Ruzmidah 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Cmon, America knows that no one will dare to challenge them. They can borrow money whenever they want as long as they are in the forefront of arms technology. No one dares to say NO to someone asking for money and holding a big gun =p All these HO-HA is just wayang and also, IMO, the Americans trying to test water. They want to see how the world (esp China) will react. Once China gets hold of bigger guns, then see lah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 17, 2013 Author Share October 17, 2013 I think USA is the only country that can live on by using one credit card to pay another card without the fear of not able to pay up. Very good way of putting things in perspective Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 (edited) how to? live in SG so expensive now. best to prepare them an exit plan. when this thing implodes, I think no country would be spared. On 2nd thoughts, maybe can exit to China, Dubai or Russia. One is the next superpower, the other two at least got oil money to sustain their economy. Edited October 17, 2013 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 (edited) Cmon, America knows that no one will dare to challenge them. They can borrow money whenever they want as long as they are in the forefront of arms technology. No one dares to say NO to someone asking for money and holding a big gun =p All these HO-HA is just wayang and also, IMO, the Americans trying to test water. They want to see how the world (esp China) will react. Once China gets hold of bigger guns, then see lah.... did US force others to lend them money? why others keep throwing money at US when they know that US just simply print their own money to return to them? Edited October 17, 2013 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 did US force others to lend them money? why others keep throwing money at US when they know that US just simply print their own money to return to them? This is called world economy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 May God Help Us !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruzmidah 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 did US force others to lend them money? why others keep throwing money at US when they know that US just simply print their own money to return to them? I ask myself the same question and the 2 possible reasons I can think off 1) greed of debtor nations 2) America's guns =p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 (edited) did US force others to lend them money? why others keep throwing money at US when they know that US just simply print their own money to return to them? Bopian, when someone owe the bank $100, the bank will make sure he pay... and sue till his pants drop if the fellow default.... but if the same person owe the bank 100b, then the bank will get a doctor to do medic checkup for him everyday for free. Hope he live longer till he pays up... Edited October 17, 2013 by Tigershark1976 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 (edited) moral of the story is ... when take loan ... don't take $10M or $100M take $1B or $10B ... bank scare you more than you scare bank TOO BIG TO FAIL ... who scare who? no wonder there is a very old saying ... "if i die, i will drag you underneath my body" Bopian, when someone owe the bank $100, the bank will make sure he pay... and sue till his pants drop if the fellow default.... but if the same person owe the bank 100b, then the bank will get a doctor to do medic checkup for him everyday for free. Hope he live longer till he pays up... Edited October 17, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 (edited) Chinese are not stupid also lah.. And definitely not subject to US threats.. it just a matter of how to place your chess pcs... They are now buying up US/EU and strengthening themselves. Just look at their military spending. I dun think it just for taking back taiwan alone... Give them a few years.. they will be able to protect their oversea purchase militarily. At the same time, they are beginning to trade using RMB with major trading countries with the trade pacts .It will take a long time for USD to lose its trading value.. but we are already beginning to see that. http://www.china.org.cn/english/BAT/117603.htm http://www.2point6billion.com/news/2011/10/25/china-asean-negotiating-trade-in-rmb-10341.html Like I say, China is like gambling den lord, they lend $$ to US.. and preparing the ground.. waiting for that 1 fine day..When they will ask the gamblers pays with his pants... Edited October 17, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 moral of the story is ... when take loan ... don't take $10M or $100M take $1B or $10B ... bank scare you more than you scare bank TOO BIG TO FAIL ... who scare who? no wonder there is a very old saying ... "if i die, i will drag you underneath my body" they will fail.. when china allow them to fail lor :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 17, 2013 Author Share October 17, 2013 I ask myself the same question and the 2 possible reasons I can think off 1) greed of debtor nations 2) America's guns =p US dollars is still the most common currency on planet earth and thus, it only makes sense for countries to buy US treasuries which is the safest. The problem with US is if they continue to borrow instead of solving the root problem of their debt, they may end up accumulating so much debt that paying interest will become a problem. On the other hand, they cannot raise taxes because that will reduce growth. I can't imagine what will happen in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 yes USD is common in terms of "recognition" but in terms of "favourable" it is going downhill as we speak i personally will not hold too much usd as the value goes down year-by-year i feel big fund and big corporation also cutting their exposure to usd. this means, sooner or later, no one favour usd because the more you hold the more value you lose US dollars is still the most common currency on planet earth and thus, it only makes sense for countries to buy US treasuries which is the safest. The problem with US is if they continue to borrow instead of solving the root problem of their debt, they may end up accumulating so much debt that paying interest will become a problem. On the other hand, they cannot raise taxes because that will reduce growth. I can't imagine what will happen in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 yes USD is common in terms of "recognition" but in terms of "favourable" it is going downhill as we speak i personally will not hold too much usd as the value goes down year-by-year i feel big fund and big corporation also cutting their exposure to usd. this means, sooner or later, no one favour usd because the more you hold the more value you lose yes .. http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424127887323623304579056704113253902 Since China made Hong Kong its first offshore trading center for its currency in 2009, competition has been fierce among global and regional financial hubs to be key yuan markets as Beijing tries to make the currency a serious rival to the dollar's supremacy in global trade. Singapore and London have emerged as the leading candidates, with Tokyo, Sydney, Luxembourg and Kuala Lumpur also vying for a spot. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...