Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 25, 2013 Share October 25, 2013 (edited) I was driving and saw a guy driving a sedan with a female passenger beside and a little girl about 5-6 years old sitting behind(middle seat) without childseat nor buckle up. Both the front window was wind down and the girl was leaning forward the front seats. Both the driver and the female passenger were smoking inside the car. Iam not sure if the little girl was their child or not but... How would u feel or what is your thought on this? Personally i feel that the adults are very irresponsible and doesn't seem to spare some thoughts for the little girl and i felt pity for the girl who doesn't seem to understand how harmful second hand smoke are and still lean forward. Edited October 25, 2013 by Turbonetics ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 25, 2013 Share October 25, 2013 (edited) I was driving and saw a guy driving a sedan with a female passenger beside and a little girl about 5-6 years old sitting behind(middle seat) without childseat nor buckle up. Both the front window was wind down and the girl was leaning forward the front seats. Both the driver and the female passenger were smoking inside the car. Iam not sure if the little girl was their child or not but... How would u feel or what is your thought on this? Personally i feel that the adults are very irresponsible and doesn't seem to spare some thoughts for the little girl and i felt pity for the girl who doesn't seem to understand how harmful second hand smoke are and still lean forward. Not as emotional as you. When I see such things, I feel numb. Too many of such pple in the world where due to poor education and family upbringing, they just pass on poor values to their next generation who will just make it worse from there. In short, I will just heck care and move on. Edited October 25, 2013 by Icedbs 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 25, 2013 Author Share October 25, 2013 (edited) Not as emotional as you. When I see such things, I feel numb. Too many of such pple in the world where due to poor education and family upbringing, they just pass on poor values to their next generation who will just make it worse from there. In short, I will just heck care and move on. These are common sense which has nothing to do with education,i believe. I feel that it shows how much they "care" for the little girl probably not their kid. Unbuckle or without child seat is pretty common though it is always good to practise that,but this is really my first time seeing smokers with a small kid inside a car.It makes not big difference as blowing the second hand smoke directly at their face. Edited October 25, 2013 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 25, 2013 Share October 25, 2013 These are common sense which has nothing to do with education,i believe. I feel that it shows how much they "care" for the little girl probably not their kid. Unbuckle or without child seat is pretty common though it is always good to practise that,but this is really my first time seeing smokers with a small kid inside the car.It makes not big difference as blowing the second hand smoke directly at their face. The poor education part is refering to the lack of safety awareness of not putting the child on a childseat nor buckle up. A front accident impact will have that kid flying through the front windscreen. For the smoke part, come on, which smokers really care about others taking in 2nd hand smoke?? I have not seen one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 25, 2013 Share October 25, 2013 every family have their own issues, be a volunteer if you want to help one at a time, provided if they do seek help, you can't force them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 There should be a law against adults smoking in the presence of a child. Children do not have a choice when their parents smoke. It has been proven time and time again the harmful effects of 2nd hand smoke is to people and children are even more affected. Too bad we do not have such a legislation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaf78 1st Gear October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 I was driving and saw a guy driving a sedan with a female passenger beside and a little girl about 5-6 years old sitting behind(middle seat) without childseat nor buckle up. Both the front window was wind down and the girl was leaning forward the front seats. Both the driver and the female passenger were smoking inside the car. Iam not sure if the little girl was their child or not but... How would u feel or what is your thought on this? Personally i feel that the adults are very irresponsible and doesn't seem to spare some thoughts for the little girl and i felt pity for the girl who doesn't seem to understand how harmful second hand smoke are and still lean forward. i feel very sick of these types of adult. the child should be restrain with seat belt/car seat. if you drive from changi to jurong say 40mins without jam, cannot tahan w/o smoking meh? last time when i smoke at home, i did it at the balcony and close door too. after that came in, my daughter complained smelly. in the end, i quit smoking. thanks to her. my son now is 8 yrs old and still in car seat. i think it is us the adult that should be responsible and respect others even though he/she is not our children. after all this is the life you show them, more or less will influence them later, i guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 Why people with no common sense would want to have kids in the 1st place. Makes no sense....should teach them them about birth control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 dumb people everywhere, but that said it could simply be cultural difference. parents smoking in front of children very common overseas. As a parent and smoker myself, I never smoke in front of my boys but hey, we talking about other parents. Put it nicely, I better mind my own biz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 (edited) There should be a law against adults smoking in the presence of a child. Children do not have a choice when their parents smoke. It has been proven time and time again the harmful effects of 2nd hand smoke is to people and children are even more affected. Too bad we do not have such a legislation When confronted they will be saying, the kid is mine, this is my family business, I smoke is my own biz.... Then the kid will grow up and one day realised she or he had been taught the wrong value. The worse is the kids will follow suit. Imagine if this is what they would in in front of their so called love ones. What would they do in front of strangers? With such selfish mentality Would they be even be bothered to contribute to the place they live in? I agree on laws to protect kids. Edited October 26, 2013 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 Last time when the police wore shorts and my balls were hairless EVERYBODY smoked in the car, kids around or not, and windows were normally only opened an inch or to. For me - my reaction would be "what the fark are you thinking?" and a huge roll eyes, but in this day and age the smokers are very well aware of the dangers and just don't care - so what is there to be said of this type of person? My FIL likes to tell story of when he saw a small boy, not belted in, managed to get a handbrake through his forehead - remember last time when handbrakes were metal? ....car jam brake, he tip over and got brain impaled on handbrake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 I was driving and saw a guy driving a sedan with a female passenger beside and a little girl about 5-6 years old sitting behind(middle seat) without childseat nor buckle up. Both the front window was wind down and the girl was leaning forward the front seats. Both the driver and the female passenger were smoking inside the car. Iam not sure if the little girl was their child or not but... How would u feel or what is your thought on this? Personally i feel that the adults are very irresponsible and doesn't seem to spare some thoughts for the little girl and i felt pity for the girl who doesn't seem to understand how harmful second hand smoke are and still lean forward. To be honest I dun spend time looking at other cars or whats happening inside... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roverboy 1st Gear October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 I even saw a pregnant mum smoking.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 26, 2013 Author Share October 26, 2013 dumb people everywhere, but that said it could simply be cultural difference. parents smoking in front of children very common overseas. As a parent and smoker myself, I never smoke in front of my boys but hey, we talking about other parents. Put it nicely, I better mind my own biz Actually i don't really mind or put in heart if the parents smoke infront of their kid in an open area. but smoking in an enclosed area like the car and especially when the car moves forward,the smoke actully gets to the back of the seats. its just like irresponsible smokers smoking inside the lift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 26, 2013 Author Share October 26, 2013 (edited) I even saw a pregnant mum smoking.. i saw that too. the feeling was similar. probably the difference is that,one u can see the face of the poor kid and the other u can't. Edited October 26, 2013 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 I was driving and saw a guy driving a sedan with a female passenger beside and a little girl about 5-6 years old sitting behind(middle seat) without childseat nor buckle up. Both the front window was wind down and the girl was leaning forward the front seats. Both the driver and the female passenger were smoking inside the car. Iam not sure if the little girl was their child or not but... How would u feel or what is your thought on this? Personally i feel that the adults are very irresponsible and doesn't seem to spare some thoughts for the little girl and i felt pity for the girl who doesn't seem to understand how harmful second hand smoke are and still lean forward. Feel the same way...actually, no, I get quite upset if I see this - smoking in the presence of kids(worse, babies) and children not buckled up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linlaopei October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 wait to see "show" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 26, 2013 Share October 26, 2013 i feel that natural selection is currently in progress ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...