D3badge 6th Gear October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 This is a sad day for Singapore! Our Singapore day event organiser dudnt handle well..... http://sg.news.yahoo.com/man-gets-turned-away-from-singapore-day-in-sydney-for-being-caucasian-152736128.html we cant really complain about PRC, INDIAN, PINOY etc, if we Singaporean turn Aussie away in their own country public park..... this action is kinda similar on Pinoy wanna "form their own sub-comittee"... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 (edited) I read about this and I find it weird. Such event is to make s'porean feel closer to home but an event to promote our country. Previous events in various cities have both s'porean and locals (bought along by s'porean). attending it. Guess to limit the number of people attending (s'porean and their guests) is also to make sure everyone there will get to taste some singapore food. Edited October 15, 2013 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 15, 2013 Author Share October 15, 2013 I read about this and I find it weird. Such event is to make s'porean feel closer to home but an event to promote our country. Previous events in various cities have both s'porean and locals attending it. Yes I remember the one in New York had American "caucasian" attending and prasie Singapore Day and Food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 In any case, event held in a public park does not always mean it cannot be 'private', just like concert held at fort canning....doesn't mean everyone can just walk into it without tickets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 15, 2013 Author Share October 15, 2013 In any case, event held in a public park does not always mean it cannot be 'private', just like concert held at fort canning....doesn't mean everyone can just walk into it without tickets. yes fort canning concerts are commercial, wherelses race, religions, nationality need to handle with care!! if the same thing happen in Singapore, Singaporean also sure KPKB. If we think it is ok, then we should complain less abt foreginers in singapore and embrace them more. thus I feel event organiser are less sensitive didnt handle the situation well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 I guess the update has clarified about why he was refused, so no issue, that guy probably think can go in for free food Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 yes fort canning concerts are commercial, wherelses race, religions, nationality need to handle with care!! if the same thing happen in Singapore, Singaporean also sure KPKB. If we think it is ok, then we should complain less abt foreginers in singapore and embrace them more. thus I feel event organiser are less sensitive didnt handle the situation well I was under the impression that Singaporeans won't even allow such sub-racial functions to be held anywhere in Singapore much less wanting to be invited to one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 I guess the update has clarified about why he was refused, so no issue, that guy probably think can go in for free food Yup..free loafter..have seen it in my days at downunder... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 The guy at the entrance didn't do his job well. Just have to say it is a ticketed event and need a ticket to get in. Instead, he might have said it's for Sporean only. The positioning is wrong. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 i'll be pissed off as well if there's a Pinoy Day held at our Botanic Gardens and I can't enter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 i'll be pissed off as well if there's a Pinoy Day held at our Botanic Gardens and I can't enter they rented the place and call it a private event, it has been done in many places in singapore by many nationality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 i'll be pissed off as well if there's a Pinoy Day held at our Botanic Gardens and I can't enter were u oso pissed off when they closed up our public roads for F1 n u din hv a ticket to enter? or pissed off when they close up the padang or floating platform for ND n u din hv a ticket to enter? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 this ang mo guy is the discriminating one. He was refused entry and he used "racist" as a reason for his problem. He's a gatecrasher. Obviously he never understand that it's a ticketed event, even though he read about this event online. I'm very sure, in the online page, it's already stated very clearly its a ticketed event. If he cannot or refuse to understand what is a "ticketed event", then he has a problem within himself. he thinks he can suka suka gatecrash into any event? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 this ang mo guy is the discriminating one. He was refused entry and he used "racist" as a reason for his problem. He's a gatecrasher. Obviously he never understand that it's a ticketed event, even though he read about this event online. I'm very sure, in the online page, it's already stated very clearly its a ticketed event. If he cannot or refuse to understand what is a "ticketed event", then he has a problem within himself. he thinks he can suka suka gatecrash into any event? now the park operator claim they will review the event in future just to pacify the public there, after collecting the rental Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 i'll be pissed off as well if there's a Pinoy Day held at our Botanic Gardens and I can't enter In this situation, you should be pissed with the management of the Botanic Gardens and not the group who rented it mah... And I don't think any private group can chop the whole public park such as botanic garden. At most, they can have a corner or something, big enough for their expected turn out. We see this very frequent everywhere. Companies book a corner for company events, private families book for engagement or birthday celebration etc As for the Sydney case, my opinion is that the ang mo wanted to gate crash and bluff eat bluff drink. And when not successful, turned it into a nationality, racist etc issue. This type of thing just issue an official statement and let the Australians judged for themselves. Even Singaporeans need to pre-registered to go to this event. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 this ang mo guy is the discriminating one. He was refused entry and he used "racist" as a reason for his problem. He's a gatecrasher. Obviously he never understand that it's a ticketed event, even though he read about this event online. I'm very sure, in the online page, it's already stated very clearly its a ticketed event. If he cannot or refuse to understand what is a "ticketed event", then he has a problem within himself. he thinks he can suka suka gatecrash into any event? Wonder if any one of us can juz suka suka juz gatecrash an Australia Day event organised by the Aust High Commission in s'pore n cry farder marder later becoz one was uninvited? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Wonder if any one of us can juz suka suka juz gatecrash an Australia Day event organised by the Aust High Commission in s'pore n cry farder marder later becoz one was uninvited? he thinks ang mo tua ki? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Yup..free loafter..have seen it in my days at downunder... i am afraid of some australian (white) telling people they have singaporean friends, ever had one who i get to know during school days and when i return, he came here for holiday, getting free loaf (lodging and makan) from 'friends' here, i regret introduce a friend in KL to him and he went there getting the same treatment from my poor friend who has to entertain him!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...