Wt_know Supersonic December 19, 2015 Share December 19, 2015 (edited) very sad to see this happening in msia ahjib kor has rot the country to the core allowing many "toxic" projects in msia because of $$$ another time bomb waiting to explode is Lynas ... For those with family or vising Kuantan often. Not sure if this happens all the time or only when flooding occurs. https://sg.news.yahoo.com/toxins-kuantans-treated-water-024717067.html Edited December 19, 2015 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 19, 2015 Share December 19, 2015 very sad to see this happening in msia ahjib kor has rot the country to the core allowing many "toxic" projects in msia because of $$$ another time bomb waiting to explode is Lynas ... have they started yet? rare earths is a toxic business. That's why the chinese and mongolians are the world's leading supplier. SImply cos they don't give a F about the environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yhn 4th Gear December 19, 2015 Share December 19, 2015 We did a 5day trip in Sep15 covering Kuantan -- Lake Kenyir -- Cameron Highlands. And then in first weekend Dec15, were at foot of the Cameron highlands. This time round visited a hot spring by the side of a cool stream, near Simpang Pulai. The waters’ were milky unlike the big waterfall enroute up Tapah way. Nevertheless dipped into the waters. Under estimated the power of flowing waters and was swept downstream. Part of enjoyment, lol WARNING Be warned. The hot spring is bacteria infested. There is signboard put up as well. Against advice and can say I was ‘TeeKee’ to submerge in it. That moment in the hot pool was ‘shiok’. 3 or 4 hours after we left the place, my eyes felt rough, like some fine-sand inside kind of feeling. The next day woke up with a fever , only I; the other didn’t dip into the hot pool. And needed a second course of antibiotics as the fever persisted for more than a week and coughed out phlegm till the end of second week. Now only can say fully recovered. Actually I didn’t want to even mention the name but .. I’s call Lubuk Timah. If you want to dip into a hot spring, the one along route 185 to Gua Musang is ok. It’s about 30 to 31 km from the T-junction, Blue Valley. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 19, 2015 Share December 19, 2015 have they started yet? rare earths is a toxic business. That's why the chinese and mongolians are the world's leading supplier. SImply cos they don't give a F about the environment. Biggest irony is we are criticising these suppliers using our smart phones, laptops, tablets and computers 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 20, 2015 Share December 20, 2015 Biggest irony is we are criticising these suppliers using our smart phones, laptops, tablets and computers ð Yup. Glad that you understand the irony. Most people simply aren't aware. We are really a parasite of the planet 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 20, 2015 Share December 20, 2015 Yup. Glad that you understand the irony. Most people simply aren't aware. We are really a parasite of the planet Agree. And multiplying by the day sucking up resources like never before. It's only going to get worse until we stop ourselves one fine day. Hopefully not in my lifetime 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged January 3, 2016 Share January 3, 2016 Better give the eastern states a miss this monsoon period. https://sg.news.yahoo.com/red-warning-issued-east-coast-030328146.html?nhp=1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wattokkingu 3rd Gear January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 Better give the eastern states a miss this monsoon period. https://sg.news.yahoo.com/red-warning-issued-east-coast-030328146.html?nhp=1 So sad to see this happening in Kuantan. This is one of our fav places to visit in MY, was planning to take my family on a trip to Kuantan in April and will have to scrap the plans. The drive via route 3 is always one of the highlights of the road trip...haizz.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Author Share January 6, 2016 So sad to see this happening in Kuantan. This is one of our fav places to visit in MY, was planning to take my family on a trip to Kuantan in April and will have to scrap the plans. The drive via route 3 is always one of the highlights of the road trip...haizz.. This is an annual occurrence lah due to the NE monsoon. I hope to be going to Kuantan in March. By then, should be hot and sunny liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wattokkingu 3rd Gear January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 (edited) It happens practically every year around this time leh. My bad...i thought the article was referring to the pollution caused by the bauxite mining. Someone mentioned earlier in the thread that the water supply was found with heavy metal traces, so have to give Kuantan a miss... Edited January 6, 2016 by Wattokkingu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinetics Neutral Newbie March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 (edited) Then we headed to Suria Cherating Beach Resort where it was the rest stop for this part of the trip. Tks TS. Any other nice resort on the east coast before Suria Cherating? I might not reach there in time as will be tolling 3 young kids. Oh, I guess the monsoon is over for next week trip? Will it be busy for Mar sch holidays for this Lake Kenyir-Cameroon circuit? Edited March 10, 2016 by Kinetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 10, 2016 Author Share March 10, 2016 Tks TS. Any other nice resort on the east coast before Suria Cherating? I might not reach there in time as will be tolling 3 young kids. Oh, I guess the monsoon is over for next week trip? Will it be busy for Mar sch holidays for this Lake Kenyir-Cameroon circuit? There are lots of choice along the east coast at Kuantan. Got Swiss Garden, The Legends, etc... Suria Cherating is a cheaper option. Can be filled with locals at times. Monsoon season is at its tail end. I was there at Swiss Garden last week. During the day, hot and windy. At night then rain. School holidays, expect jam at Cameron Highlands. Cameroon is in Africa. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinetics Neutral Newbie March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 There are lots of choice along the east coast at Kuantan. Got Swiss Garden, The Legends, etc... Suria Cherating is a cheaper option. Can be filled with locals at times. Monsoon season is at its tail end. I was there at Swiss Garden last week. During the day, hot and windy. At night then rain. School holidays, expect jam at Cameron Highlands. Cameroon is in Africa. Tks for your reply. I meant are they any nice resorts before Cherating? Cos I doubt I can drive all the way to Cherating within a day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 11, 2016 Author Share March 11, 2016 Tks for your reply. I meant are they any nice resorts before Cherating? Cos I doubt I can drive all the way to Cherating within a day The resorts I mentioned are all before Cherating beach. Cherating is not far from Kuantan. Just 10mins drive away. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...