Theredstar 2nd Gear March 16, 2016 Share March 16, 2016 i am toying with the idea of changing out at half time i.e. 5yrs arbitrary of course but if any later, means cannot maximise the enjoyment of the new components any earlier means maybe tail end of bella's life may be problematic? but of course can try 1/3 life and do twice during her lifetime i think is not likely to dun do it at all during the 10 yrs of ownership tho Guys. Need some advice. Bases on your experience, when should I overhaul the selesspeed GB? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged March 16, 2016 Share March 16, 2016 i am toying with the idea of changing out at half time i.e. 5yrs arbitrary of course but if any later, means cannot maximise the enjoyment of the new components any earlier means maybe tail end of bella's life may be problematic? but of course can try 1/3 life and do twice during her lifetime i think is not likely to dun do it at all during the 10 yrs of ownership tho I did mine at 6yrs. If you start having funny gear issues occasionally, it's a sign. See how long u can tahan after that before it becomes crippling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear March 16, 2016 Share March 16, 2016 i prolly can drag to 6 also considering pump was changed under warranty in yr 2 and recently just serviced the actuator just pray the accumulator holds up!!! I did mine at 6yrs. If you start having funny gear issues occasionally, it's a sign. See how long u can tahan after that before it becomes crippling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiex 2nd Gear March 17, 2016 Share March 17, 2016 i prolly can drag to 6 also considering pump was changed under warranty in yr 2 and recently just serviced the actuator just pray the accumulator holds up!!! what kind of servicing is needed for actuator? Mine is coming up to 6yrs and almost going to hit 100k km... maybe its time to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wicked1 Neutral Newbie March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 Fellow alfisti, recently ran into a few problems on my alfa 159 2.2 JTS Selespeed, just bought not long ago & new to alfa. Appreciate your advice & inputs on what problems & which parts to replaced. 1) Engine start only on 2nd ignition - happens all the time if car is left for 8 hours after turning off. Recently replace worn spark plug 2) Engine warning lights - Came on when pump SPC LEVO 98 but not on SPC LEVO 95 3) Unstable RPM especially at low RPM or idling - Can heard exhaust misfiring ("pop x 2" sound) & strong smell of petrol or incomplete combustion 4) Knocking sound at the front when turning at carpark speed 5) Check Gear Box warning lights - came on 1/3 of the times after start engine & unable to change gear. Only resolve after off & start engine again. Recently replace accumulator Really enjoyed the ride and would love to get its italian muscle back! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gkhb1010 1st Gear March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 1) if battery 1yr plus check n kiv change 5) put key in n wait awhile about 5-10 sec before changing gear to N n start Works for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfalution Neutral Newbie March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 Fellow alfisti, recently ran into a few problems on my alfa 159 2.2 JTS Selespeed, just bought not long ago & new to alfa. Appreciate your advice & inputs on what problems & which parts to replaced. 1) Engine start only on 2nd ignition - happens all the time if car is left for 8 hours after turning off. Recently replace worn spark plug 2) Engine warning lights - Came on when pump SPC LEVO 98 but not on SPC LEVO 95 3) Unstable RPM especially at low RPM or idling - Can heard exhaust misfiring ("pop x 2" sound) & strong smell of petrol or incomplete combustion 4) Knocking sound at the front when turning at carpark speed 5) Check Gear Box warning lights - came on 1/3 of the times after start engine & unable to change gear. Only resolve after off & start engine again. Recently replace accumulator Really enjoyed the ride and would love to get its italian muscle back! 3) fuel pump leaking causing strong fuel smell at the back wheel. Unstable or high idle could be torn hose underneath the intake manifold or the rubber below the cap at the intake manifold torn. 4) knocking sound most prob is your axle boot seal torn causing the lubrication to leak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiex 2nd Gear March 27, 2016 Share March 27, 2016 Fellow alfisti, recently ran into a few problems on my alfa 159 2.2 JTS Selespeed, just bought not long ago & new to alfa. Appreciate your advice & inputs on what problems & which parts to replaced. 1) Engine start only on 2nd ignition - happens all the time if car is left for 8 hours after turning off. Recently replace worn spark plug 2) Engine warning lights - Came on when pump SPC LEVO 98 but not on SPC LEVO 95 3) Unstable RPM especially at low RPM or idling - Can heard exhaust misfiring ("pop x 2" sound) & strong smell of petrol or incomplete combustion 4) Knocking sound at the front when turning at carpark speed 5) Check Gear Box warning lights - came on 1/3 of the times after start engine & unable to change gear. Only resolve after off & start engine again. Recently replace accumulator Really enjoyed the ride and would love to get its italian muscle back! 1) I got this for some time. What i did was find a empty stretch of road to rev and clear carbon. Works for me so far 2) same case. Peter says its lamba. i didnt replace and now its part my of dashboard lighting 4) get ur arb endlinks or bushing check Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 what kind of servicing is needed for actuator? Mine is coming up to 6yrs and almost going to hit 100k km... maybe its time to do it. Usually will be wear and tear on some oil seal. That one can be changed. I serviced mine recently when it started behaving like an auto- creeps forward when i let go of accelerator. and saw a lot of gunk stuck there that said, it's starting to creep a little of late again but at least i cleaned up all that gunk ba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 (edited) Usually will be wear and tear on some oil seal. That one can be changed. I serviced mine recently when it started behaving like an auto- creeps forward when i let go of accelerator. and saw a lot of gunk stuck there that said, it's starting to creep a little of late again but at least i cleaned up all that gunk ba Last time I had that, clutch had to be replaced in no time. Clutch replacement, 2k. Edited March 28, 2016 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Last time I had that, clutch had to be replaced in no time. Clutch replacement, 2k. Choi!!I just changed not long ago leh. Lol I think clutch up lorry due to this error ba. Drop GB is expensive job man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Choi!! I just changed not long ago leh. Lol I think clutch up lorry due to this error ba. Drop GB is expensive job man i pray for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfalution Neutral Newbie March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Usually will be wear and tear on some oil seal. That one can be changed. I serviced mine recently when it started behaving like an auto- creeps forward when i let go of accelerator. and saw a lot of gunk stuck there that said, it's starting to creep a little of late again but at least i cleaned up all that gunk ba Bro the servicing can be done where and how much? Mine got a little sign already just hope service will do the job coz actuator change is ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hpy090909 2nd Gear April 12, 2016 Share April 12, 2016 just to check if this car belongs to anyone ? thinking of buying this car , any recommended Wkshop that i can send to to check if the condition is ok to buy ? http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=543349&DL=2262 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hpy090909 2nd Gear April 12, 2016 Share April 12, 2016 thinking of buying this car http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=543349&DL=2262 just checking if it belongs to anyone here previously, also , is there a reliable workshop i can send to for evaluation of this car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koh_HL 2nd Gear April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 Alfa's first SUV? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 (edited) Alfa's first SUV? Edited April 13, 2016 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crossback Clutched April 13, 2016 Share April 13, 2016 Alfa's first SUV? Y so sad? U can always change again lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...