Lala81 Hypersonic October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 frankly, i think it's much ado about nothing. I mean people throwing their notes into waste paper bins after exams is no different. I also throw stuff after exams, just that i select which to throw and which to keep. Notes i sayang so i don't want to throw. Our HDB so big to keep the accumulated junk from 20 yrs ago meh ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Simply because - what we learned at school - Swastica = Nazi Germany (we did learn that the Nazi party "stole" it from Buddhism) - you don't tend to appreciate other meanings and interpretations until you live them. Got different... Nazi Swastica is tippy toe... can fall any time. Buddhism Swastica stands on flat ground. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 The western started really late for book burning. China already did that in the BC era Liao. He burned bamboo... ..actually after a few thousands years... some scholars actually approved the mass book burning by the emperor. Because there were too many books that corrupt people's mind. He kept books on agriculture, medicine, law, industrial etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 He burned bamboo... ..actually after a few thousands years... some scholars actually approved the mass book burning by the emperor. Because there were too many books that corrupt people's mind. He kept books on agriculture, medicine, law, industrial etc. But its hard to justify that he burn one all porno mah. As in how they know the books he burn are rubbish?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 frankly, i think it's much ado about nothing. I mean people throwing their notes into waste paper bins after exams is no different. I also throw stuff after exams, just that i select which to throw and which to keep. Notes i sayang so i don't want to throw. Our HDB so big to keep the accumulated junk from 20 yrs ago meh ... Can don't burn mah.... You heard of recycling bins? Do our bit for the environment lah. Why Singaporeans still so Third World one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Got different... Nazi Swastica is tippy toe... can fall any time. Buddhism Swastica stands on flat ground. yes and it is also flipped around. I think History channel did have a program or many programs on this. anyway symbology is a powerful means of visual communication and can represent cultural and religious connotations that do not cross cultures well. we are all aware of this one way or another.. like the red cross or red crescent. or the dome shapes of mosques is because the early mosques used the greek meeting domed buildings of the city. symbols fo greek democracy. i just feel that sometimes people get carried away without thinking how they historically misappropriated the symbols from other cultures and claim it as their own and misguidedly defend it as exclusive to their heritage and forbid its use by other cultures. hilarious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 But its hard to justify that he burn one all porno mah. As in how they know the books he burn are rubbish?? At first, the scholars claimed he burned good books.... because he killed a lot of scholars. but later.. some scholars in more recent years studied further why he kill and burn books.. and they concluded that he might have burned and killed the "rubbish". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Darryn... amazing! You've just proven Godwin's Law!! That is: "As an online discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Nazis or Hitler approaches 1." I'm mightily impressed! In the 5 years or so I've been here - this is the first mention of Godwins Law I've ever seen (and yes - I knew what it was) ... Before you know it, we'll even have a mention of Gaudere’s Law Edited October 8, 2013 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 At first, the scholars claimed he burned good books.... because he killed a lot of scholars. but later.. some scholars in more recent years studied further why he kill and burn books.. and they concluded that he might have burned and killed the "rubbish". I kind of like this ideal. Make him sound like a good but extreme guy. But one problem is its so long ago, very hard to justify which is correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Darryn... amazing! You've just proven Godwin's Law!! That is: "As an online discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Nazis or Hitler approaches 1." Also - just to be clear, I'm not comparing it to Nazi Germany. I don't see anything wrong with it, except that its a bit wasteful and something of a shame to spoil text books that could maybe be reused for the less fortunate. Certainly no worse than simply tossing the books in a bin. Simply wanted to point out that ceremonial book burning does have some implications and associations beyond "yay - exams are over" Edited October 8, 2013 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slyison 4th Gear October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 There are poor folks out there who got no extra cash to buy textbook and yet this bunch of people suka suka burn their textbook.... Sigh! Donate them lah...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alf08 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 They should have sell the books to the garang guni, take the money, buy 4D buy big sweep, buy toto...huat ah...:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 every year the text book edition changes. the dam teachers will tell you to go buy the new edition when they see you carry the old edition. and the stupid thing is the new edition may only have some extra passage or different questions from the previous edition. secondhand textbooks become useless just like that? unbelievable. u think the teacher wants to change the syllabus mei? they oso lan lan. must go for this and that. somemore if sec 5 using old one and sec 4 use new ones. Test/exam paper also must be different. Extra setting of paper throughout the year! sibei mafan! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 The PSLE results are not out yet. They burnt the textbooks too early. They better pray that they are able to clear the exams and not having to repeat their primary 6. Otherwise, they have to beg for the notes and books in January 2014. frankly, i think it's much ado about nothing. I mean people throwing their notes into waste paper bins after exams is no different. I also throw stuff after exams, just that i select which to throw and which to keep. Notes i sayang so i don't want to throw. Our HDB so big to keep the accumulated junk from 20 yrs ago meh ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 I burnt karma sutra .... Drank the water with the ashes ... knn no diff in bed performance!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Before you know it, we'll even have a mention of Gaudere’s Law You didn't put a fullstop at the end of that sentence (And that was intentional) ^^ (And so was that). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Didn't know that the one who organised this was a DJ until I read in ST this morning ...... DJ should know better than contributing/adding haze to the sky... :angry: :angry: Edited October 8, 2013 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 9, 2013 Share October 9, 2013 Didn't know that the one who organised this was a DJ until I read in ST this morning ...... DJ should know better than contributing/adding haze to the sky... :angry: :angry: He's Canadian (I think) - what do you expect? BTW - Is anyone else listening to Kiss92? I am still boycotting Hot 91 after they fired Rod ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...