Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 2 - Great Start to New Season

Berncsp76

haha JH gave the ball away once in the 2nd half after he miscue. almost led to them scoring on a counter attack. lucky lukaku screwed up the pass.

the only good thing this week was last night, or early this morning, saw cardiff snatched a last-grasp draw against ManU, and also heng heng prevented what was almost a sure-goal chance a minute by ManU from going in...

The last-grasp draw also seems to give Man U a taste of their own medicine, whom had the tendency to get last minute injury time winners or draws previously..... [sly]

haha JH gave the ball away once in the 2nd half after he miscue. almost led to them scoring on a counter attack. lucky lukaku screwed up the pass.

don't know this match got kelong or not. Lol

You got the link for this? Cos I read elsewhere that he had to take a late fitness test so his place on the bench was due to him being less-than-ready.

Some of us had been discussing that with LS playing so well after his return DS actually seem "less important" now so thought he will try even harder so to hear that he had bad attitude thinking that he has arrived is alarming indeed.

Update: read on my Liverpool android app that BR was not happy that DS went to play at England friendly. I thought this kind of thing got no choice?

the link is

http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1627244/liverpool-boss-brendan-rodgers-criticises-daniel-sturridge-fitness?cc=4716

i actually thought DS played well as there was no one to steal the limelight from him (and noone to compare him with) during the first few matches. Couple with him single-goal winners, he was elevated to superhero status.

but when LS came back, his standing straightaway dropped... and having seen stardom evaded him for so long, he prob didn't want to lose it again, so tried very hard to impress -- and the frustration and rivalry showed...

I think DS is having some thigh injury right. so BR probably wanted DS to pull out of the squad voluntarily. These injuries are due to overuse. So any rest would be good i guess...

To me, Agger has never been good at handling very strong & physical players. He used to have lots of problems against drogba also.

Then DS is a bit fragile leh... LS also played full match for country and had to fly much further, and still he's in better shape and could continue despite being kicked real bad...

DS must catch up then can enhance his worth...

With big strikers, think need defenders like Sol Campbell to be able to fend them off... and we do not have one in that mould...

The last-grasp draw also seems to give Man U a taste of their own medicine, whom had the tendency to get last minute injury time winners or draws previously..... [sly]

Yes... precisely. looks like the only thing that is keeping ManU going is their pedigree. They played average last season and still won the league.

They are playing even worse this season, and they could still string a few results together... just hope they let opponents equalise a lot in the last few minutes this season [thumbsup]

don't know this match got kelong or not. Lol

many suspects then... allen? only maybe mignolet didn't look like it...

if you had seen soton, then their goalie Boruc confirmed prime suspect. last night the hapless (ok, maybe luckless) Lloris also jialat... must be record, less than 10 sec lousy clearance, saved once, but follow up went in, all within 16 sec of kick-off...

then for i think 3rd or 4th goal also came from one of his clearance kicks. This time better, but suay cos no teammates there, and within a few more touches, city scored again... they were really clinical...

if you had seen soton, then their goalie Boruc confirmed prime suspect. last night the hapless (ok, maybe luckless) Lloris also jialat... must be record, less than 10 sec lousy clearance, saved once, but follow up went in, all within 16 sec of kick-off...

then for i think 3rd or 4th goal also came from one of his clearance kicks. This time better, but suay cos no teammates there, and within a few more touches, city scored again... they were really clinical...

haha no lah, u see boruc's face after it happens. It's genuine. or he's a world class actor [grin] dulan + wtf did i do that for expression ...

I think DS is having some thigh injury right. so BR probably wanted DS to pull out of the squad voluntarily. These injuries are due to overuse. So any rest would be good i guess...

To me, Agger has never been good at handling very strong & physical players. He used to have lots of problems against drogba also.

Carra had prob with Drogba too... the chest, spin and volley goal...

lua kuku is almost unplayable when he decides to turn it on, it was what we bought AC for!

Carra had prob with Drogba too... the chest, spin and volley goal...

lua kuku is almost unplayable when he decides to turn it on, it was what we bought AC for!

Yup. Either to do better against these physical types, u need to be either the smart type of defender with excellent positioning skills, carvalho or hyppia, or the tough strong man mountain type like terry.

It was rumoured that the pair had a weekly secret meeting with Benitez. They were brought in by Benitez btw.

really... tats exciting!!!

but if they really have weekly meeting with Benitez then they probably ought to go

Spurs is very chui this season. Only score 9 goal so far and three of them are from penalty (which they won the match by 1-0).

Absolutely right. Spurs goal difference is - 3.

[grin]

Another one for the future ?? <_< What happened to that German kid ah ? We need immediate reinforcement in Jan..... So far our stop gap loan signings have not really impressed.

samed yesil? Injured I think. He's supposed to be v v gd

Next 3 games in 7 days

Hull (A)

Norwich (H)

Wet Ham (H)

While some might see 9 points as "highly possible", I'll be happy with 6.

Bad news - Sturridge suffered injury in training and could be out for potentially 6 weeks [sweatdrop] He left training in crutches [bigcry]

Edited by Othello

really ? We got SO MANY CBs and he wants SG to cluster-fark there.

Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers can see Steven Gerrard playing as a centre-back in the future.

The 33-year-old made his debut for the club as a 90th-minute substitute in a 2-0 victory over Blackburn Rovers on November 29, 1998.

Gerrard has gone on to win several honours with Liverpool, including the Champions League and FA Cup, but Rodgers believes the midfielder can prolong his career by moving into a deeper role.

"I think he can play as a No.2 centre-half late in his career," Rodgers told reporters. "You're playing against certain teams where they've got one up [in attack], I think he can play as a centre-half - as a right-sided centre-half, and build the game from behind.

"How he passes the ball is as god as anyone in the world, short and long, so it's a possibility that he could go on."

Liverpool face Hull on Sunday, with Rodgers confident of picking up a win at the KC Stadium, despite being impressed with Steve Bruce's Tigers.

He added: "The teams promoted, they've done really well, so they look to be heading on course to be a team in the middle of the table, so that will tell you it's going to be a very difficult game for us.

"But our confidence is high and our spirit is very strong at the moment, so even though it'll be tough we hope we can go and get the points."