Davidklt 6th Gear October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 (edited) Made a trip to Seoul recently. Got a chance to sit in my friends' high end Kia and Hyundai. I can easily say their KDMs can give the Thai built Camrys a serious run for their money in terms of build quality and noise isolation. Edited October 15, 2013 by Davidtkl ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 K9 is really a beauty. The head lights is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vitaminc1231 2nd Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 K9 is really a beauty. The head lights is Agree, but I don't think we will see it on Singapore road. Currently they only making left hand drive model. Also, by the time they bring in and with the COE, people here will go buy conti already since (sadly) they don't think Kimchi car is worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Yeap. I wonder why KMC don't wanna bring in the Azera already. Korea makes the 2.4GDi 200bhp version what. Don't need to bring in the 3.0/ 3.3GDI versions. The next Sonata i45 is under testing now. Will be unveiled next year sometime in Q3. It's gonna lose the slopping roofline for more practical interior space, as well as its 'sporty' outlook. Will be a more toned down design. I hope Kia starts making RHD units of the K9. Available in 3.3, 3.8, 4.6 and 5.0 engine options. Not too bad! Amidst the sea of S-Class and 7-Series on our roads, this will make a unique proposition! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 But by the way Kia / Hyundai is catching on in SG, hope that there will be parallel sources just like Honda/Toyota. Of course with current coe pices, that would almost never materialize. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 KMC is in talks now with Hyundai Korea to bring in the RHD Genesis sedan. RHD production just started. KMC hopes that Hyundai can make a special Genesis Sedan 2.0T 270bhp for our market. Otherwise, the next available model would be the 3.3V6 290bhp version. In any case, the new Genesis sedan is out soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 But if they do bring the 2.0T, hope they make necess adj for our hot/humid climate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 let me start the ball.. I thought got sexy korean models.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Wah, that is looking really good... When I bought my KIA Forte 2009, my dad was like why buy korean? It is not as good as a Jap. Now my dad is, the korean have really good car design and build.. I hope the genesis reaches SG shores.. They are really super pretty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 in the past the 3.3V6 Azera was looked down as it only had 235hp. Now with 290hp should be competitive. Not as though I could afford 1 ne way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nonewposts 4th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Genesis meaning the sedan or coupe version? I don't think there is a market for the premium korean car in sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Genesis meaning the sedan or coupe version? I don't think there is a market for the premium korean car in sg Have! The general consensus is still why need to pay 3L road tax? So hopefully KMC can persuade Hyundai Korea to make RHD Genesis 2.0T sedan. That'll really help in sales here. But there are ardent fans of Hyundai's luxury sedans like the Azera (Good rival to the Lexus ES350 coming), and Genesis sedan (RWD sedan). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Sat in my associate's regular-spec K9 in korea. Was expecting it to be shiok, sekali the interior trim got same hard plastic feel as my previous K5 and pvc-feeling leather seats. Sibeh let down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Sat in my associate's regular-spec K9 in korea. Was expecting it to be shiok, sekali the interior trim got same hard plastic feel as my previous K5 and pvc-feeling leather seats. Sibeh let down. Please lah. Even BMW 7-Series and Mercedes S-Class have hard plastics on the centre console and lower door trims. What were you expecting? Full leather interior like Rolls Royce and Bentley??? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Please lah. Even BMW 7-Series and Mercedes S-Class have hard plastics on the centre console and lower door trims. What were you expecting? Full leather interior like Rolls Royce and Bentley??? I was expecting an interior a step up from the K5, considering the K9 is a higher level model. It was pretty much the same except of more interior space. I didn't mind the K5 interior so much (I was one of the first batch owners after all) as I knew we were getting base model here albeit with the sporty exterior package. But if they plan to challenge the contis with the K9...ummm nope, cannot make it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 With current crazy COE, they'll never bring these higher end Korean models in. 90K COE will cost much more than the car. Add 20K, you can get yourself a Beemer. It's a no brainer!!! The Kor or even the Jap ADs have not figured a way to convince S'porean buyers otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 I was expecting an interior a step up from the K5, considering the K9 is a higher level model. It was pretty much the same except of more interior space. I didn't mind the K5 interior so much (I was one of the first batch owners after all) as I knew we were getting base model here albeit with the sporty exterior package. But if they plan to challenge the contis with the K9...ummm nope, cannot make it. Haha. Tell that to a 7-Series/ S-Class driver lorh. If they didn't spec for leather stitched dashtop, exclusive nappa leather and leather stitched top doors, then the quality in these cars is pretty much the same as the 3-Series and C-Class also. But isn't it good that the mid-level lineup in Kia/ Hyundai are getting better made interiors that's almost as good as their top-of-the-line models? I'm impressed with the build quality of Kia K3 as well as Hyundai's i-models (meant for European markets). They will improve on the chassis, insulation and handling dynamics of the car with the next generation of models. They are afterall still working on a budget. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 Haha. Tell that to a 7-Series/ S-Class driver lorh. If they didn't spec for leather stitched dashtop, exclusive nappa leather and leather stitched top doors, then the quality in these cars is pretty much the same as the 3-Series and C-Class also. But isn't it good that the mid-level lineup in Kia/ Hyundai are getting better made interiors that's almost as good as their top-of-the-line models? I'm impressed with the build quality of Kia K3 as well as Hyundai's i-models (meant for European markets). They will improve on the chassis, insulation and handling dynamics of the car with the next generation of models. They are afterall still working on a budget. Haha I agree with what you have mentioned. It is really a step up on the quality build which you have seen in the premium makes... I have been watching car reviews online and they have also indicated that the current B&B cars have really good build comparable with their big brothers. But I do agree that some parts of the car still have hard plastics which is inevitable as budget still plays a big part on how interiors will be built. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...