Free Choice for NS Vocation?

StefanK

Hahaha for fit fellas they of course do not mind lah-getting paid for being fit [grin][grin]

Unfortunately for many others IPPT is pure torture and like what some bros mentioned they would rather PAY MINDEF to get off their backs if possible instead.

most SAF-nsmen would have no problem doing ippt and soc during active times.(less those chao keng ones) but not after ORD...

even if given choice to choose which vocation, how many would really ends up with his preferred vocation?

and don't even need to think about the number of kengsters who are sure to choose those more 'relax' vocation.

we definitely won't have enough combat soldiers to protect our land and eliminate the enemies.

Edited by KumarB

Mortar seenang meh?

i tot signal best? my classmate said when he went to wallaby to support our armour exercise, he was si bey relax...

this is what happened: Queensland training ground too big (we were told it's 2x size of singapore), got some hills so radio signal sometimes kanna blocked or distance too long out of range. So he (signal NCO) and his team got some relay station, drove to some strategic hilly place quite high up, set up relay signal post, to relay radio signal so that training troops from far and wide all can communicate. And he cannot move away right, else signal lost again.

So throughout exercise, he took off shirt and sun tan there...

again.. for signal, it depends on the unit also. If Armour - always vehicle bound, so quite senang. Guards signals, have to walk. Guards walk many many, so not senang. Navy signal - dunno have signal or not - should be quite senang, always sailing. haha.

Mortar seenang meh?

i tot signal best? my classmate said when he went to wallaby to support our armour exercise, he was si bey relax...

this is what happened: Queensland training ground too big (we were told it's 2x size of singapore), got some hills so radio signal sometimes kanna blocked or distance too long out of range. So he (signal NCO) and his team got some relay station, drove to some strategic hilly place quite high up, set up relay signal post, to relay radio signal so that training troops from far and wide all can communicate. And he cannot move away right, else signal lost again.

So throughout exercise, he took off shirt and sun tan there...

at least in Armour, my BMT PS told us Mortar most senang.

Note that Signallers do not come from Armour Mono intake. They are from the schools -> Signal course -> distributed through army. My company 2 signallers - 1 follow OC, so gotta chiong sua as well. The other follow CSM, slightly better life.

Mortar men NEVER need to chiong anywhere. Deploy and relax ........

Maybe those Signallers from Signal Platoon at Brigade level senang.

Actually driver no good, although many people think that driver very lobo and can relax while troops are carrying out their field training. Cause i seen those drivers in my unit before, sometimes quite siong having to stay whole night having to ferry troops and officer around, and wash their vehicles after the training. Also anything happen while driving, can get charge at DB! I think maybe clerk is the best.

yeah, my unit drivers all hokkien pengs. Always kenna F by MTL sgt, and always kenna charged [sweatdrop] again depends on unit again. In short I think Armour one of the most siong units to go to. Drivers also must move out, clerks also must move out, cooks also must move out !! [rifle]

again.. for signal, it depends on the unit also. If Armour - always vehicle bound, so quite senang. Guards signals, have to walk. Guards walk many many, so not senang. Navy signal - dunno have signal or not - should be quite senang, always sailing. haha.

Navy have signaller also. They are called RO aka Radio Operator. Not easy job. Got to learn morse code. Then cramp in a radio room listen n reply messages. At bridge, got to use bino to look at other ship morse code thru light signals. Then have to reply back using light signals.

I see them very cham. One chief, one leading n one man. All three got to rotate among themselves for 24/7 shift. The chief is staff sg to encik level still must keep watch. Then when ship roll n pitch, being cramped in a small room more prone to sea sick. Vomit like siao.

There is another level of signaller, classified level. They listen to.................... [lipsrsealed] I dont think I have security clearance to reveal here. No one allowed inside their room, only CO n them.

hee hee, bro, skully kanna posted to like your vehicle driver ---> M113 driver, how?

need to do BOS, need to strip track, need to drive closed-hatch with NVD, etc... with helmet on all the time...

but they quite relaxed, always koon when troops went flanking...

i remember in Area D, driver shiok, troops siong: cos SGP too small, for movement to contact, vehicle moved 5 min, need to stop and let troops flank 1 hr, before mount vehicle move again.

In Aust, driver siong, troops shiok: area big, for same MTC, vehicle moved 2 hr also haven't reached location, troops behind all koon'ed till coma, and driver drove till almost fainted...

You got a point bro, but I still find being a M113 driver better than being a trooper. At least you don't (and sometimes never) need to get your boots dirty or muddy.

Do BOS/break track/wash vechice not siong lah...cos always one AI will be attached to help you! Otherwise the vehicle commander will have to help you.

Yes, if overseas training the driver dam siong, cos drive very long distances. But how many times you get to go overseas during the 2 years of NS wor...?

yeah, my unit drivers all hokkien pengs. Always kenna F by MTL sgt, and always kenna charged [sweatdrop] again depends on unit again. In short I think Armour one of the most siong units to go to. Drivers also must move out, clerks also must move out, cooks also must move out !! [rifle]

Didnt know Armour unit, drivers, clerks and cooks also must move out? But you mean go out field together la, but lobo outside ar?

Anyway, i think usually drivers are hokkien pengs back then. Dont think they will post 'educated' guy to be driver. Lol.

Edited by 13177

Actually Armour looks senang cos they get ferried by M113. But really this is not true!

Cos Armour when they move out, they have a lot of preparations to do! Mount equipment, ammo, heavy weapons, combat rations, etc. When back to "Rose Garden" (camp) they must dismount these equipment and weapons, and clean them. Then the M113 needs to be washed too!

Guards and Infantry will walk and walk, but they need not prepare and maintain the Armour vehicle.

My 2 cents opinion lah. [:)]

Didnt know Armour unit, drovers, clerks and cooks also must move out? But you mean go out field together la, but lobo outside ar?

Anyway, i think usually drivers are hokkien pengs back then. Dont think they will post 'educated' guy to be driver. Lol.

only during major exercises. Under Battalion HQ. Who do you think prepares maps/sand table for CO/S1/S2/S3/S4 ? And who do you think cooks for them ?? -_- That was before SFI days lah

I was a spare crew so kenna attached to them before. Not exactly lobo, basically the cha-pa-lang bao-ka-liao crew. Set up concertina wire, be sentry ... all the manual labour. Just no need to chiong sua.

if i had a choice...i choose to be 'Chief oF Defence Force'. [scholar]

don't think you can choose [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Othello

yeah, my unit drivers all hokkien pengs. Always kenna F by MTL sgt, and always kenna charged [sweatdrop] again depends on unit again.

During my time, I heard my S1 told us when a MTL driver have accident, he will go to DB, no questions asked! [sweatdrop]

CDF very busy one hor. Got lots of meeting and shake hand with various generals. Then prepare report to defence minister.

Then I choose to be Minister of Defence lor [grin]

During my time, I heard my S1 told us when a MTL driver have accident, he will go to DB, no questions asked! [sweatdrop]

std DB visitors -> cooks & drivers [;)]