Jman888 Moderator October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Coles right? We are arriving on a saturday so will go stock up on breakfast stuff first... The carpark there is underground? the apartment car park is quite small, just a few lots in front of the main lobby (quite tight for your 8 seaters, so be really careful), car park without security one but still 'enclose' within the apartment, there is a huge public parking lot in front of the apartment (actually there is whole stretch of apartments along the beach). if you arrive on Saturday morning, go straight to Frementle market before check in (but call the apartment to tell them as i think they work half day on saturday) and do the grocery shopping there which is cheaper and more variety than the supermarket. yup, the reception at the apartment is not 24/7, they dun work at night! Edited October 8, 2013 by Jman888 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Coles right? We are arriving on a saturday so will go stock up on breakfast stuff first... The carpark there is underground? Oh! Bring instant coffee/tea etc... can cross custom for sure. Save on buying drinks there (ard 2~4Aud) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 8, 2013 Author Share October 8, 2013 (edited) the apartment car park is quite small, just a few lots in front of the main lobby (quite tight for your 8 seaters, so be really careful), car park without security one but still 'enclose' within the apartment, there is a huge public parking lot in front of the apartment (actually there is whole stretch of apartments along the beach). if you arrive on Saturday morning, go straight to Frementle market before check in (but call the apartment to tell them as i think they work half day on saturday) and do the grocery shopping there which is cheaper and more variety than the supermarket. yup, the reception at the apartment is not 24/7, they dun work at night! Was planning to go Fremantle but perhaps its better to go before we check in... Hopefully can check in early so that we don't have to go with our luggage... Looks like the Toyota Commuter is not available to us... Oh! Bring instant coffee/tea etc... can cross custom for sure. Save on buying drinks there (ard 2~4Aud) Oh yea speaking about this... Can bring milk powder (sealed) there? Edited October 8, 2013 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Was planning to go Fremantle but perhaps its better to go before we check in... Hopefully can check in early so that we don't have to go with our luggage... Looks like the Toyota Commuter is not available to us... Oh yea speaking about this... Can bring milk powder (sealed) there? Fremantle opens 9ish on Sat.. can always go cicirello for fish and chips first.. fremantle market open slightly later By right.. self sealed no.. Factory sealed ok. By left... dont get caught, dont be unlucky, But the customs quite friendly imo.. and MUST declare you brought milk powder for consumption.. Get checked no excuse liao.. Coz no dairy products--- got special mention need to declare Edited October 8, 2013 by SuPerBoRed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Was planning to go Fremantle but perhaps its better to go before we check in... Hopefully can check in early so that we don't have to go with our luggage... Looks like the Toyota Commuter is not available to us... Oh yea speaking about this... Can bring milk powder (sealed) there? alternatively, call them to check if you can drop your luggage at the store and proceed to frementle, you can spend whole day there till evening and come back to cook for dinner. whatever dairy products must declare, whether get pass or not will depends.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 8, 2013 Author Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Fremantle opens 9ish on Sat.. can always go cicirello for fish and chips first.. fremantle market open slightly later By right.. self sealed no.. Factory sealed ok. By left... dont get caught, dont be unlucky, But the customs quite friendly imo.. and MUST declare you brought milk powder for consumption.. Get checked no excuse liao.. Coz no dairy products--- got special mention need to declare The last 2 times I was in Australia sure open up and check... So to declare the factory sealed goo nee hoon... The instant kopi and tea must also declare? alternatively, call them to check if you can drop your luggage at the store and proceed to frementle, you can spend whole day there till evening and come back to cook for dinner. whatever dairy products must declare, whether get pass or not will depends.... Actually what did you cook for your meals? Breakfast standard got eggs, bread with some spread...etc... What about dinner? Pasta seems to be easiest... What else? Will definately do that... When I was in Sydney for my honeymoon, 1 auntie never declare her hay bee hiam and was holding up the line... The customs officer told her straight "Mdm if you don't throw this away, I will have you arrested and sent back to Singapore!" when she refused to throw the home made snack away which was meant for her son... Lots of effort and time was taken to make the hay bee hiam... She was in tears when she threw it away... Sad... Edited October 8, 2013 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevle 5th Gear October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Was planning to go Fremantle but perhaps its better to go before we check in... Hopefully can check in early so that we don't have to go with our luggage... Looks like the Toyota Commuter is not available to us... Oh yea speaking about this... Can bring milk powder (sealed) there? Usually things that are vacuum packed is OK. but there could be certain overly jealoused custom officer who will stop and check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 8, 2013 Author Share October 8, 2013 Usually things that are vacuum packed is OK. but there could be certain overly jealoused custom officer who will stop and check. Huh so heng sway situation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 The last 2 times I was in Australia sure open up and check... So to declare the factory sealed goo nee hoon... The instant kopi and tea must also declare? Actually what did you cook for your meals? Breakfast standard got eggs, bread with some spread...etc... What about dinner? Pasta seems to be easiest... What else? Will definately do that... When I was in Sydney for my honeymoon, 1 auntie never declare her hay bee hiam and was holding up the line... The customs officer told her straight "Mdm if you don't throw this away, I will have you arrested and sent back to Singapore!" when she refused to throw the home made snack away which was meant for her son... Lots of effort and time was taken to make the hay bee hiam... She was in tears when she threw it away... Sad... I declared my coffee/tea.. he said its ok FYI You can buy rice over there.. simple fried rice easy to make also.. You will be able to find fresh vegetables and meats there.. so decide and change as you deem fit.. We did steak, lamp chop, fried rice, pasta etc over there and soup also... definitely cheaper than eating out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 (edited) Actually what did you cook for your meals? Breakfast standard got eggs, bread with some spread...etc... What about dinner? Pasta seems to be easiest... What else? Will definately do that... When I was in Sydney for my honeymoon, 1 auntie never declare her hay bee hiam and was holding up the line... The customs officer told her straight "Mdm if you don't throw this away, I will have you arrested and sent back to Singapore!" when she refused to throw the home made snack away which was meant for her son... Lots of effort and time was taken to make the hay bee hiam... She was in tears when she threw it away... Sad... go to the market and find lots of fruits and fresh veg, eggs, ham/bacon, sausages for breakfast (i know some say not healthy!).... to save a few cents you wait till 6pm and go Coles to pick up the end of day meat and bread at a discounted price yah meat ball pasta for dinner, pen fried meat with veg with rice if the old folk prefers. BUT out of the 4 night, at least take them out for dinner at chinatown area for some chinese food if they prefer. At the custom just declare everything, no need to hide, we brought 3-in-1 milo, they refuse but manage to convince them to let them thru' Edited October 8, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 8, 2013 Author Share October 8, 2013 I declared my coffee/tea.. he said its ok FYI You can buy rice over there.. simple fried rice easy to make also.. You will be able to find fresh vegetables and meats there.. so decide and change as you deem fit.. We did steak, lamp chop, fried rice, pasta etc over there and soup also... definitely cheaper than eating out Sigh now pressure liao... go to the market and find lots of fruits and fresh veg, eggs, ham/bacon, sausages for breakfast (i know some say not healthy!).... to save a few cents you wait till 6pm and go Coles to pick up the end of day meat and bread at a discounted price yah meat ball pasta for dinner, pen fried meat with veg with rice if the old folk prefers. BUT out of the 4 night, at least take them out for dinner at chinatown area for some chinese food if they prefer. At the custom just declare everything, no need to hide, we brought 3-in-1 milo, they refuse but manage to convince them to let them thru' Yah for breakfast sure eat before we head out... For dinner have to see how liao... My cooking skills are limited... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Sigh now pressure liao... Yah for breakfast sure eat before we head out... For dinner have to see how liao... My cooking skills are limited... Eh... both me and wife don't cook... mum and mil fed us all.. But i was there for 7 nites ah.. The chinese restaurants in chinatown abt 120~150. Ooo... MUST go Jamie's Italian for lunch tho.. abt 180... The turkey was surprisingly good.. must try the mushroom thingy also If you are going swan valley... my personal opinion is that winery restaurants are too expensive and over-rated (kenna a 280Aud meal for average food) .. tho the ambiance is really very nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 I'm taking my family to Perth during the above mentioned period and this would be a self drive holiday. I have a total of 8 pax (5 adults & 3 children aged 3, 6 & 9). Planning to pick up the MPV at Perth Airport and was looking at rental websites from Thrifty, Budget and Avis with Thrifty being the cheapest. Also considering a Toyota Commuter minibus. This is my virgin self drive holiday so would appreciate advise from all who have been and driven there like which is the best vehicle rental company you experienced with and the things to lookout for while driving there. Also I'm confused with the additional costs that the rental website like excess reduction, loss damage waiver and "protection" packages. Any of these that I should take or these are not necessary? So fire away... I've just rented with Budget. Check with the company the terms for the excess reduction. Mine is anything repair less than 2k AUD I no need to pay. The fee is around 25 AUD per day. Might be wise to get it for a peace of mind. Also, I suggest you rent a gps too, unless you already have one. Driving there is relatively easy. Ppl are more patient and gracious there not like "*ahem*. Speed limit in city is 50km/h and you better stick to it. I was in Mel and the hook turn there really stressed me out but you shouldn't have the same problem in Perth. Parking in the CBD area is usually more pricey but public transport is not cheap either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevle 5th Gear October 8, 2013 Share October 8, 2013 Huh so heng sway situation? Yes, can say that. Most important is just declare if not sure. They will just tell you not permitted to bring in and ask you to throw in the bin and that's it. Else a very heavy fine. Definitely no nuts or wooden stuff - not even wooden handle on some comb.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 9, 2013 Author Share October 9, 2013 Eh... both me and wife don't cook... mum and mil fed us all.. But i was there for 7 nites ah.. The chinese restaurants in chinatown abt 120~150. Ooo... MUST go Jamie's Italian for lunch tho.. abt 180... The turkey was surprisingly good.. must try the mushroom thingy also If you are going swan valley... my personal opinion is that winery restaurants are too expensive and over-rated (kenna a 280Aud meal for average food) .. tho the ambiance is really very nice Wah biang eh... Those prices are scary... Anyway even when we eat out I guess we would try those local food like fish and chips, perhaps fast food...etc... We would go to Swan Valley but won't eat there... I've just rented with Budget. Check with the company the terms for the excess reduction. Mine is anything repair less than 2k AUD I no need to pay. The fee is around 25 AUD per day. Might be wise to get it for a peace of mind. Also, I suggest you rent a gps too, unless you already have one. Driving there is relatively easy. Ppl are more patient and gracious there not like "*ahem*. Speed limit in city is 50km/h and you better stick to it. I was in Mel and the hook turn there really stressed me out but you shouldn't have the same problem in Perth. Parking in the CBD area is usually more pricey but public transport is not cheap either. Budget's price is rather reasonable as compared to Avis... I have a GPS but don't have the Australian map... Maybe I gi download it later... Yes, can say that. Most important is just declare if not sure. They will just tell you not permitted to bring in and ask you to throw in the bin and that's it. Else a very heavy fine. Definitely no nuts or wooden stuff - not even wooden handle on some comb.. Yah I will declare it and hope for the best... Must tell my wife to keep her Bodyshop hair brush at home liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 9, 2013 Share October 9, 2013 (edited) We would go to Swan Valley but won't eat there... if you go to cavendish wildlife park and after that you can visit the candy, nougat, etc factories just around that area... you can have afternoon tea and try their pastries and coffee .... really good, and buy some nougat home. Edited October 9, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevle 5th Gear October 9, 2013 Share October 9, 2013 Bro Typhoonz, I guess you will be around perth city and very likely visiting chinatown. if so must try the most famous apple strudle in perth. confirm won't regret. address and more info on this link: http://kampungboycit...thbridge-perth/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 10, 2013 Author Share October 10, 2013 (edited) if you go to cavendish wildlife park and after that you can visit the candy, nougat, etc factories just around that area... you can have afternoon tea and try their pastries and coffee .... really good, and buy some nougat home. Which do you think I should plan for? Caversham Wildlife Park or Perth Zoo? Both admission prices are almost the same. Bro Typhoonz, I guess you will be around perth city and very likely visiting chinatown. if so must try the most famous apple strudle in perth. confirm won't regret. address and more info on this link: http://kampungboycit...thbridge-perth/ Chinatown is currently in my backup places to go... Perhaps while I'm at Fremantle Market either on Saturday or Sunday, I will swing by Chinatown for a look... I'm a fan of apple strudels... Expensive? Looks like it is... Edited October 11, 2013 by Typhoonz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...