Darthrevan Supercharged October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 Plans to install closed circuit televisions (CCTV) at locations across Singapore to deter illegal parking have been delayed. The cameras were initially targeted to be implemented by the second quarter of this year. The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said companies which won the bids earlier were unable to comply with parts of the tender specifications. LTA did not provide further details. New proposals are now under evaluation. LTA expects to implement the CCTVs progressively at 30 locations from the first quarter of next year. It should be completed by end-2014. So far, a pilot project at Marine Parade Central and Beach Road has produced results. Since cameras were installed in those areas in 2011, the number of parking violations recorded jumped by three to six times, to about 1,200 each month. This is compared to 400 for Beach Road and 200 for Marine Parade Central before the cameras were installed. Tan Boon Huat, managing director of Grassland Express, said: "Previously, cars used to park indiscriminately, resulting in one lane less for vehicles, so there will be traffic congestion during peak hours. "Before, it was just too congested… Now it's… better… not only for taxis but (for) all the cars. So the lanes are not jeopardised by vehicles which are not moving." Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/cctv-installations-to/851012.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 want $$ just say so.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 agree at Golden Mile one but Parkway parade one is not a main road also must catch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 ehh.. why they show comparison on the number of offense caught rather than how effective the deterent is?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 agree at Golden Mile one but Parkway parade one is not a main road also must catch exactly.. stupid right? i got caught in both spot.. 3 points, $120.. Knn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 ehh.. why they show comparison on the number of offense caught rather than how effective the deterent is?? Agree. that means the cctv is not effective in reducing illegal parking but very efficient in revenue collection! WTF! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 exactly.. stupid right? i got caught in both spot.. 3 points, $120.. Knn... You also funny, the sign there so big saying no stopping, you choose to ignore the sign and blame the camera placing there? Imagine if one car stops there. Another follow suit, slowly the entire stretch will have vehicle. Isn't it wiser to just cut it off totally? Car park is just next to it it anyway. Want to drive in singapore, must be prepared to pay. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 Agree. that means the cctv is not effective in reducing illegal parking but very efficient in revenue collection! WTF! Needs some time for it to be effective. So many have been parking there without getting any summons yet. So now when people slowly start receiving the summons then they will stop parking there eventually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 You also funny, the sign there so big saying no stopping, you choose to ignore the sign and blame the camera placing there? Imagine if one car stops there. Another follow suit, slowly the entire stretch will have vehicle. Isn't it wiser to just cut it off totally? Car park is just next to it it anyway. Want to drive in singapore, must be prepared to pay. Let me explain... I frequent to golden mile as my in law would take coach back to Malaysia.. Being old age and having weak leg. I committed the offense by dropping there. Basically it was a drop and go. I did try to appeal but still was not accepted. So now, if I were to drop, I had to drop her at the pump kiosk, then she and wife have to slowly walk to the pick up destination Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 ehh.. why they show comparison on the number of offense caught rather than how effective the deterent is?? yah wrong KPI... Let me explain... I frequent to golden mile as my in law would take coach back to Malaysia.. Being old age and having weak leg. I committed the offense by dropping there. Basically it was a drop and go. I did try to appeal but still was not accepted. So now, if I were to drop, I had to drop her at the pump kiosk, then she and wife have to slowly walk to the pick up destination hmmm isn't there a small lane for pickup/drop off between the main building and the small temple/altar? is it still there? it's been a while since I last went to that building. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 Maybe they think traffic wardens can do it faster n cheaper coz cctv needs extra manpower to review n issue summons, whereas wardens just issue summons on the spot. Btw,I was waiting by the side of a driveway of a rather quiet HDB open car park for my wife this morning. I didn't want to park in a car park lot coz others may really want to park and leave their cars in the empty lots and not just waiting. Then a car park warden told me to park my car in a lot, he said I am causing traffic jam!!!! I looked around, where got traffic jam??!!! Lucky he sounded polite and even said sorry for asking me to move. Otherwise I will ask him show me where's the sign which says 'no waiting', and where's the traffic jam??!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 yah wrong KPI... hmmm isn't there a small lane for pickup/drop off between the main building and the small temple/altar? is it still there? it's been a while since I last went to that building. That one, is for taxi.. If you happen to go there and stop. You probably get horned, or high beam by them.. Well, It's stress to drive in Singapore.. Even my Gf can feel that 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 Anyway, there are more areas than reported that are equipped with such cameras to deter illegal parking that causes inconveniences. Usually at places with zigzag yellow lines. And they sometimes don't look like normal semi circle cctv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 That one, is for taxi.. If you happen to go there and stop. You probably get horned, or high beam by them.. Well, It's stress to drive in Singapore.. Even my Gf can feel that ah,,,. ok... yeah high-traffic buildings should have a lobby or pickup/drop off points, and also station a security guard to make sure pple dun abuse it... no waiting, no parking etc. yeah I think the driving environment here has changed a lot for the worse in the past 4-5yrs. Too much traffic, made worse by a high number of bad drivers. Just now on my way home, kena one driver slowly take his time to move off from traffic light (he was not the 1st car... maybe 3rd?) I am just behind him but cannot clear the junction cos it turned amber when it was my turn... too many such cuckoo drivers arnd... cause more jam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 wonder why singaporeans have such low tolerance and ungracious self being?? cos we are brought up in such environment that is taught and nurtured by our garment. No compromise and must think straight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 Let me explain... I frequent to golden mile as my in law would take coach back to Malaysia.. Being old age and having weak leg. I committed the offense by dropping there. Basically it was a drop and go. I did try to appeal but still was not accepted. So now, if I were to drop, I had to drop her at the pump kiosk, then she and wife have to slowly walk to the pick up destination On the compassionate side, I would say you did right. However, as a law enforcement point of view, you broke the traffic rules for stopping along zig zag line. So what else can you say when you broke the rules? I have nothing against you, just put things in perspective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 19, 2013 Share October 19, 2013 On the compassionate side, I would say you did right. However, as a law enforcement point of view, you broke the traffic rules for stopping along zig zag line. So what else can you say when you broke the rules? I have nothing against you, just put things in perspective. A very good example of a local educatoon product I would say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 19, 2013 Author Share October 19, 2013 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqRLiSVbVAs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...