Alheych 6th Gear October 11, 2013 Share October 11, 2013 (edited) perhaps adding a gantry but not switching on will scare you into driving faster and then the LTA would have achieved the target speed they set for that road. Edited October 11, 2013 by Alheych ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 just increase ERP to at least $10, on it 24hrs and see how many will want to drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) just read ST today ... Bukit Timah congestion sibei jialat ... why pay million dollars for condo in Bkt Timah for its prestige name and location and yet kena jam jialat jialat Edited October 12, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 (edited) Ask them to walk the talk and take public transport everyday so that ppl got nothing to complain about. I bet the group of fools that keep harping about getting ppl to take public transport on TV are all driving. They have a car, their spouse have one. Everybody have one. They are professionals, they need to travel around. Edited October 12, 2013 by Ngck 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 I was surprised that Depot is one of the roads mentioned........I worked at that area many years ago for more than a decade but don't much traffic........must be those army trucks ferrying new recruits from CMPB......should ask MINDEF to pay ERP liao..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 I will also worry about such breakdowns and the delays they can cause :-( Wonder how drivers in places which have been using these parking systems for more than 20yrs ++ cope? St Japan, Taiwan etc Over there prob the tech on standby n if any problems, ty immediately wil solve the problem. Here probably we hv to call a number n the tech wil take a long time to come. In the mean time everybody hv to wait there n suck thumb. first they increase the flood gates for over millions of foreigners and then they are inadept at improving and widening the roads. now they want to penalize the drivers by erecting ERPs all around.. and they want the drivers to give up and take public transport?look at those trains and buses that break down like nobody business and sardine packed to the max where one have to wait for 2 or more trains to pass by before he can hop onto 1. this is absurd,please do the right thing in the next G Erection. Our gharmen very smart. Ty wil cause the problem then blame the pple n use that as an excuse to increase costs for us n increase revenue fr them. Kills many birds with one stone. Looking at the breakdown rate of the passenger lift in the new HDB flats... they better have at least 2 or 3 car lift to fetch the cars.... I heard that many new HDB flats using China Made lifts. Maybe that explains the high breakdown rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 I heard that many new HDB flats using China Made lifts. Maybe that explains the high breakdown rate. Even "upgraded" lifts are chinese made. The old reliables are torn down and replaced by cheapo chinese lifts with flashy LEDs, voice... I know someone who works in a company that responds to lift breakdown. Don't have to tell you what's their comment...but they are more busy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Even "upgraded" lifts are chinese made. The old reliables are torn down and replaced by cheapo chinese lifts with flashy LEDs, voice... I know someone who works in a company that responds to lift breakdown. Don't have to tell you what's their comment...but they are more busy.. OMG!!!! Now I waiting to read in newspapers....HDB lift plunge 16 floors. 5 pple inside killed immediately. HDB doing a through investigation on reason for lift failure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 i think you missed the point govt is moving towards SKY HIGH cost of ownership and SIBEI HIGH cost of car usage there is only high + high in the dictionary ... what's wrong with collecting more money? Absolutely nothing wrong. But something is wrong when the roads are as congested as before. In essence, ERP and COE does nothing but increase the revenue collection (but not making marnie) for the gahment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 Absolutely nothing wrong. But something is wrong when the roads are as congested as before. In essence, ERP and COE does nothing but increase the revenue collection (but not making marnie) for the gahment. COE is simply a cap, a quota. It is then allocated based on willingness to pay. ERP is a usage charge. It has modified behavior with certain stretches increasing in avg speeds. OMG!!!! Now I waiting to read in newspapers....HDB lift plunge 16 floors. 5 pple inside killed immediately. HDB doing a through investigation on reason for lift failure. More info please. Have not found it online yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 12, 2013 Share October 12, 2013 COE is simply a cap, a quota. It is then allocated based on willingness to pay. ERP is a usage charge. It has modified behavior with certain stretches increasing in avg speeds. More info please. Have not found it online yet. I pray hard I do not see this in the papers one day cos it wil b very sad just cos some smart alek wan to sane money n buy China lift n end up pple died. Now u see MRT also so many breakdowns. I suspect its cos ty using many China made parts. Last time never have all these issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JustGoodTrades 4th Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 Now u see MRT also so many breakdowns. I suspect its cos ty using many China made parts. Last time never have all these issues. Bro, you long time never take train? Nowadays the new trains are Made-in-China, not China parts only. Next time you walk to the end of the trains ( I forgot it's the first or last cabin), the "brand" is displayed there. Some Chinese name, I forgot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 (edited) Bro, you long time never take train? Nowadays the new trains are Made-in-China, not China parts only. Next time you walk to the end of the trains ( I forgot it's the first or last cabin), the "brand" is displayed there. Some Chinese name, I forgot. Everyone knows china parts are cheap. They are cheap bcuz they cut cost down to the last mm. So usually these parts have no "room" for error. They also don't last long and if you "abuse" it a little, it breaks down. Last time, I ever bought some radio cords at Sim Lim. The better one costs $3, the china ones cost $1 I had no choice bcuz the better one were sold out, so I bought the china ones. It was then given to a customer. For some reason, it travelled into a data centre and one day a guy pull on the wire cord, it snap, short circuit and trip a whole rack. The reason the china ones are cheap bcuz it has little and very thin wires, enough to work, but they break easily and short circuit. Cheap and good ? It's hard to find such. Edited October 13, 2013 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 Everyone knows china parts are cheap. They are cheap bcuz they cut cost down to the last mm. So usually these parts have no "room" for error. They also don't last long and if you "abuse" it a little, it breaks down. Last time, I ever bought some radio cords at Sim Lim. The better one costs $3, the china ones cost $1 I had no choice bcuz the better one were sold out, so I bought the china ones. It was then given to a customer. For some reason, it travelled into a data centre and one day a guy pull on the wire cord, it snap, short circuit and trip a whole rack. The reason the china ones are cheap bcuz it has little and very thin wires, enough to work, but they break easily and short circuit. Cheap and good ? It's hard to find such. The iPhone which I bought is also made in China. It depends on the factory, the company making them. I currently also use a China-made phone and it is beautiful and is working flawlessly. cheap stuffs can be problematic but there are real gems - you just have to find them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldranger Neutral Newbie October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 i think this ERP system on the initial phase was important to divert traffic out from congested highway/roadway. However by implementing in along all highway in the long run. It would serve no purpose. It loses it initial motive as traffic volume is the same. If all route to get to work or back home has to go through ERP then the original problem probably will arise again. I believe highway is to facilitate faster traffic movement. You would not want everyone to take minor roads to avoid the ERP and eventually jam/choke up all the minor roads along singapore. Unless now it become as an idea of money collection instead of traffic diversion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 OMG!!!! Now I waiting to read in newspapers....HDB lift plunge 16 floors. 5 pple inside killed immediately. HDB doing a through investigation on reason for lift failure. Then the China lift boss will tell us 'our lifts not only meet all safety standards, but also double as thrill-rides, that's why they drop very fast to provide thrills FOC!!' I pray hard I do not see this in the papers one day cos it wil b very sad just cos some smart alek wan to sane money n buy China lift n end up pple died. Now u see MRT also so many breakdowns. I suspect its cos ty using many China made parts. Last time never have all these issues. One day train drivers will be Mic also.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 Absolutely nothing wrong. But something is wrong when the roads are as congested as before. In essence, ERP and COE does nothing but increase the revenue collection (but not making marnie) for the gahment. As the saying goes 'We can't handle the TRUTH' -- where does part of the money to buy F15s, F16s, and other expensive weapons come from to make our neighbours think twice before trying to shoot us dead n walk over our bodies? We are very likely to have the world's highest numbers of advanced fighter bomber jets per square miles of land as a country!!!! The TRUTH of the matter -->> revenues collections from COE, ARF, ERP etc have very little to do with reducing road congestions but everything to do with expanding SAF's arsenals!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear October 13, 2013 Share October 13, 2013 Why still waste money building gantries when they are already talking about GPS deduction system (pay as you drive scheme)? so that they can leave the gantries on the whole day? *beep**beep**beep**beep**beep**beep* gps deduction needs to overcome gps signal lose in high rise area, but gantry no such worries. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...