Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 2 - Great Start to New Season

Berncsp76

Yes this is troubling indeed. It's beginning to look like the saying of 'one mountain cannot hide 2 tigers' is beginning to show. When Sturridge was lone striker, he was the focal of attention, and he didn't feel so much pressure to impress. Couple this with the fact that he was playing well and get into good positions and could shoot, his lone strikes got the points and helped liverpool to the top, so the hungry media hyped it up so much. From a fringe first-team player a season ago suddenly now become the hope of liverpool and england, he was basking in limelight, and he knew he must sieze the chance that eluded him so far.

And when Suarez started scoring more goals every match than him when playing together, he obviously feels the heat. Continue to score (and quality counts if quantity doesn't match up - like against WBA), and he can continue to show his worth; any (prolonged) length of goal drought and he's vulnerable to going back to those dark days when he was either on the bench, or not even in the squad... The pressure is mounting, and he showed it very clearly.

Suarez is i'm sure not a simplistic person too. He wants success for the club, and he wants glory for himself. If he manages both, he knows his value will skyrocket. If Liverpool wins the league, with him being the most valuable player (better still, if it's by a mile), then he knows he will get what he wants in the team. If Liverpool doesn't win it or make CL, he would at least want to build up his value so high that other top teams will come after him, and he could then take a step up. Either way, it is important that he plays well, and better than the rest, esp. Sturridge. If Sturridge scores more goals than him, and if some top teams come knocking, they might choose Sturridge over him - something that he will not want to see happen.

So what can the team or manager do? Tough call, really. If the two can do significant damage, all the cracks can be ignored and overlooked. And I'm sure that's the first choice. If the two really start becoming more cautious of each other and it affects the team, then the manager will have to do something...

This is normal situation in other clubs - RVP > WR, CR7 > whole RM, LM > whole Barca, etc. Half joke. And also in the past when MO, FT were the main strikers and the rest like Heskey were the #2 striker.

Anyway, DS should be smart enough to realise that he is doing better here than in any of his previous clubs. He should focus on improving himself (still lots to improve) and the club is giving him plenty of opportunities to shine, develop and grow. If he ruins it for himself then well, too bad I guess. I don't think his is under threat by LS in any way (I think BR will continue to play 2 upfront so as long as he maintains his form he should keep his place) so he shouldn't be feeling too much heat (being #2 striker is not too bad a thing) - nobody expecting him to be better than LS. If it was the other way around (i.e. DS outperforming LS) then LS will be feeling a lot of heat indeed.

I don't think it will sink to the extent that the 2 of them will "sabo" the team by depriving the other from scoring opportunities. And I also don't think there is any action required from the manager at this point. Just some preventive measures like so far BR and FSG are frequently praising them as a duo (and not singling out LS for praise). I feel that is important to keep some balance and make DS still feel appreciated and important. Anyway even LS couldn't save us against Arsenal.

This is normal situation in other clubs - RVP > WR, CR7 > whole RM, LM > whole Barca, etc. Half joke. And also in the past when MO, FT were the main strikers and the rest like Heskey were the #2 striker.

Anyway, DS should be smart enough to realise that he is doing better here than in any of his previous clubs. He should focus on improving himself (still lots to improve) and the club is giving him plenty of opportunities to shine, develop and grow. If he ruins it for himself then well, too bad I guess. I don't think his is under threat by LS in any way (I think BR will continue to play 2 upfront so as long as he maintains his form he should keep his place) so he shouldn't be feeling too much heat (being #2 striker is not too bad a thing) - nobody expecting him to be better than LS. If it was the other way around (i.e. DS outperforming LS) then LS will be feeling a lot of heat indeed.

I don't think it will sink to the extent that the 2 of them will "sabo" the team by depriving the other from scoring opportunities. And I also don't think there is any action required from the manager at this point. Just some preventive measures like so far BR and FSG are frequently praising them as a duo (and not singling out LS for praise). I feel that is important to keep some balance and make DS still feel appreciated and important. Anyway even LS couldn't save us against Arsenal.

You are right in that there is a undisputed star in every team, but the issue of balance and acceptance is very important, and can make or break a partnership.

CR7 and LM are the undisputed stars and focal point of their resp. teams, and ALL the other teammates accept that, so they work well. RVP and WR, maybe got a bit of 'conflict', and that was why WR was trying to force an exit when he realised he wasn't the focal point anymore.

For LS and DS, a bit tricky actually cos LS, while being undisputedly talented, had tried to force his way out too, and honestly how many can confidently say that we're 100% sure of keeping him beyond Jan or summer? At least as it is, he's scoring and working hard, and the manager is singing his praises so that perhaps he will love the club more and abandon his plans to go to a bigger club. But i'm sure BR will buy some insurance, and try to groom DS as an able successor should LS leaves. With other big names not wanting to come on board, BR's best bet is to hope that those we currently have, can raise their standard and be a game changer like LS can -- and DS is definitely the chosen one. And like I said before, DS' situation is like a poor guy despite being gifted, had never made it good all his life, and suddenly he's given a lifeline and is now rich. He will definitely work hard to avoid going back to the dark old days of being poor... With this in mind, tempers could fray lor...

For now, will need them to realise that they have to help and not 'sabo' each other for the common good. You can see every time LS tries to shoot and not score, and with DS in decent space, he will raise both hands and starts (worse, lasts a while before he stops) gesticulating. While this is happening to everyone all the time, it will just widen any crack that could develop once the tension builds up.

The only antidote to this is for the team to continue winning, and them both continue scoring...

The only bright side is, currently the destiny is still in our own hand.

This is true...

We're honestly not there yet, if you were being objective. With LB weak when Enrique is not playing, with left wing not effective, and the midfield trio of SG, LL, JH able to dictate play only against the weaker teams, and with seemingly less energy and stamina than most opponents (ok, i'm quite pleased that against Fulham we at least showed more energy), I don't think we can match up to the likes of Arsenal, Man City, Chelsea, etc. when everyone in their teams is playing well.

But hey, this season the big teams are dropping unexpected points: WBA taking points off ManU, Chelsea, Arsenal; Man C losing points to so many non-pedigree teams, Chelsea ceding points to Newcastle, WBA, etc. etc.

So if we can bully the lesser teams completely, and snatch a result or two against the stronger sides, we just might have a chance to to UCL, or if things really go our way, may have a sniff of the title after... gosh, so many years...

This is true...

We're honestly not there yet, if you were being objective. With LB weak when Enrique is not playing, with left wing not effective, and the midfield trio of SG, LL, JH able to dictate play only against the weaker teams, and with seemingly less energy and stamina than most opponents (ok, i'm quite pleased that against Fulham we at least showed more energy), I don't think we can match up to the likes of Arsenal, Man City, Chelsea, etc. when everyone in their teams is playing well.

But hey, this season the big teams are dropping unexpected points: WBA taking points off ManU, Chelsea, Arsenal; Man C losing points to so many non-pedigree teams, Chelsea ceding points to Newcastle, WBA, etc. etc.

So if we can bully the lesser teams completely, and snatch a result or two against the stronger sides, we just might have a chance to to UCL, or if things really go our way, may have a sniff of the title after... gosh, so many years...

Yap. UCL remain our primary target wit winning the league remaining a dream althought if we put in a fantasy performance, we do have a chance of winning it.

With this in mind, if we can bully all the small teams.. Then we should be there come may next year.

who do u guys prefer? suarez vs aguero.

Both.

On footballing grounds alone, Suarez. In fact in BPL right now I think Suarez is the top top striker (of course followed closely by SA & RVP)....

Another takeaway from the last home game is an overdue clean sheet with the rear formation switching to a back-four instead of three. I believe it helps to push the midfield players into forward pressing roles, thereupon [1] stifling opposition passes and [2] giving SG freedom to venture forward and provide assists to well-deserved goals.

soccer is strange. RVP has the height so actually he's more attributes to be the top striker (can head mah...), but even suarez has managed a few headed goals (and almost one more against Fulham) so maybe height not that impt...

aguero can shoot from further in open play, but i guess on the whole, there's no denying that despite all his problems, suarez has been the standout striker so far this season. His score rate so far is also unsustainably high, almost can rival LM and CR7?

Another takeaway from the last home game is an overdue clean sheet with the rear formation switching to a back-four instead of three. I believe it helps to push the midfield players into forward pressing roles, thereupon [1] stifling opposition passes and [2] giving SG freedom to venture forward and provide assists to well-deserved goals.

Actually a large part is prob due to fact that Fulham was poor lah... so it helped to make the defence looks good. Berbatov is skillful but so lazy that i think even if i played full back maybe won't look too bad.

Cissoko i think is jialat jialat... looks like left back is one position that liverpool must really give it to arsenal... from cole to clichy to now gibbs. if pool gets even one of such calibre, should be quite steady.

But at least they started to harass opponents and don't give them time, something that they didn't do at all so far. It would be interesting to see whether we can get a win at goodison in 2 wks. If can, then it will strengthen belief.

wat kinda rubbish answer is that. hahaha damade i also want both.

Both are equally good. How to decide. Lol.

Actually a large part is prob due to fact that Fulham was poor lah... so it helped to make the defence looks good. Berbatov is skillful but so lazy that i think even if i played full back maybe won't look too bad.

Cissoko i think is jialat jialat... looks like left back is one position that liverpool must really give it to arsenal... from cole to clichy to now gibbs. if pool gets even one of such calibre, should be quite steady.

But at least they started to harass opponents and don't give them time, something that they didn't do at all so far. It would be interesting to see whether we can get a win at goodison in 2 wks. If can, then it will strengthen belief.

We used to have the best left backs in Bpl...

yup

good observation though maybe just a coincidence

playing 3 CBs is not easy as you need CBs who can play wide as well...

Hmmm....has anyone though/analysed how come man u can beat arse? And even keep a clean sheet? I think most of us are honest enough to admit they (arse) are a good team and we were deservedly beaten by them the week before. Was this arse a different arse that played us or was man u good enough to control the game and not allow them to play their game?

watched the 1st 30mins. Man U were hungrier. Arsenal tried to play controlled football but were outdone by man U's aggressiveness. They played ramsey, arteta, ozil, cazorla, flamini in a midfield 5. But they shifted out ozil out to Rt side usually while cazorla was on the left.

An aggressive rooney and evra down this flank vs sagna and a ozil who does token defending in his own half. So once u run past ozil, its essentially a 1 on 1 situation.

They exploited this weakness for the 1st goal (though not direct result).

Arsenal defended the corner with zonal marking ... aiyah its typical how u score against zonal marking corners. Just start your run outside the 6 yard box. We seen this done to us how many times in the past ...

Jones in midfield provided the energy we lack. He's like JH energy level but a faster runner. Reinforces my non belief in relatively slow defensive center mids in BPL.