Free Choice for NS Vocation?

StefanK

Every soldier, airman and sailor may have to undergo a new physical fitness test from next year.

The Singapore Armed Forces is looking to change the Individual Physical Proficiency Test, or IPPT, for the first time since 1982.

Key changes are expected to include the scrapping of the standing broad jump station and adding push-ups as a testing criterion, The Straits Times has learnt.

Servicemen will also have to run 3.2km instead of the current 2.4km to test endurance over longer distances.

Every soldier, airman and sailor may have to undergo a new physical fitness test from next year.

The Singapore Armed Forces is looking to change the Individual Physical Proficiency Test, or IPPT, for the first time since 1982.

Key changes are expected to include the scrapping of the standing broad jump station and adding push-ups as a testing criterion, The Straits Times has learnt.

Servicemen will also have to run 3.2km instead of the current 2.4km to test endurance over longer distances.

I sappork scraping SBJ :D

i think u have not done LRI [sweatdrop]

No leh brother. What is LRI? [laugh]

I was Ammo Storeman, everyday carry RAI, ammo around. Got time, wrap 7.62 around my body feeling Rambo, but is to check rounds for usability.

If I can choose, I will choose Arty. Damn hard to get in.

So if I have a driving licence when I enlist for NS, I can choose to be a driver?

I think before enlisting, you also not eligible for Driving lessons.

People is go in NS clock mileage to get free license one leh!

i want to be NS driver leh. Can get free Class 3 and 4 license. If u are good, u get to drive ferry the generals around in Audi staff car daily. shiok

So if I have a driving licence when I enlist for NS, I can choose to be a driver?

Driver not easy too leh.....must be careful, cannot get into accident [sweatdrop]

Driver in operational units worse. After exercise.....gotta wash the mudcaked vehicles.....under the sun..... [sweatdrop]

I was attached there for a couple of months waiting for my posting. It was quite ok I think. Easy life. All those crabs there not very strict. Better than at battalion. No guard duty, no store, no outfield, no heavy stuff to carry, no nothing [grin]

Yep navy folks, less some pr!cks, are generally less formal than those in the army. Probably because most of them are onboard ships in close proximity so not so regimental in terms of rank.

Sama sama like you but my stint was longer- my entire NSF less training was spent in the navy.

Imagine having inciks as your fellow colleagues or most appropriately bros when not too long ago you see one from 3,000 miles already siam far far liao...

Life was good, really good then.

But back on terra firma literally during reservist... [furious][furious]

Edited by Vulcann

how do you get driving licence before NS? Go NS at 18yrs old, how to get civilian licence before NS?

I think before enlisting, you also not eligible for Driving lessons.

People is go in NS clock mileage to get free license one leh!

army give me m113 and tonner licence

really missed the m113 driving course [smallcry] great time, great fun, no pressure [grin]

i want to be NS driver leh. Can get free Class 3 and 4 license. If u are good, u get to drive ferry the generals around in Audi staff car daily. shiok

Those that drive the generals are normally regulars. NSF no chance to drive Audi. Last time I saw one driving MID x (one number) is a SSG.

army give me m113 and tonner licence

really missed the m113 driving course [smallcry] great time, great fun, no pressure [grin]

Tonner Class 4 license right? or Class 5?

This is tan jiak license leh... my friends all who have this earning good money at PSA now. [laugh]

Reading what the Defence Ministry is pondering whether to allow servicemen choose their preferred vocations sure bring back memories...

Near the end of SAFINCOS during the late eighties we infantry blokes were all given the "choice" to select in terms of preference where we wana go next machiam after PSLE: intelligence NCOs, medics, Guards, Infantry & PTIs.

Come posting day my entire platoon ended up in the last 3 vocations. And as far as we knew other 2 platoons sama sama and only 2-3 got posted out as medics [laugh][laugh] [laugh]

same here. final weeks of OCS they asked us for our preference. I put overseas perm staff.

end up post me to combat unit as a Dy something.

Skarly go to unit the screwed up S1 put me as PC.

like that ask for what?