Free Choice for NS Vocation?

StefanK

Wrong.

The most fearful words would be : "CCB, see the farking tree over there? All you CCBs run/leopard crawl there and come back. GO!!!" & "Nevermind take your time some more, ONE MORE TIME!!!"

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Understand quite a number were ex-PTIs who joined them and now enter camps as civilians.

Our pti like to shout...u all father mother son......got hand for legs and legs for hand is it!

Got 1 time during rappeling in 2SIR....he was shouting and his saliva was pactically raining on the poor guy who was scared to rappel down. He even told the line man to pull and run making the line at a 45 degree angle. Poor fella peed in his pants and was shivering when he made it to the bottom.

yes....my twin was a combat medic...and during my ns and reservist this medics have to bear the most amount of equipments....stretcher, medical pouch,saline and others. During my nsf we always helped the medic out especially during the long route marches. There was once we helped him carry his M16...he just had to carry himself for the rest of the exercise.....he was even allowed to take out his no. 4. He repaid us during brunei reservist when we ran out of water and he gave us his saline for our consumption.....saying it was a kind of payback for our help during nsf. Maybe he wanted to get rid of the saline bag....hahaha.

Fully emphatise with these guys' plight. The riflemen and commanders can leave their fullpacks at the form-up area before the assault but not the medics. After mission completed, the rifleman can relac abit but the medics' work only just began, with "casualties" streaming in.

Most of these medics not exactly the fit type, they definitely welcome any help. Saw my MO sometimes carried some of these loads when he sees one of his medics about to pengsan.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

Fully emphatise with these guys' plight. The riflemen and commanders can leave their fullpacks at the form-up area before the assault but not the medics. After mission completed, the rifleman can relac abit but medics' work only started with "casualties" coming in.

Most of these medics not exactly the fit type, they definitely welcome any help. Even my MO sometimes carried some of these loads when he sees one of his medics about to pengsan.

Fella really appreciate our help....he even told us he told his friends how we helped him. They were suprised as we were of different race. Thats why he gave the saline to oni our group during the brunei. stint. When we reached lakiun we bought him lunch and others for his saline water!

how do you get driving licence before NS? Go NS at 18yrs old, how to get civilian licence before NS?

Last time 17 yo can got for class 3 le. I got my class 3 when I was 17 yo (JC1). Enlisted when i was 19.

Actually, most guys enlist after they are 18 yo becos of JC or poly. 18 yo is just official age where you can be call up for enlistement.

The 2-mile run sama sama with the US army's physical test.

They only have two other tests: sit-up & push-up.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Army_Physical_Fitness_Test

Ya, but they on points system. I feel not so simple...

Scoring on the APFT is based on gender, age category, number of repetitions performed of the push-up and sit-up, and run time. Score tables are found in Army FM 7-22 and on Department of the Army Form 705, Army Physical Fitness Test Scorecard. The score for each event ranges from 0 to 100 points; a minimum score of 60 in each event is required to pass the test. The soldier's overall score is the sum of the points from the three events. If a soldier passes all three events, the total may range from 180 to 300. APFT standards may be more rigorous for some special purpose units, such as for special operations soldiers which are usually required to score 70 points or better in each event.

Soldiers who score 270 or above on the APFT, with a minimum score of 90 in each event, are awarded the Physical Fitness Badge, which can be worn on the physical training uniform.[2] The APFT score also converts to promotion points which are used to in part to determine the eligibility of soldiers for promotion to a higher rank.

The scoring algorithm also includes an extended scale, by which soldiers can earn more than 100 points in an event by performing better than the 100-point standard. In order for a soldier to earn a score of over 300, he or she must obtain 100 points in each event, meaning that a soldier can not begin to use the extended scale for any one event until 100 points are reached in all three events. Scores above maximum may only be used locally in an unofficial capacity; official record scores may never exceed 300 points. Beyond the 100-point level, each additional push-up is one additional point, each additional sit-up is one additional point, and each six-second reduction in the run time is one additional point.

For soldiers who have a medical or physical condition which prevents them from being able to successfully participate in the two mile run, alternate aerobic events are authorized. Scoring for alternate aerobic events is either GO or NO-GO (pass or fail) and is based on the gender and age of the individual. For the purposes of promotion, a soldier's score on an alternate event equals the average of their push-up and sit-up scores.[3] Restrictions applicable to the APFT for soldiers with medical conditions (including pregnancy) or on physical profiles are stipulated in Army Regulation 40-501.[4] For example, one stipulation is that "Once the [temporary] profile is lifted, the soldier must be given twice the time of the profile (but not more than 90 days) to train for the [next] APFT.[5]

Failure to pass two or more consecutive record APFTs can lead to separation from the Army, although this is not always the case. Soldiers who have failed an APFT are often put into a "remedial program" first, which includes additional physical training. An APFT failure also results in the soldier being "flagged" which make them ineligible for promotion and attendance to military training and/or schools. However, a soldier cannot be denied an award or decoration due to an APFT failure.[6]

Stamina: The ability to exercise the entire body for long periods of time, for example, walking to the train station, jogging, aerobics.

Muscular Endurance: The ability of muscles to maintain and repeat contractions without getting tired. Many activities need both kinds of endurance. Example stacking shelves all day long in a shop, swimming, jogging.

Flexibility or Suppleness: The range of movement at a joint. If you have poor flexibility you move stiffly and are more likely to injure your tendons and ligaments in violent movements.

Most likely they'll do it this way - give you 2 choices, you are "free" to choose either 1.

Maybe got bonus, 3 choices choise 1 - 1 SIR, 3 SIR or 6 SIR rifleman.

My best bet is the choices will be pre-defined and you won't be able to choose exactly what you want.

good!! 2.4km seriously too short!!

from 1.5 miles to 2 miles lor

ha ha my this post has been junk 5 [smash] by someone still need to go IPPT bah.

seriously anyone without medical illness can have ippt GOLD, it is only does one have discipline to be answerable to one health [thumbsup]

if you are unfit blame no one. fitness/ healthy is your own choice.

pls junk this post too if that make you feel better :D

too add on, think Singapore is the only country that pay/ reward their NSmen to stay fit!! should appreaciate and do your body a favour stay FIT!! [thumbsup] when u are fit, your confidence level naturally increase with aura [scholar]

My uni hall buddy absolutely adored IPPT.......& the $400 in his pocket nap nap every time he went for his IPPT.

Lamented openly once why SAF only allowed us to take it once a year & he nearly kena lynched by the [furious] mob around us [laugh][laugh]

Well to each his own...

My uni hall buddy absolutely adored IPPT.......& the $400 in his pocket nap nap every time he went for his IPPT.

Lamented openly once why SAF only allowed us to take it once a year & he nearly kena lynched by the [furious] mob around us [laugh][laugh]

Well to each his own...

for those who can pass, they don't mind doing ippt every week. just imagine if you can get silver standard ($200) every week. that is $800 per month which is very good $$ for just 30 mins each session.

let forget abt getting $400 or $200, we just talk abt getting $100..... any normal/ medical illness free male with little discipline in keeping fit will qualify for $100 rite?

choice choice choice

let forget abt getting $400 or $200, we just talk abt getting $100..... any normal/ medical illness free male with little discipline in keeping fit will qualify for $100 rite?

choice choice choice

I think the question lies on the motivation of the individual. is $100 or $200 or even $400 can motivate one to keep fit and go for the monetary award? I do know of people telling me "I rather pay the SAF $400 every year and they don't call me back to take ippt".

while some are motivated just because they want to live a healthy lifestyle, not because of the $$ from passing ippt.

For me, I find ippt $$ is good money to earn for just a 30min effort and I don't mind taking it every week. :-)

another exercise in wayang to give people the illusion of choice.

end of the day, you can select whatever you want, but final appointment will be based on Mindef's discretion which brings us back to square one.

I don't know why so many want to be clerk. Clerk no fun, unless stay out personnel. Clerk life not good, combat unit only exercise siong, else when lull period - really cho bo lan until bored. And combat vocations more life experiences to tok kok abt.

So if can choose, choose the most senang combat vocation - mortar !!!!!

But the best is don't go army lah - SPF best !!

Mortar seenang meh?

i tot signal best? my classmate said when he went to wallaby to support our armour exercise, he was si bey relax...

this is what happened: Queensland training ground too big (we were told it's 2x size of singapore), got some hills so radio signal sometimes kanna blocked or distance too long out of range. So he (signal NCO) and his team got some relay station, drove to some strategic hilly place quite high up, set up relay signal post, to relay radio signal so that training troops from far and wide all can communicate. And he cannot move away right, else signal lost again.

So throughout exercise, he took off shirt and sun tan there...

So if I have a driving licence when I enlist for NS, I can choose to be a driver?

hee hee, bro, skully kanna posted to like your vehicle driver ---> M113 driver, how?

need to do BOS, need to strip track, need to drive closed-hatch with NVD, etc... with helmet on all the time...

but they quite relaxed, always koon when troops went flanking...

i remember in Area D, driver shiok, troops siong: cos SGP too small, for movement to contact, vehicle moved 5 min, need to stop and let troops flank 1 hr, before mount vehicle move again.

In Aust, driver siong, troops shiok: area big, for same MTC, vehicle moved 2 hr also haven't reached location, troops behind all koon'ed till coma, and driver drove till almost fainted...

how do you get driving licence before NS? Go NS at 18yrs old, how to get civilian licence before NS?

i got mine during BMT bloc leave...

For me, I find ippt $$ is good money to earn for just a 30min effort and I don't mind taking it every week. :-)

Hahaha for fit fellas they of course do not mind lah-getting paid for being fit [grin][grin]

Unfortunately for many others IPPT is pure torture and like what some bros mentioned they would rather PAY MINDEF to get off their backs if possible instead.