Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

Armoured engineer... Pai miah... Company line go live firing, we standby clear blinds too...

duno how many times encountered tanks in the jungle cant see except for the tiny cyalume stick hanging at the back. freaking dangerous at night

don't like the fiat 3 tonner, and man 5 tonner during reservist.  I still like my low bed for tank towing better. we can guess my military licence is 3/4/5/forklift/articulated vehicle/class 1. 

What was actually bad about the Fiat & M.A.N. tonners ??

What was actually bad about the Fiat & M.A.N. tonners ??[/quot

I always wondered how to get out of the 5 toners in a hurry.

The old drill was to jump off when ambushed.

But the 5 ton are so tall. . Likely to be seriously injured.

yeah, MB 3 tonner and 5 tonner [thumbsup]

did not like the Fiat which replaced the MB 3 tonner but no choice lor ...

i even drove the MAN 7 tonner towing the FH120, arti gun to field

What was actually bad about the Fiat & M.A.N. tonners ??[/quot

man and fiat have a world of difference

1, auto vs manual

2. 5 ton vs 3 ton

3. aircon vs non aircon

4. good engine/good brakes vs crap engine/crap brakes

as far as I know, you are supposed to squat and jump off the 5 tonner to lower the impact, I don't know if this true

MB tonner better than fiat tonner? Though I always heard from those drivers that MB tonner very difficult to engage gear and no power steering, result very hard to drive. And the tonner is super old also.

yes,  MB tonner better than fiat tonner, by miles.

MB tonner has a small swingable window at the window and when the tonner is moving, the wind will come in straight in the cabin, plus outfield, the MB has a full bench seat in front where you can lie down and sleep.  fiat, none of the above. 

when I was posted to my unit, being taught how to drive the MB, I was like, shits, no power steering, old rickey shit, but when I got used to it,. I know that it is freakin awesome tonner, yes, it is  not fast, barely hitting 50km/h, but rock solid MB engine, simple to fix, and super spacious in front, plus I passed my chin up close to my ORD which the steering power trained me a fair bit. 

post-52485-0-51419900-1446165180.jpg

Edited by Keithchue

i even drove the MAN 7 tonner towing the FH120, arti gun to field

ar... with the suspension seats up front!  Very comfortable!

[thumbsup]

Which armour unit motto is "Break in, Break Out, Break Down" ?  HQ?

:D Just kidding - I respect those amour chaps every day breath air with 1000 PSI in Area D.

Battalions[13]

• 40th Battalion, Singapore Armoured Regiment (under 8 SAB, 3 DIV)
    • Motto: Victory Unto Victory
    • Yellow Frills on its Battalion's Regemental Color with the number '40' on the top left corner
    • Keat Hong Camp
  • 41st Battalion, Singapore Armoured Regiment (under 8 SAB, under 3 DIV)
    • Motto: Pressure Forward
    • Red Frills on its Battalion's Regemental Colors with the number '41' on the top left corner
    • Kranji Camp II
  • 42nd Battalion, Singapore Armoured Regiment
    • Motto: The Cutting Edge
    • Green Frills on its Battalion's Regemental Colors with the number '42' on the top left corner
    • Sungei Gedong Camp
  • 46th Battalion, Singapore Armoured Regiment (Inactive since Jan 2011[14])
    • Motto: Precision, Speed, Accuracy (The motto was Vigilance, Speed, Accuracy, circa 1979)
    • Blue Frills on its Battalion's Regemental Colors with the number '46' on the top left corner
    • Formerly based at Sungei Gedong Camp. In the founding years, the regiment was concurrently based in Jalan Bahar Camp, Jurong Camp and Jalan Ibadat Camp before coming together in Holland Road Camp in 1979. And subsequently moving into Sungei Gedong Camp in late 1980.
  • 48th Battalion, Singapore Armoured Regiment (non-divisional unit)
    • Motto: Rapid Dominance
    • Sungei Gedong Camp

When you spotted the RSM walking straight and suddenly make a turn to your direction where your company in the shade training is a nightmare ......  :omg:

Don't know the company will kena take how many weekends duties ... :a-m1524:

When you spotted the RSM walking straight and suddenly make a turn to your direction where your company in the shade training is a nightmare ......  :omg:

Don't know the company will kena take how many weekends duties ... :a-m1524:

RSM is a nightmare in army!

Yup, one of the issues I had with the MAN 5-ton was its height. During reservist the Fiats were phrased out and MAN was in, so I had to be extra careful when I dismount from it....

Before that when I was in NSF, we were using the lower height MB or Fiat 3-tonners.

man and fiat have a world of difference

1, auto vs manual

2. 5 ton vs 3 ton

3. aircon vs non aircon

4. good engine/good brakes vs crap engine/crap brakes

Oh I see... [:)]

RSM is a nightmare in army!

ya, but have to aar with them ... dun wait end up guard duty on CNY Day 1 or Day 2 ... :sick:

fortunately my unit's RSM, BSM etc all easy going chaps [thumbsup]

Yup, one of the issues I had with the MAN 5-ton was its height. During reservist the Fiats were phrased out and MAN was in, so I had to be extra careful when I dismount from it....

Before that when I was in NSF, we were using the lower height MB or Fiat 3-tonners.

Oh I see... [:)]

but now the aircon also will breakdown, cos the NS will not service the air con compressor.

the former NCC camp at springleaf? [sly]

attached to NCC air for 1 week, NCC air was all girls camp in changi, mainly 16-18 yos. I was 19 back then.. so everyday wrapped in a towel to shower(that is normal NS stuff).  everyone morning breakfast served by the NCC girls, and was greeted like an officer when attached to them. I was driving the landrover.  talked till late a night with them in my bunk. I sleep alone in officer accomdation.  at night, we will pack changi nasi lemak for supper

every month, NTM standby at some camp.  no nights off. play playstation will we all blur. lots of ghost stories there, was activated and transported ammo to camps with traffic police escort.  cleared leave like 1 month before ORD

re-did my BMT in tekong, with my rank there..hehe..lots of work, but fun re-doing the BMT again

my camp now is a field of grass, I miss my days there, chicken wings and roti john. 

I still have pictures taken during those days.

But in my time we still build and boom bridges by hand.

Backbreaking...

these are chicken feed… compared to side charge, comet charge, pipe charge, fougese, etc. which we used to do...

duno how many times encountered tanks in the jungle cant see except for the tiny cyalume stick hanging at the back. freaking dangerous at night

Hmm… Don't bluff leh...

1) It is very likely (in fact, almost certainly) the other way round - the tank drivers (even the commanders) almost certainly cannot see you if pitch dark, unless he uses NVD, and you're moving or got bit light. 

2) It is very unlikely (in fact, almost impossible) for you to miss the tanks, as they are damned noisy. You will hear the engine roar from 50 m away, esp. if they step on the gas.

But you're ultimately right - freaking dangerous.

I still have pictures taken during those days.

But in my time we still build and boom bridges by hand.

Backbreaking...

yah lah, the 24 bay SS, plus the APB, etc. right? si bey siong these, when we were doing them in SOCE. Whole platoon sweated maybe 2 jerrycans of perspiration over hours then can finish...

Then later went to 38 SCE, basket, the bridge of the same length/spec, is launched by 2 persons inside the AVLB, in maybe 3-4 min…  :pissed-off:

why tekan us...

Hmm… Don't bluff leh...

1) It is very likely (in fact, almost certainly) the other way round - the tank drivers (even the commanders) almost certainly cannot see you if pitch dark, unless he uses NVD, and you're moving or got bit light. 

2) It is very unlikely (in fact, almost impossible) for you to miss the tanks, as they are damned noisy. You will hear the engine roar from 50 m away, esp. if they step on the gas.

But you're ultimately right - freaking dangerous.

can hear but hard to see especially in between jungle trees. quickly siam from roadside or any clearing when i hear it coming lol

But now no more 46SAR liao.... ^_^

Really? Now I know our unit is history...

hey, TVT, which company/platoon were you in? I recall we were in the same batch?