Vega Turbocharged October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 My platoon mate one vehicle knocked down the rear gate when going out to support other units' exercise... RSM looked for him sign extra... That rear gate was knocked down countless times. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 2, 2013 Author Share October 2, 2013 this guy draws well http://pokpokandaway.blogspot.sg/ If memory serves me well, Elephant Hill was where I had my GMPG Live Firing during SISPEC days. I spotted this scene of soldiers firing the weapon facing the E-shaped knoll opposite in my sketchbook and I decided to make an artwork out of it. The phrase was based on the song Blueberry Hill. True enough, firing that weapon was quite a thrill but a major headache when it comes to cleaning it. Once again, another piece I did after looking through some old sketches. People who did NS might remember this place where we fired our M203. I could remember the vast "field" bordered with forests and hills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 The guy really draws very well. The picture really bring back memories. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 pai miah in NS... - Tekong camp 1 (A coy) - jialat, esp. during bayonet fighting time, when needed to simulate no-more-bullet times (means damn shag already...) - Safincos support coy - heaven time. everyday for 9 wk very on waiting turnout but never happened, only once drunk airborne ranger Platoon Sergaent fall in platoon at night 8 pm, when everyone scared, told us 'Go, everybody go canteen, don't go back complain father complain mother never allowed to go canteen'... Just before passed out, he scared other platoons gossip we too relaxed, so did a defaulters' parade to action action a bit... - Sch of Combat Engr - beginning of hell... got carried bridge parts to run and touch tree, during bridging ex. Got sleep less than 10 hr from Mon night till thur night combined, during landmine warfare field camp. got all the demolition exercises, which made claymore mine chicken feed, honest... (first book out only as 19 yo asked my elder bro recommend his friend to sell me insurance just in case...). Imagine during ex, we carried full packs, plus monkey ramps, iron pickets, sledge hammer and barbed wire during fire movement... Our SBO alone, when hanged onto the wooden chairs inside bunk after exercise, will fall off straightaway as it's too heavy (incl dummy smoke grenade n magazines; water bottles; SOP box with pen knife, black tape, binding wire and dunno what; mine prodder, rifle bipod, torch, gloves, googles...). went first ex crescendo. - 38 SCE - converted to armour engr, so learn about M113 and how to service, wash and drive the vehicle. after SCE, this was not too bad actually. at least now during exercise when in hurry it is no longer, 'Section, double up', but became 'Driver, speed up' Finally, finished all the courses, and wait for posting to unit, 1 yr 5 mth after enlistment. Si bey siong for a corporal... become officer also no need so long courses... - 46 SAR - took a platoon and got posted to next door unit in sungei gedong... and became part of the mono-intake family of the very first operationally-ready Armour Battle Group as it was called at that time. went 2nd ex crescendo there, where the M113 accident happened. Best part left for the last, as our dear SAF forever C---up: 7 NCOs in my platoon were 1 yr older than the rest of the unit (cos of the long and many courses we went through before becoming operational. So we were disrupting in Jun 1990 (3 mth before ROD) to go to NUS/NTU. The first and only (2nd one i think 41 SAR not yet go through BPT so not yet operational) operational ABG did not remember this and were then facing a situation where the armoured pioneer platoon was going to lose all the NCOs and there was no replacement!!! So when we took ali baba bags going to book out go CMPB take back pink ICs, we were stopped by MPs at the main gate, who told us S1 and S3 were waiting for us at Board Room for meeting. There, they apologised that they didn't know we were leaving and didn't indent replacements, so told us that even as civilians at university, if the unit kanna activated, we will also have to report back to camp [rifle] :angry: This was supposed to continue till they managed to get some NCOs in to replace us. Look at the courses we took and it was not going to be overnight affair... We were told one year later when we went back to serve the 3 mth we owed them (we disrupted), that three men from the platoon were chosen to be I/C during that waiting period, and they became like acting section commanders for exercises... Then in 2000, my reservist unit kanna NDP. Those who went, trained so hard, and then on the Big Day the Parade Commander co-- up... became embarrassment! Eventful right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 D801 Yes yes yes... it's coming back... with that one miserable room there for guards... were you from 38 too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Lol, i forgot how the surrounding of poyan range looks like?! Only remember the surrounding there very quiet and dark at night! poyan range is nothing lah... it's the poyan reservoir that has stunning views lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 (edited) No such thing lah !!! True lar...kana before. But also got one time i slept after lunch. There was SOC test at 3:30 and i had slippery dream a few mins before we had to fall-in for the test. I was like dia lar...how to pass like that but funny thing was i recorded my best timing for soc ever even after my m16 sling came off after monkey swing. 8:05 mins for soc after a slippery dream is like breaking a world record for me. Of course the test was after our brunei training and we were very fit! Edited October 2, 2013 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 pai miah in NS... - Tekong camp 1 (A coy) - jialat, esp. during bayonet fighting time, when needed to simulate no-more-bullet times (means damn shag already...) - Safincos support coy - heaven time. everyday for 9 wk very on waiting turnout but never happened, only once drunk airborne ranger Platoon Sergaent fall in platoon at night 8 pm, when everyone scared, told us 'Go, everybody go canteen, don't go back complain father complain mother never allowed to go canteen'... Just before passed out, he scared other platoons gossip we too relaxed, so did a defaulters' parade to action action a bit... - Sch of Combat Engr - beginning of hell... got carried bridge parts to run and touch tree, during bridging ex. Got sleep less than 10 hr from Mon night till thur night combined, during landmine warfare field camp. got all the demolition exercises, which made claymore mine chicken feed, honest... (first book out only as 19 yo asked my elder bro recommend his friend to sell me insurance just in case...). Imagine during ex, we carried full packs, plus monkey ramps, iron pickets, sledge hammer and barbed wire during fire movement... Our SBO alone, when hanged onto the wooden chairs inside bunk after exercise, will fall off straightaway as it's too heavy (incl dummy smoke grenade n magazines; water bottles; SOP box with pen knife, black tape, binding wire and dunno what; mine prodder, rifle bipod, torch, gloves, googles...). went first ex crescendo. - 38 SCE - converted to armour engr, so learn about M113 and how to service, wash and drive the vehicle. after SCE, this was not too bad actually. at least now during exercise when in hurry it is no longer, 'Section, double up', but became 'Driver, speed up' Finally, finished all the courses, and wait for posting to unit, 1 yr 5 mth after enlistment. Si bey siong for a corporal... become officer also no need so long courses... - 46 SAR - took a platoon and got posted to next door unit in sungei gedong... and became part of the mono-intake family of the very first operationally-ready Armour Battle Group as it was called at that time. went 2nd ex crescendo there, where the M113 accident happened. Best part left for the last, as our dear SAF forever C---up: 7 NCOs in my platoon were 1 yr older than the rest of the unit (cos of the long and many courses we went through before becoming operational. So we were disrupting in Jun 1990 (3 mth before ROD) to go to NUS/NTU. The first and only (2nd one i think 41 SAR not yet go through BPT so not yet operational) operational ABG did not remember this and were then facing a situation where the armoured pioneer platoon was going to lose all the NCOs and there was no replacement!!! So when we took ali baba bags going to book out go CMPB take back pink ICs, we were stopped by MPs at the main gate, who told us S1 and S3 were waiting for us at Board Room for meeting. There, they apologised that they didn't know we were leaving and didn't indent replacements, so told us that even as civilians at university, if the unit kanna activated, we will also have to report back to camp [rifle] :angry: This was supposed to continue till they managed to get some NCOs in to replace us. Look at the courses we took and it was not going to be overnight affair... We were told one year later when we went back to serve the 3 mth we owed them (we disrupted), that three men from the platoon were chosen to be I/C during that waiting period, and they became like acting section commanders for exercises... Then in 2000, my reservist unit kanna NDP. Those who went, trained so hard, and then on the Big Day the Parade Commander co-- up... became embarrassment! Eventful right? I was involved in the 2000 NDP mobile column too but our vehicles were pull out after 4th or 5th rehearsal. I remember the rehearsal was at Tanjung Gul camp. BTW, how did the parade commander c@ck up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Last i went tekong was in 97/98. So i am not sure whether the new camp got fencing for each school. But for sure the forested area will be far away from the company line. I try to imagine 200 over men running into the forested area with whatever in hand to do their business.....hahahaha...epic siak! No fence la bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 exactly how I felt ...... I actually don't mind going back for ICT. I just HATE the IPPT I agree IPPT sux Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 I was involved in the 2000 NDP mobile column too but our vehicles were pull out after 4th or 5th rehearsal. I remember the rehearsal was at Tanjung Gul camp. BTW, how did the parade commander c@ck up? I think he gave a wrong command....still remember one of the ndp parade had the parade commander giving wrong command. Donno how many extras he kana! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 No fence la bro Oh ok....maybe nx yr when my son kana enlisted i will get the chance to tour the area. Last i went to tekong was back in 97 or 98 during our 2nd last reservist as a pdf unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 2, 2013 Author Share October 2, 2013 I think he gave a wrong command....still remember one of the ndp parade had the parade commander giving wrong command. Donno how many extras he kana! Was it the one where only two gun salutes were fired instead of three? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 wah, this regular must have history lah. My company people got caught for so many things : blue tape, mahjong in bunk etc ..... just do extra lor. I think he tio marked la. Talked too much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 whoa!!! 发粪图墙 Wa like that u also can link. Up there la bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 3 tonner tyre overhead? You must be joking?! The 3 tonner tyre is very heavy le! The craziest I ever seen is GPMG PT. one hundred count by the way .3 tonner tyre would be beyond words can describe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 That I never heard of. But I admit that some are really creative!!! MP must be sicko in order to handle and melt out the punishment. How inside do they playside. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 2, 2013 Author Share October 2, 2013 The craziest I ever seen is GPMG PT. one hundred count by the way .3 tonner tyre would be beyond words can describe Wah bo ya la Last time my arms already sore like mad after those dummy rifle PT And during my time, also medicine ball and log PT Sian.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...