Kuantan-Lake Kenyir-Cameron Highlands-Melaka road trip

Adrianli

On the way to our hotel, we came across the new Lavender Garden attraction. RM5 per entry. Quite a number of visitors.

Got time to kill so decided to drive to the peak. The road up gets very very steep, came past this place called Mossy Forest. It is a path created by stairs and various pavilions along the way with a view of the mountains below. The view up there was stunning, you can see and feel the clouds passing you. From there you can also see the two different states between the mountains, Perak and Pahang.

We headed back to the hotel, wifey went for foot massage at the shops below the hotel while I went back to the room to catch some rest.

Lavender Garden was nice. The flowers were planted neatly in different colours pattern, just like what you would see in a country side in The Netherlands! The kids also loved the ice-cream, and the mini castle on the upper level. [thumbsup]

We also stayed in Equatorial, in the newly renovated Deluxe room, on the 13th floor, which comes with a small balcony. It was a comfortably stay, plus the toilet bowl even had auto spray wash for the backside!!!

I missed the Mossy Forest during my trip there cos I wasn't comfortable with driving up that steep narrow stretch of road up there. [:(]

We also had foot massage at the shop below Equatorial Hotel. The shop was run by a few PRC women and one PRC man! Did your wife tried the massage at this shop or the one opposite?

We also pass by the 2 police checkpoints but no was was guarding it so we just drove past. But I don't know why there need police checkpoint? It is not a border crossing or controlled area also... [confused]

Kopi stop for kopi lui. [grin]

Suria Cherating Beach resort has free Wifi ?

Yes, they had free wifi. The router was just outside my room so got good speed.

Bro tvt, what is felda aring road about?

Nothing much sands.. you collecting sands or rocks??

This road links Lake Kenyir to Gua Musang and onto Cameron Highlands. Road condition is really bad. But if u driving a AWD SUV, then its woooohoooo [drivingcar]

Nice FR. Thanks for sharing.

Time permitting, I would have stopped over at Lake Kenyir for another day and tour the lake a little. If you like to fish, it can be fun as well. We took a cruise to the herbal garden and one of the many waterfalls in the area, did a 2 hours canoe trip around the lake and a 3 hours fishing trip the last time we were there. Probably won't do it again but it was quite good for city people like me and my kids.

Mountain Strawberry Farm is also one of my favourites, the bangla there damn funny.

The new room at Equatorial looks nice, I stayed there once more than 5 years ago and it was a dump. May consider the hotel next.

Edited by Voodooman

Bro tvt, what is felda aring road about?

Nothing much sands.. you collecting sands or rocks??

That road is commonly known as Felda Aring, not sure why. On the Goggle map, it is know as highway 1744. As bro Adrianli had mentioned, it is the shortest link from Lake Kenyir to Gua Musang.

Those you see on the ground are not sand or rocks...actually this is originally a paved road, but over the years due to low (or nil) maintenance, the pavement cracks-up and becomes like that now...all gravels, potholes and small rocks!

Time permitting, I would have stopped over at Lake Kenyir for another day and tour the lake a little. If you like to fish, it can be fun as well. We took a cruise to the herbal garden and one of the many waterfalls in the area, did a 2 hours canoe trip around the lake and a 3 hours fishing trip the last time we were there. Probably won't do it again but it was quite good for city people like me and my kids.

I took a boat crusie around lake Kenyir too. I was drop off at Herbs Garden and one waterfall for a short visit. At Herbs Garden I was given a chance to try the real (original brewed) Tongkat Ali....wah it was not really that bitter leh (as what others said). [;)]

If I had a chance again to visit Kenyir, I might try to rent those houseboat for a 2-3 days crusie (full board), then can explore more areas of the lake.

must really learn from you,

Trengganu, used to go there, for redang trip. nothing much, malay place but they have one of the best roti prata.. malay style.. super [sunny]

Kuantan, never been there before..

any recommended trip during deepavali break?

Thinking of going kukup or tioman.. but depending on my malaysia kakis.

Next Jan, intend to drive up to Aloe Star, then thai borders and probably hit langkawi [drivingcar]

but i must agree that long distance driving, really drain energy..

Bro

Go for Krabi or Phuket.....

If I had a chance again to visit Kenyir, I might try to rent those houseboat for a 2-3 days crusie (full board), then can explore more areas of the lake.

Thought of doing that years ago but noone in the family is an avid angler. Would be imterested to read a FR on such trip.

A very detailed n well written Field Report. [thumbsup]

Looks like u had a great time. Pity I cud not join u.

All the hotel rooms look nice n clean. Pace was relaxed n easy going too.

I liked all the places except Melaka. Dunno why but seems Melaka now too touristy with too many Sporeans spoil the place. Seems a bit expensive n crowded too.

Maybe I can join u on yr next RT to Msia. Kuantan n Kenyir wud b nice. [drivingcar]

Thought of doing that years ago but noone in the family is an avid angler. Would be imterested to read a FR on such trip.

I do some fishing n wanted to fish Kenyir long ago but never tried.

I heard the toman not as many as 10-15 yrs back though but wud still like to try.

Maybe if we get a group from MCF together we can arrange a fishing trip there for abt 2-3 days fishing.

We also had foot massage at the shop below Equatorial Hotel. The shop was run by a few PRC women and one PRC man! Did your wife tried the massage at this shop or the one opposite?

Yup, the foot massage shops are ran by PRCs. My wife went to the one below the tennis court. As u enter the hotel, the shop on the left.

Great post adrian and good photos.

Did you book hotels beforehand or just when you arrived.

I was gonna do something similar to your trip but the missus not too keen so we are off to Margaret River and Denmark next week for three weeks.

I suppose the driving will be the same amount.

Did you find the driving on your trip take up too much of the time or not?

Yup, I booked the hotels thru Asiarooms beforehand.

Driving was stress free and drove only 3-4hrs from one location to another. Basically I check out of the hotel at 10am and would reach the next destination 2-3pm, just nice to check in.

A very detailed n well written Field Report. [thumbsup]

Looks like u had a great time. Pity I cud not join u.

All the hotel rooms look nice n clean. Pace was relaxed n easy going too.

I liked all the places except Melaka. Dunno why but seems Melaka now too touristy with too many Sporeans spoil the place. Seems a bit expensive n crowded too.

Maybe I can join u on yr next RT to Msia. Kuantan n Kenyir wud b nice. [drivingcar]

I got asked u to come along for this trip hor. For fishing, I think you will love Lake Kenyir. Can hire the boat and go ard the lake fishing.

Ya, Melaka too much tourist and prices there going up and up each time I visit. [shakehead]

Bro

Go for Krabi or Phuket.....

krabi, never been..

but phuket, i was there for 9 days..

didn't rent a car but instead, a scooter..

mind you, i don't have a bike license..

was fun but really not my thing..

skid twice..

don't dare to speed.. imagine 2 person going uphill..

and its really steep..

well.. that was with my ex gf.. too bad..

krabi, never been..

but phuket, i was there for 9 days..

didn't rent a car but instead, a scooter..

mind you, i don't have a bike license..

was fun but really not my thing..

skid twice..

don't dare to speed.. imagine 2 person going uphill..

and its really steep..

well.. that was with my ex gf.. too bad..

ya... now u can try driving TO there....

Can meh? From johor to phuket??

never heard before but it would really be an achievement in life.

My next road trip is to aloe star and thai borders. Still undecided but slowly building for a firmer ride.

Can meh? From johor to phuket??

never heard before but it would really be an achievement in life.

My next road trip is to aloe star and thai borders. Still undecided but slowly building for a firmer ride.

can... many of us has driven to Krabi...

Phuket is just another 1 or 2 hours away... linked to Mainland by a bridge

can... many of us has driven to Krabi...

Phuket is just another 1 or 2 hours away... linked to Mainland by a bridge

power..

salute you, but may i ask.. how you find your way? via GPS?

isn't krabi suppose to be an island? haha, pardon me for my ignorance..

what car you guys use for such trip? 4x4?