Alfa 159 Part VIII (Any Alfa discussion also welcomed)

Gorjiam

Crank

Anyone experience the following symptoms when starting up the car

1st try - tick (no crank/turnover just a tick)

2nd try - then engine fires up

It seems to be happening more frequent each week that I cannot fire up the car after 1st button push.

A sign to come that something is failing?

**Battery is <6mths old**

Did you change the petrol brand recently? It happened to me when I used SPC once due to location then go away when I'm back on Esso.

Hmmm...come think of it....I switch to Shell VPower (3-4wks) ago but no such issue during the period, now back using ESSO. Symptoms started last week and is increasing in frequency.

Maybe starter motor...

Suspecting that also ..... will have it check out. Chris you replaced starter motor before? any idea on the $$

Edited by Sunburnsam

Hmmm...come think of it....I switch to Shell VPower (3-4wks) ago but no such issue during the period, now back using ESSO. Symptoms started last week and is increasing in frequency.

Suspecting that also ..... will have it check out. Chris you replaced starter motor before? any idea on the $$

I replaced... New.. At AS and cost me almost 600.

Then I found out I can recon and it's as good as new for much much lesser. Go to dexter and he'll settle for you.

I replaced... New.. At AS and cost me almost 600.

Then I found out I can recon and it's as good as new for much much lesser. Go to dexter and he'll settle for you.

Roger on the re-con....saw some on ebay <$250.

tx mate

Starter motor, if u suspect it's dying, better change first. When it's dead, all you could do is call tow truck and let whichever workshop earn lor. I had no choice then as I didn't know recon was an option.

HI Guys,

I am looking for Alfa Romeo 159 Good condition Stock suspension with original springs. Please do pm/msg me @ 9092 2330 to deal.

Thanks [laugh]

Hi

Going to deregister my 156 in Mar 16 and selling off my car plate nos SDX869L for $1500 neg excluding LTA transfer fees. Message me if anyone is keen.

Thanks

Starter motor, if u suspect it's dying, better change first. When it's dead, all you could do is call tow truck and let whichever workshop earn lor. I had no choice then as I didn't know recon was an option.

Agree....if not another $120 towing fee...... !@#$%

But is the Starter Motor also a common "W&T" item in  our 159?

Edited by Sunburnsam

Depends on how it died too bro

If is leak from above (some hose/ reservoir) cannot be salvaged also

And recon is also like a ticking time bomb eh

Unless we know end of life liao

Depends on how it died too bro

If is leak from above (some hose/ reservoir) cannot be salvaged also

And recon is also like a ticking time bomb eh

Unless we know end of life liao

The way I know the recon is done for the starter motor is basically changing all the parts inside to new ones already.

Oh and don't forget.. One new starter motor can maybe allow 3 Recons.

If u ask me, I like that kind of odds.

Agree....if not another $120 towing fee...... !@#$%

But is the Starter Motor also a common "W&T" item in  our 159?

Did you join AA Singapore? I already made back my membership fees in tows for the past 2 years [laugh]

Less than 2 months into ownership and I've already had a potentially major failure.

About 2weeks back the engine temp suddenly went surging up! Coolant was full! Fan not running.

Managed to nurse it to Sin Ming without really going into red. Good thing was raining.

First time going to any Alfa workshop so decided to give AC a go. Mech did a bit of testing and said fan kaput.

No choice must change. So I left the car there. Told them do oil service at same time. Their advice, must use their special 10w-60 oil.

came back next morning and boss told me good news, fan not kaput, something to do with it getting jammed only. Save me few hundred, labor cost $120 to rectify. Thought to myself then, ok, a bit steep but at least didn't make me change fan so save a bit of $, win - win.

Mech fixed it and went out for 15min test drive. Came back said Aircon wanna die liao, but car good to go. Thought to myself, aircon was ok b4, but never mind, lets see how later. Asked the mech are there any other issues I should take note of, but he basically ignored me.   So i paid up and left.

Drove off and shortly, the temp started creeping up!!! But strangely, it drops at traffic lights and shoots up when moving. Pulled up at car park to investigate, fan was blowing out the front!!!! No wonder no cooling when moving and no wonder aircon not good!! I went for a kopi, came back, swapped the wires polarity (the fan wire was cut and re-terminated, saw the mech connecting the wires and wrapping the connection with electrical tape), and viola!! Its all running well again.

I've just read online that 1.8ts should be using xW-40 oil!!  The 'special' oil turned out to be Castrol magnatec - decent oil but is it too thick?

Long story short, I'M NOT IMPRESSED WITH AC. 

Welcome CrazyBugger.

You recently took over the 99/100 COE GT?

its a good car, generally well maintained.

Check with the previous owner what oils he used before without issues. W60 is a bit on the heavy side, usually left for the 3.2s

a W40 or W50 should be more than enough.

Did my servicing yday. Apart from usual 90k servicing package, i decided to change out the aux belt and power steering belt.

Then came more bad news.

CV boot cover is torn.. need to replace soon. Leak at the oil pressure sensor area (got it replace), engine gasket leaking oil. Didn't fix yet as its quite expensive... decided to scout around for quotes 1st.

I hope no more big ticket items to replace as wife is getting frustrated at the rate $ is flying out of my pocket for this bella.

Did my servicing yday. Apart from usual 90k servicing package, i decided to change out the aux belt and power steering belt.

Then came more bad news.

CV boot cover is torn.. need to replace soon. Leak at the oil pressure sensor area (got it replace), engine gasket leaking oil. Didn't fix yet as its quite expensive... decided to scout around for quotes 1st.

I hope no more big ticket items to replace as wife is getting frustrated at the rate $ is flying out of my pocket for this bella.

Tell her it's an hobby which happens to be a form of transport.

Better than spending it at ktv.

My car left me 2 weeks plus already.. So until now I have been using public transport and bicycle and taxi and walk...

Actually I realize I don't need a car.