays, while Skrtel is increasingly making mistakes. I wonder if the referee association will discuss and "aim" at him next few games for continually HUGGING his opponent. How this has managed to go on for years amazes me (have a penalty been awarded against him before???) ..... so I agree, sell Skrtel & Agger while they still have value. Sakho + someone else will gonna be the CB pairing going forward. somehow i still hope Coates can come good. He clearly has the ability, dunno what happened.... *sigh* Flanagan has hamstring strain, hence the sub. Kelly - better not depend on him. Dunno what gonna breakdown again. I fear for him, and doubt he'll ever reach his true potential (He's already 23). Flanagan - on the other hand is going from strength to strength and still under 20 Our LB has been a problem for so long, how about a cheeky bid for Ashley Cole ? What happen to jack Robinson? He look promising but hardly heard of him anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 Overall the Cardiff outcome was ok, but it would have been better if we had kept a clean sheet - it would have given more confidence to the defence. Was worried that this might be another trip after a series of fine results, and was quite worried in the opening 5-10 min, before Pool clicked into gear. Was still uncomfortable when they created good chances, but couldn't score (started to recall those dark days when they missed opportunities and were made to pay later...) Then when they strangely got 3-up just before half time, started to pity Cardiff and manager, thinking that more damage will be inflicted in 2nd half. I must say the team was quite good in that with Cardiff packing the defence in the first half (likely to first prevent any goals, then try counter attack), we still managed to create many openings. This was inconceivable a few years ago, when there was a lack of creative players in the team, so that's definitely a marked improvement. It's also good to see the midfield engine room being so engergetic. The only downside is how can Gerrard fit back in when he's available. Sentimental as we are, i'm afraid that the inevitable is going to be near. SG will unfortunately realise that the midfield is stronger without him. Once that happens, it will spill over to the England team... A great servant for Pool in the last ~15 yr, but for the better of the team, he might have to give way. Unless of course, he changes his game to central defender as BR suggested, or his set piece can confirm points one (remember McAllister in 2001?) and he can still run more instead of stopping and watching the opponents run at and past him... Hope we can get 4 points for next 2 matches - which will make it really incredible. I feared we would get none before the spurs match, but we're really hitting form at the right time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 What happen to jack Robinson? He look promising but hardly heard of him anymore. loan out to someone... then keep getting sent off ;p GJ is not doing his new contract any favors playing like crap last 2 games... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 Overall the Cardiff outcome was ok, but it would have been better if we had kept a clean sheet - it would have given more confidence to the defence. Was worried that this might be another trip after a series of fine results, and was quite worried in the opening 5-10 min, before Pool clicked into gear. Was still uncomfortable when they created good chances, but couldn't score (started to recall those dark days when they missed opportunities and were made to pay later...) Then when they strangely got 3-up just before half time, started to pity Cardiff and manager, thinking that more damage will be inflicted in 2nd half. I must say the team was quite good in that with Cardiff packing the defence in the first half (likely to first prevent any goals, then try counter attack), we still managed to create many openings. This was inconceivable a few years ago, when there was a lack of creative players in the team, so that's definitely a marked improvement. It's also good to see the midfield engine room being so engergetic. The only downside is how can Gerrard fit back in when he's available. Sentimental as we are, i'm afraid that the inevitable is going to be near. SG will unfortunately realise that the midfield is stronger without him. Once that happens, it will spill over to the England team... A great servant for Pool in the last ~15 yr, but for the better of the team, he might have to give way. Unless of course, he changes his game to central defender as BR suggested, or his set piece can confirm points one (remember McAllister in 2001?) and he can still run more instead of stopping and watching the opponents run at and past him... Hope we can get 4 points for next 2 matches - which will make it really incredible. I feared we would get none before the spurs match, but we're really hitting form at the right time. if the team is winning, no point to include SG when he recover from injury... kompany is back for shitty, but no aguero... their defence is like ours, leaking goals all over chelski and arse under hell lot of pressure for tonight's match... must win game as all around them won... its good for us 6 pts, 4 pts, 3 pts, 2 pta, 0 pts all possible for our next 2 games... this season is way too close, at least we are up there ;p 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 yup, Skrtel was the one that played Cardiff onside. i cant stand this kind of centre backs... when i play right or left back in my younger days... keep nagging about pushing the line.... then they themselves break the offside trap it is clear that that the Skrtel/Agger axis is gone liao. Agger hardly gets a look in nowadays, while Skrtel is increasingly making mistakes. I wonder if the referee association will discuss and "aim" at him next few games for continually HUGGING his opponent. How this has managed to go on for years amazes me (have a penalty been awarded against him before???) ..... so I agree, sell Skrtel & Agger while they still have value. Sakho + someone else will gonna be the CB pairing going forward. somehow i still hope Coates can come good. He clearly has the ability, dunno what happened.... *sigh* Flanagan has hamstring strain, hence the sub. Kelly - better not depend on him. Dunno what gonna breakdown again. I fear for him, and doubt he'll ever reach his true potential (He's already 23). Flanagan - on the other hand is going from strength to strength and still under 20 Our LB has been a problem for so long, how about a cheeky bid for Ashley Cole ? we have many young defenders... Ilori, Kelly, Wisdom and Coates. Coates is a bit slow when facing a fast break... but i think there is a chance that he might fit beside Sakho... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 What happen to jack Robinson? He look promising but hardly heard of him anymore. He is loaned to Blackpool in Championship league. Got some MOM performance and red cards there 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 i would like to see agger n sakho partnership. one classy n the other a bulldog. i think so far rodgers has not tried this yet. cos mayb both are left legged. if up to me, i will sell skrtel before agger. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 it is clear that that the Skrtel/Agger axis is gone liao. Agger hardly gets a look in nowadays, while Skrtel is increasingly making mistakes. I wonder if the referee association will discuss and "aim" at him next few games for continually HUGGING his opponent. How this has managed to go on for years amazes me (have a penalty been awarded against him before???) ..... so I agree, sell Skrtel & Agger while they still have value. Sakho + someone else will gonna be the CB pairing going forward. somehow i still hope Coates can come good. He clearly has the ability, dunno what happened.... *sigh* Flanagan has hamstring strain, hence the sub. Kelly - better not depend on him. Dunno what gonna breakdown again. I fear for him, and doubt he'll ever reach his true potential (He's already 23). Flanagan - on the other hand is going from strength to strength and still under 20 Our LB has been a problem for so long, how about a cheeky bid for Ashley Cole ? I liked Skrtel for his combative nature, but his drop in form can be sudden and long-lasting. It's good that for the last ~15 games he had played well overall. Still, i agree that it was remarkable that his antics had never conceded any penalties to date. Reminds me of the good fortune during the Hyppia/Henchoz days when Henchoz had a few handballs that went unpunished, including at wembley... But luck is not forever, so better either he stops or stop him... Really miss the Hyppia days when we were not so afraid of defending set pieces as he's around... Flanagan has been impressive. Let's hope he gets a good run and continues impressing. Kelly though, could see his rustiness, which is expected. But more worrying is he's (c.f. Flanagan) not showing the same wavelength as the rest of the team, in that he's not pressing. So he was a weak link when he came in. Johnson was also noticeably below the standard I thought he's deserving of... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 if the team is winning, no point to include SG when he recover from injury... kompany is back for shitty, but no aguero... their defence is like ours, leaking goals all over chelski and arse under hell lot of pressure for tonight's match... must win game as all around them won... its good for us 6 pts, 4 pts, 3 pts, 2 pta, 0 pts all possible for our next 2 games... this season is way too close, at least we are up there ;p Well... it is a good problem, perhaps a good problem... but quite unheard of leh: if both agger and SG are fit, and not in playing, then it's going to be both captain and vice captain of the team not good enough for the first 11. ha ha... either they are jialat already, or the rest of the team has improved so much... You left out 1 pt possibility. But given the recent performances, i'm hoping for either 4 or 6 (greedy....). if we actually incredibly get 6 pts, then they better go all the way and win the long-awaited title lor. ok ok, better dun give pressure. delete these last 2 paras... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 i would like to see agger n sakho partnership. one classy n the other a bulldog. i think so far rodgers has not tried this yet. cos mayb both are left legged. if up to me, i will sell skrtel before agger. if both same age, yes too bad agger is near expiry date Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 if both same age, yes too bad agger is near expiry date it's really quite a big pity for agger. If his fitness was as good as skytel, he could have fulfilled his potential much earlier, and could now be a world class defender. He's tall, so if he had been fit and not so injury-prone, he could have been more daring in his challenges and tackles. His ball control and passing are better than sakho and carragher definitely, and probably better than skytel too. And of course his left shot was almost similar to riise's - i remember the 2 long shots (1 was against spurs) he scored. They were thunderous... but he missed his best years lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 it's really quite a big pity for agger. If his fitness was as good as skytel, he could have fulfilled his potential much earlier, and could now be a world class defender. He's tall, so if he had been fit and not so injury-prone, he could have been more daring in his challenges and tackles. His ball control and passing are better than sakho and carragher definitely, and probably better than skytel too. And of course his left shot was almost similar to riise's - i remember the 2 long shots (1 was against spurs) he scored. They were thunderous... but he missed his best years lor... Riise shoot more powerful. His free kick break Alan smith legs Leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 it's really quite a big pity for agger. If his fitness was as good as skytel, he could have fulfilled his potential much earlier, and could now be a world class defender. He's tall, so if he had been fit and not so injury-prone, he could have been more daring in his challenges and tackles. His ball control and passing are better than sakho and carragher definitely, and probably better than skytel too. And of course his left shot was almost similar to riise's - i remember the 2 long shots (1 was against spurs) he scored. They were thunderous... but he missed his best years lor... on the contrary, his injury record has improved tremendously past few years. BUT it seems his skills have regressed slightly. The main problem with our CBs is they kenna bullied by almost everyone ..... apart from Toure & the greek, they seldom attack the high balls ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear December 23, 2013 Author Share December 23, 2013 Tongue-in-cheek interview to our el pistolero... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 24, 2013 Share December 24, 2013 Liverpool now top of table after Chelsea and asernal drew. Question is. Can we win the next 2 match??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged December 24, 2013 Share December 24, 2013 good result this morning. pool must capitalise in every single slip up the rivals make. but next 2 games....hmmm.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 24, 2013 Share December 24, 2013 Riise shoot more powerful. His free kick break Alan smith legs Leh. i have to agree... i think the one whose free kick can beat riise would be Eder's in the 1982 world cup. i remember clearly at that time the reports said the speed was the fastest on record, but not sure if the subsequent ones by roberto carlos and others would have surpassed it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...