Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Hi, I just installed a car cam with concealed wires and switch. Just wondering if leaving the cam on but switching off the screen, how much power does it typically drain? I have left it on for like 3-5 hours and engine can start, but never truly overnight like 10 - 12 hours... dun dare to try leh... think its ok? does it depend on how new/old the batt is etc? i have the option of motion sensor... does it help? my thinking is that switching off the screen is saving more energy than motion sensor... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 From what one shop told me, it will keep recoding until it reaches a certain battery level & stop. So that u dun have prob starting the car later. Didn't ask typically how long it will record b4 this feature kicks in. I didn't buy, so unsure of model. But since u did, u may want to clarify with shop u bought from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Author Share October 17, 2013 From what one shop told me, it will keep recoding until it reaches a certain battery level & stop. So that u dun have prob starting the car later. Didn't ask typically how long it will record b4 this feature kicks in. I didn't buy, so unsure of model. But since u did, u may want to clarify with shop u bought from. nope. i didnt opt for that. cam was bought seperately and went outside installer. didnt want installation to cost more than cam so opt out just simple conceal wires plus switch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopisiewtai 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Hi, I just installed a car cam with concealed wires and switch. Just wondering if leaving the cam on but switching off the screen, how much power does it typically drain? I have left it on for like 3-5 hours and engine can start, but never truly overnight like 10 - 12 hours... dun dare to try leh... think its ok? does it depend on how new/old the batt is etc? i have the option of motion sensor... does it help? my thinking is that switching off the screen is saving more energy than motion sensor... My batt went dead after 3 days parking. The auto-off device didnt kick in. Now only use parking feature for 3-5 hours parking. Overnight I think shd be ok but longer than that you take a risk. For the motion sensor, it depends on movement around the car and how sensitive you set it. Set too sensitve and almost as good as on the whole time. Must trial and error but couldnt be bothered la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Author Share October 17, 2013 My batt went dead after 3 days parking. The auto-off device didnt kick in. Now only use parking feature for 3-5 hours parking. Overnight I think shd be ok but longer than that you take a risk. For the motion sensor, it depends on movement around the car and how sensitive you set it. Set too sensitve and almost as good as on the whole time. Must trial and error but couldnt be bothered la. you 3 days parking is full recording or motion sensor? I am talking about full recording with screen off. I do not have auto-off sensor... I heard from people in our car, already got things sucking battery when ignition off, eg, ERP unit, alarms (if any), keyless entry things (if any) etc.... so I just wondering car cam suck how much of our batt compared to such stuffs, which doesnt cause car batt to die? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopisiewtai 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 you 3 days parking is full recording or motion sensor? I am talking about full recording with screen off. I do not have auto-off sensor... I heard from people in our car, already got things sucking battery when ignition off, eg, ERP unit, alarms (if any), keyless entry things (if any) etc.... so I just wondering car cam suck how much of our batt compared to such stuffs, which doesnt cause car batt to die? Motion sensor recording but I think the place always got car moving around so recording most times. My cam got no screen. I think cam will suck more batt than other small devices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Hi, I just installed a car cam with concealed wires and switch. Just wondering if leaving the cam on but switching off the screen, how much power does it typically drain? I have left it on for like 3-5 hours and engine can start, but never truly overnight like 10 - 12 hours... dun dare to try leh... think its ok? does it depend on how new/old the batt is etc? i have the option of motion sensor... does it help? my thinking is that switching off the screen is saving more energy than motion sensor... Not adviceable for overnight parking, unless you have extra big capacity battery. Stock battery is not sized for this kind of long term discharge. You will most likely find yourself with a flat battery. Unless you have jump start cables and battery standby, you will find more trouble than it's worth. And don't trust those devices that promise to cut-off. It is often either not working, not working properly or cut-off too late. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Hi, I just installed a car cam with concealed wires and switch. Just wondering if leaving the cam on but switching off the screen, how much power does it typically drain? I have left it on for like 3-5 hours and engine can start, but never truly overnight like 10 - 12 hours... dun dare to try leh... think its ok? does it depend on how new/old the batt is etc? i have the option of motion sensor... does it help? my thinking is that switching off the screen is saving more energy than motion sensor... OT a bit What cam did u buy? Motion sensor is more for recording, for example my 32GB max 6 hr 1 loop. With motion detection it only record when things move to trigger it recording. that is what the shop told me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Every model got different feature Sleep model Auto sensor Auto Lo batt shut down... I think is because not enough batt to power it liao is it? Unless got the simi power magic... That said I on mine 24/7 But it will enter sleep mode when I stop the engine Good excuse to drive harder during the day to charge batt!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Author Share October 17, 2013 (edited) OT a bit What cam did u buy? Motion sensor is more for recording, for example my 32GB max 6 hr 1 loop. With motion detection it only record when things move to trigger it recording. that is what the shop told me i buy from qo100. both back and front less than $100. installation seperately $70 with switch. I have motion mode but lazy to switch mode everytime. Every model got different feature Sleep model Auto sensor Auto Lo batt shut down... I think is because not enough batt to power it liao is it? Unless got the simi power magic... That said I on mine 24/7 But it will enter sleep mode when I stop the engine Good excuse to drive harder during the day to charge batt!!! Mine never depend on cam internal batt, cuz I have a switch connected to the wiring. So if I park, and I dun switch off, the cam will keep sucking power from car batt even if I off ignition. sleep mode means what? like screen off but keep recording? this is what I am trying to find out. So i was thinking, whether full recording for lets say 10 hours will cause flat batt anot... small cam doest seem too energy hungry to me... compared to let's say forgot to off headlights for entire night. Edited October 17, 2013 by Simonsoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I_RIDE_DEEP 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 (edited) i buy from qo100. both back and front less than $100. installation seperately $70 with switch. I have motion mode but lazy to switch mode everytime. Please dont say you bought from Qoo10, a certain sponsor by the name of D**Xuite is going to come in and bash Qoo10 again. Edited October 17, 2013 by I_RIDE_DEEP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 21, 2013 Share October 21, 2013 Get a multimeter/ammeter/clamp meter and measure the current flow when your car cam is running at the car battery. Then use theoretical calculation, calculate how long ur car batt will last. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limck007 Neutral Newbie October 22, 2013 Share October 22, 2013 from my experience (driving nissan latio), if you car (stock car) never start for 5 days or more... it will be low batt and cannot start liao.> either jump start or change battery.. If you hook the camera without senor to the battery.. 4 days will be max.. i think on the 4th day, your battery will be on the verge of RIP liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 22, 2013 Share October 22, 2013 I can understand using video recorder for driving, but why need recording when it's parked? Not as if car scratcher will be apprehended even with proof. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jason69 Neutral Newbie October 22, 2013 Share October 22, 2013 (edited) I am wondering those who have install the cam, if happen you are the one in the wrong, will you submit your recording when requested? A friend of mine has been hit by a reverse car, when ask for the recording which happen the car have the cam installed, the driver refused. We have become selfish, only think of our ownself. Edited October 22, 2013 by Jason69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vitaminc1231 2nd Gear October 23, 2013 Share October 23, 2013 Not adviceable for overnight parking, unless you have extra big capacity battery. Stock battery is not sized for this kind of long term discharge. You will most likely find yourself with a flat battery. Unless you have jump start cables and battery standby, you will find more trouble than it's worth. And don't trust those devices that promise to cut-off. It is often either not working, not working properly or cut-off too late. I've been using mine for close to two months and I leave it on while parking overnight, touch wood but I have not encounter any battery problem so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holee 1st Gear October 23, 2013 Share October 23, 2013 I can understand using video recorder for driving, but why need recording when it's parked? Not as if car scratcher will be apprehended even with proof. Maybe you won't be able to catch car scratcher, but maybe able to catch cuckoo drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stdfrank 1st Gear October 23, 2013 Share October 23, 2013 I had my recorder on overnight for over one year no issue until two month ago. The engine failed to start one morning on my one year old amoron , called emergency service and wanted to change but the guy after test said no need to change as the battery after charging was still strong. A few weeks later, engine failed to start again. And again battery guy tested and said good. Ever since I off the recorder overnight and have no more problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...