Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 We used to have the best left backs in Bpl... huh, who leh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 huh, who leh? In rb time, left side was never an issue. We were having problem with right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 huh, who leh? JAR? Hmmm....has anyone though/analysed how come man u can beat arse? And even keep a clean sheet? I think most of us are honest enough to admit they (arse) are a good team and we were deservedly beaten by them the week before. Was this arse a different arse that played us or was man u good enough to control the game and not allow them to play their game? Our tactics were wrong. Especially after half time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 yap jar, For asernal, I cannot help but feel asernal played too much high ball, we know how high ball and asernal don't match JAR? Our tactics were wrong. Especially after half time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 like i say the points will even out before christmas period... In the past, the top 4 teams will be quite close on points now maybe top 7 instead of top 4.. Christmas - New year fixtures will be very important... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 JAR? Err... sorry, i definitely do not agree with that -- at all... JAR was good for his shots, only. Let me see, you must have remembered his free kick blasting past barthez, and his break from the corner we conceded, running up himself, and then scoring against gunners... those were definitely 9-point performances. however, his overall performance i would say deserves no more than 6.5 point during his Reds days. I daresay after Anfield, his performance must be only around 5-5.5 max. He's not comfortable with the ball, so often losing it when pressured. He can't dribble past opponents (Enrique and Johnson can, sometimes), he's not v fast, can't head well, and often put his own teammates under pressure by passing them the ball as opponents lurk... And as defender, he can only clear or kick ball out, forget about winning the ball and winning possession (cos of my first comment in this para)... Even Carragher when playing LB, did a better job than JAR, in my opinion. Read this too: http://espnfc.com/blog/_/name/liverpool/id/1906?cc=4716 I quite agree with it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 watched the 1st 30mins. Man U were hungrier. Arsenal tried to play controlled football but were outdone by man U's aggressiveness. They played ramsey, arteta, ozil, cazorla, flamini in a midfield 5. But they shifted out ozil out to Rt side usually while cazorla was on the left. An aggressive rooney and evra down this flank vs sagna and a ozil who does token defending in his own half. So once u run past ozil, its essentially a 1 on 1 situation. They exploited this weakness for the 1st goal (though not direct result). Arsenal defended the corner with zonal marking ... aiyah its typical how u score against zonal marking corners. Just start your run outside the 6 yard box. We seen this done to us how many times in the past ... Jones in midfield provided the energy we lack. He's like JH energy level but a faster runner. Reinforces my non belief in relatively slow defensive center mids in BPL. I watched the whole match... This pretty much summed it up. The pressure that Jones put on the gunners midfield was missing when Lucas, Gerrard, Henderson faced them. And it is obvious if you compare Cissoko to Evra (much as I do not like him...), obvious for both attack and defend. I would say they are at least 2 leagues apart (sigh...). The first goal that Arsenal scored against us was started down the right flank (LB side). This was minimised with Evra guarding the route. And Arsenal didn't play well at all in the first half, actually neither did ManU. Both sides did not marshall good build-up to attacks, with only sporadic actions in the Gunners goalmouth. Their midfield did not impose themselves as aginst Pool. Of course, Jones was able to shine under such circumstances. When he was moved to replace the injured Vidic, ManU resorted to defending for almost the entire 2nd half. But they were able to absorb everything thrown at them by the sub-par Arsenal midfield/attacks. It wasn't a very exciting match overall. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 It wasn't a very exciting match overall. hah had to sleep after 30+mins cos need to work. Good decision lol. The game was just going to be a scrappy tight affair. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 Err... sorry, i definitely do not agree with that -- at all... JAR was good for his shots, only. Let me see, you must have remembered his free kick blasting past barthez, and his break from the corner we conceded, running up himself, and then scoring against gunners... those were definitely 9-point performances. however, his overall performance i would say deserves no more than 6.5 point during his Reds days. I daresay after Anfield, his performance must be only around 5-5.5 max. He's not comfortable with the ball, so often losing it when pressured. He can't dribble past opponents (Enrique and Johnson can, sometimes), he's not v fast, can't head well, and often put his own teammates under pressure by passing them the ball as opponents lurk... And as defender, he can only clear or kick ball out, forget about winning the ball and winning possession (cos of my first comment in this para)... Even Carragher when playing LB, did a better job than JAR, in my opinion. Read this too: http://espnfc.com/blog/_/name/liverpool/id/1906?cc=4716 That time we also have many other left side player if u remember. At his peak which happen to be when he was in Liverpool not many is better than him them. I quite agree with it... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 hah had to sleep after 30+mins cos need to work. Good decision lol. The game was just going to be a scrappy tight affair. i had to continue watching cos wife promised P2 son to allow him to watch since exams over... and he refused to go to bed during half time when i told him (and i myself wanted) to... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 That time we also have many other left side player if u remember. At his peak which happen to be when he was in Liverpool not many is better than him them. Err... sorry, i definitely do not agree with that -- at all... JAR was good for his shots, only. Let me see, you must have remembered his free kick blasting past barthez, and his break from the corner we conceded, running up himself, and then scoring against gunners... those were definitely 9-point performances. however, his overall performance i would say deserves no more than 6.5 point during his Reds days. I daresay after Anfield, his performance must be only around 5-5.5 max. He's not comfortable with the ball, so often losing it when pressured. He can't dribble past opponents (Enrique and Johnson can, sometimes), he's not v fast, can't head well, and often put his own teammates under pressure by passing them the ball as opponents lurk... And as defender, he can only clear or kick ball out, forget about winning the ball and winning possession (cos of my first comment in this para)... Even Carragher when playing LB, did a better job than JAR, in my opinion. Read this too: http://espnfc.com/blog/_/name/liverpool/id/1906?cc=4716 I quite agree with it... actually hor, i don't remember too many LBs for liverpool. Only remember them mostly for wrong reasons. That Byonerbe guy was almost a joke, quite similar to JAR, but deserves maybe only 70% point of what is already a less-than-satisfactory player. The others mostly short-term solutions so i strangely don't remember them much. But I do agree with you that at his peak, no one else in Liverpool was better than him as a LB -- but doesn't that just show exactly how poor the standard of LB is in the team at that time, or for that matter, in prob 80% of the last 15 yr lor... Just picture Konchesky playing there and this gives some perspective already... [bigcry] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 sorry I was referring to bpl. No one was better than him during those time. actually hor, i don't remember too many LBs for liverpool. Only remember them mostly for wrong reasons. That Byonerbe guy was almost a joke, quite similar to JAR, but deserves maybe only 70% point of what is already a less-than-satisfactory player. The others mostly short-term solutions so i strangely don't remember them much. But I do agree with you that at his peak, no one else in Liverpool was better than him as a LB -- but doesn't that just show exactly how poor the standard of LB is in the team at that time, or for that matter, in prob 80% of the last 15 yr lor... Just picture Konchesky playing there and this gives some perspective already... [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 sorry I was referring to bpl. No one was better than him during those time. huh... ok, then we have quite different opinion of JAR... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 huh... ok, then we have quite different opinion of JAR... Relative to LB in Bpl during than. Not many are better. Individual player across whole Liverpool history a different thing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 Relative to LB in Bpl during than. Not many are better. Individual player across whole Liverpool history a different thing. of course of course... Alan Kennedy was a LB and he was definitely better. Enrique i think is better once we disregard scoring ability for LB, and Aurelio if wasn't so injury prone, would have been better too. of BPL during that time, honestly i think there were better LBs, but i didn't take much note of it. But Irwin, Cole, Heinze (whom pool tried to sign after he left ManU), wayne bridge, etc. are all that i would admit were better than JAR leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 of course of course... Alan Kennedy was a LB and he was definitely better. Enrique i think is better once we disregard scoring ability for LB, and Aurelio if wasn't so injury prone, would have been better too. of BPL during that time, honestly i think there were better LBs, but i didn't take much note of it. But Irwin, Cole, Heinze (whom pool tried to sign after he left ManU), wayne bridge, etc. are all that i would admit were better than JAR leh... Let's agree to disagree. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 Let's agree to disagree. Yes, cheers... Let's agree to disagree. Yes, cheers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged November 12, 2013 Share November 12, 2013 Glen johnson is a better left back then all the left backs in the past 20 yrs except for an injury free Aurelio Risse was brought in to play left mid... end up left back ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...