Weez911 Supersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 (edited) During ICT at CTC, KKK always say he will drive taxi after his ORD from cdo I told him if our own guys flagged down his cab 100% will not board Especially those man he ever F them upside down before He ever F Fred Chong in the cookhouse remember? I missed the chicken rice at the swimming pool and orderly room Jo Tan My friends told me Fred is now a monk? I know it’s a drastic transformation but he used to be a fantastic commando commander. He has my respect. I don’t miss a lot of the Hendon Camp, other than the camaraderie and bonds with other “sufferees” during the time. You. Far from it, bro. My fitness was never great before and during the NS. I was simply chosen because I wasn’t short-sighted at that time of enlistment. I always struggled to meet the 9.14 timing, and many of my weekends were burnt because I could not meet this time for remedial training. Not just that, I could not remember one thing I was good at during NS. I was just a “man” following instructions all the time. Was also admitted twice to Changi Hospital during my NS for separate incidents. I'm not cut out for Rambo-work. Edited October 17, 2018 by Weez911 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvelicious 3rd Gear October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 This is a very specialised course n only selected few can get in so not surprising itâs tough. Iâm curious to know the general courses what is considered toughest besides commando n naval diver? I suppose it canât really be measured n ego is such, most guys will say theirs the toughest but from my time of late 70s n early 80s, the following were normally mentioned as tough (not necessarily in order): Basic Arty Basic Combat Engineers Basic Armour Infantry courses like snipers etc Obviously above is wide ranging so difficult to put a âtough ratingâ on it. As Iâm in Arty, I know the Basic Arty course in those days range from manpack of 120mm mortar to clear obstacles, digging of mortar pits, an exercise called âmakan anginâ which is far from thatðð I was in 30sce in the late 90s. Still had to hand carry MGB, the heaviest bridge then. Even though it was tough i heard that the old guys got it even worse. Had to run soc whenever standby platoon gets activated. Just one of many i recall. It was said that combat engineers were as siong as commandos, if not worse. But i was one of the last batches to do the mgb. It got phased out shortly after and with cookhouse being outsourced and stuff like tug of war, log pt... all banned, i think the toughness has gone across the army. Combat engineers don't do as much now, with mostly auto launch bridges. Even mine fields can be automatically launched lol 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 My friends told me Fred is now a monk? I know it’s a drastic transformation but he used to be a fantastic commando commander. He has my respect. I don’t miss a lot of the Hendon Camp, other than the camaraderie and bonds with other “sufferees” during the time. Oh really..I didn't know that...I knew Mike Tan already ORD and working in hospital Fred is an authentic Arnold style cdo NS time is really fun with Tekaning from trainer...still recall "wet and sandy" from ndu trainer You. He is like this 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 My friends told me Fred is now a monk? I know it’s a drastic transformation but he used to be a fantastic commando commander. He has my respect. I don’t miss a lot of the Hendon Camp, other than the camaraderie and bonds with other “sufferees” during the time. Far from it, bro. My fitness was never great before and during the NS. I was simply chosen because I wasn’t short-sighted at that time of enlistment. I always struggled to meet the 9.14 timing, and many of my weekends were burnt because I could not meet this time for remedial training. Not just that, I could not remember one thing I was good at during NS. I was just a “man” following instructions all the time. Was also admitted twice to Changi Hospital during my NS for separate incidents. I'm not cut out for Rambo-work. i donyt know who is fred. during one of my ict, had a bge s3, regular, bout mid 30s, all sorts of badges. was said to be sof guy. he told us that he got badly injured during training, so bad that he took a whole year off and went to tibet to be monk and recuperate. and he is vegetarian too. somehow interesting that someone in the killing business can also be deep buddhist and vegetarian. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se3h3ng 2nd Gear October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 My friends told me Fred is now a monk? I know it’s a drastic transformation but he used to be a fantastic commando commander. He has my respect. I don’t miss a lot of the Hendon Camp, other than the camaraderie and bonds with other “sufferees” during the time. Far from it, bro. My fitness was never great before and during the NS. I was simply chosen because I wasn’t short-sighted at that time of enlistment. I always struggled to meet the 9.14 timing, and many of my weekends were burnt because I could not meet this time for remedial training. Not just that, I could not remember one thing I was good at during NS. I was just a “man” following instructions all the time. Was also admitted twice to Changi Hospital during my NS for separate incidents. I'm not cut out for Rambo-work. Yup.. he become a monk. his last few stint was over at safti whereby all 5BX/PT run are done in half slack with boots.. no doubt is siong, but he will always join the cadets and explain to them on his logic behind it... well respected guy 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 3door demolished liao ah.. Bittersweet.. I was from alpha co, also old camp. Woohoo long ago. During ict many years later, did a exercise in tekong, remember going back to see my old bunk for old times sake. which year alpha coy? me is alpha platoon 4, mar 88 batch. I was in 30sce in the late 90s. Still had to hand carry MGB, the heaviest bridge then. Even though it was tough i heard that the old guys got it even worse. Had to run soc whenever standby platoon gets activated. Just one of many i recall. It was said that combat engineers were as siong as commandos, if not worse. But i was one of the last batches to do the mgb. It got phased out shortly after and with cookhouse being outsourced and stuff like tug of war, log pt... all banned, i think the toughness has gone across the army. Combat engineers don't do as much now, with mostly auto launch bridges. Even mine fields can be automatically launched lol i did MGBs when on course (BENC), and even once did the APB. then i got posted to 38 SCE and did armour conversion, before i traded blue beret for black, when got posted to armour to become armoured pioneer. The AVLB at 38 SCE made our stint doing MGB looked stupid because bridge of the same length took just like 5 min to launch, c.f. to ~2 hr for MGB, at full stretch... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 I was in 30sce in the late 90s. Still had to hand carry MGB, the heaviest bridge then. Even though it was tough i heard that the old guys got it even worse. Had to run soc whenever standby platoon gets activated. Just one of many i recall. It was said that combat engineers were as siong as commandos, if not worse. But i was one of the last batches to do the mgb. It got phased out shortly after and with cookhouse being outsourced and stuff like tug of war, log pt... all banned, i think the toughness has gone across the army. Combat engineers don't do as much now, with mostly auto launch bridges. Even mine fields can be automatically launched lol My unit just next to 35 SCE. When they move out for exercise, the volume of equipment . One day we went 35 SCE canteen for fried rice + hor bao dan. Saw a SWO there. First time we see SWO in our NS days, my formation highest was WO1 nia. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 which year alpha coy? me is alpha platoon 4, mar 88 batch. i did MGBs when on course (BENC), and even once did the APB. then i got posted to 38 SCE and did armour conversion, before i traded blue beret for black, when got posted to armour to become armoured pioneer. The AVLB at 38 SCE made our stint doing MGB looked stupid because bridge of the same length took just like 5 min to launch, c.f. to ~2 hr for MGB, at full stretch... I was 90 batch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 i donyt know who is fred. during one of my ict, had a bge s3, regular, bout mid 30s, all sorts of badges. was said to be sof guy. he told us that he got badly injured during training, so bad that he took a whole year off and went to tibet to be monk and recuperate. and he is vegetarian too. somehow interesting that someone in the killing business can also be deep buddhist and vegetarian. Some of these senior cdo regulars converted to Buddhism in the past few years. Not sure why and I too think it's quite bizarre. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 i donyt know who is fred. during one of my ict, had a bge s3, regular, bout mid 30s, all sorts of badges. was said to be sof guy. he told us that he got badly injured during training, so bad that he took a whole year off and went to tibet to be monk and recuperate. and he is vegetarian too. somehow interesting that someone in the killing business can also be deep buddhist and vegetarian. SAF is not in the killing business la. More like cosplay business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kykh Supercharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 I had a relatively easy life during NS. I was graded PES C2 due to short-sightedness, and was enlisted during BMT in a company that my PS described as making up of all pai ka (limping legs) and bai chew (broken arms). I had naively told my PC that I would like to volunteer to join the combat-fit companies, as I’m physically fit other than being short-sighted, but he just smilingly told me to stay put and enjoy life. True enough, all my platoon mates had all sort of medical excuses, the best of whom was one guy who found excuse from wearing No. 4 uniform and walked around in PT attire around the camp all the time. Another suffered from migraine and stayed in the bunk most of his time. My PS always joked that we probably had all the excuses in the world to be excused from every strenuous activities except f*cking. Suddenly, with no medical excuses, I became the most normal and fittest in my platoon :) After BMT, I was posted to OETI (aka Only Eat, Talk, and Idle) for training to be a vehicle electrician. One of my classmates was an ex-commando who was downgraded after he landed onto a jeep in a parachute and broke his ankle. The instructors were very nice to the trainees, and there was once my instructor booked a chalet and invited the class to join. He brought his girlfriend along, and for a long time we could not find them at the chalet, until we spotted them emerging from the toilet together ;) After OETI, I was posted to 30SCE and continued my relatively easy life. Nevertheless, I learnt practical skills which remain useful to me in troubleshooting my own car in my civilian life. Most importantly, I learnt to be independent and forged friendship with brothers who remain my truly best friends forever, and who never fail to help one another despite years after our stint in NS :) 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 (edited) I had a relatively easy life during NS. I was graded PES C2 due to short-sightedness, and was enlisted during BMT in a company that my PS described as making up of all pai ka (limping legs) and bai chew (broken arms). I had naively told my PC that I would like to volunteer to join the combat-fit companies, as I’m physically fit other than being short-sighted, but he just smilingly told me to stay put and enjoy life. True enough, all my platoon mates had all sort of medical excuses, the best of whom was one guy who found excuse from wearing No. 4 uniform and walked around in PT attire around the camp all the time. Another suffered from migraine and stayed in the bunk most of his time. My PS always joked that we probably had all the excuses in the world to be excused from every strenuous activities except f*cking. Suddenly, with no medical excuses, I became the most normal and fittest in my platoon :) After BMT, I was posted to OETI (aka Only Eat, Talk, and Idle) for training to be a vehicle electrician. One of my classmates was an ex-commando who was downgraded after he landed onto a jeep in a parachute and broke his ankle. The instructors were very nice to the trainees, and there was once my instructor booked a chalet and invited the class to join. He brought his girlfriend along, and for a long time we could not find them at the chalet, until we spotted them emerging from the toilet together ;) After OETI, I was posted to 30SCE and continued my relatively easy life. Nevertheless, I learnt practical skills which remain useful to me in troubleshooting my own car in my civilian life. Most importantly, I learnt to be independent and forged friendship with brothers who remain my truly best friends forever, and who never fail to help one another despite years after our stint in NS :) i remembered the 2nd yr we were in PDF back in 97 or 98, i was already downgraded to Pes c3l9 and for that exercise all the sick chicken were brought to Tekong for the last exercise to help out the unit. We were even indented a tonner just for the sick chickens. On the last day we were about to debusk at the old jetty a staff SGT came out from nowhere and shouted here and there and asking us why were we without our weapon. He thought that we were skiving and lazy to carry our weapon. We told him we were downgraders but he didnt believe so we all passed him our medical documents....he was on . Straight away he changed his tone......he advised us not to jump off the tonner and even helped us to lower down the tail board and told us nicely to take care of ourselves.... Edited October 18, 2018 by Eviilusion 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 Some of these senior cdo regulars converted to Buddhism in the past few years. Not sure why and I too think it's quite bizarre. Yes sof Tyson also practise Thai Buddism after ORD...in fact quite a number of the regulars see through red dust Amitabha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 SAF is not in the killing business la. More like cosplay business. cannot like that say la... no doubt many cant make it, but also many dedicated people who are in not for money but because they really like soldiering... ive met my share of good people too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 cannot like that say la... no doubt many cant make it, but also many dedicated people who are in not for money but because they really like soldiering... ive met my share of good people too. I believe he is referring to those paper scholar whom parachuted from backdoor after ORD into Pinky's kennel These pappies are the authentic true blue cosplayer You see them sure vomit blood Sibay Sia Sway... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 My unit just next to 35 SCE. When they move out for exercise, the volume of equipment . One day we went 35 SCE canteen for fried rice + hor bao dan. Saw a SWO there. First time we see SWO in our NS days, my formation highest was WO1 nia. Volume is an understatement, still haven't add the amount of camouflaging and outrider escort needed for the equipments and the odd godly hours for movement and the nightmare go in or out of Jalan Kayu (before they built the expressway).This was the era where Almond and Comet were still considered as classified. Which year was the SWO, highest was WO1 late 80s to early 90s. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 18, 2018 Share October 18, 2018 (edited) Volume is an understatement, still haven't add the amount of camouflaging and outrider escort needed for the equipments and the odd godly hours for movement and the nightmare go in or out of Jalan Kayu (before they built the expressway).This was the era where Almond and Comet were still considered as classified. Which year was the SWO, highest was WO1 late 80s to early 90s. yeah, I was on guard duty one night when 35 SCE was moving out for exercise. had to open the gate and hold the gate for over an hour while the convoy went out. think I breathed in all the 5 pollutants in VES in just the first 2 mins. hmm ... maybe the SWO was not from 35 SCE and from other units. the 35 SCE canteen was probably the biggest one in Seletar East. Edited October 18, 2018 by Blueray 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) I had a relatively easy life during NS. I was graded PES C2 due to short-sightedness, and was enlisted during BMT in a company that my PS described as making up of all pai ka (limping legs) and bai chew (broken arms). I had naively told my PC that I would like to volunteer to join the combat-fit companies, as Iâm physically fit other than being short-sighted, but he just smilingly told me to stay put and enjoy life. True enough, all my platoon mates had all sort of medical excuses, the best of whom was one guy who found excuse from wearing No. 4 uniform and walked around in PT attire around the camp all the time. Another suffered from migraine and stayed in the bunk most of his time. My PS always joked that we probably had all the excuses in the world to be excused from every strenuous activities except f*cking. Suddenly, with no medical excuses, I became the most normal and fittest in my platoon :) After BMT, I was posted to OETI (aka Only Eat, Talk, and Idle) for training to be a vehicle electrician. One of my classmates was an ex-commando who was downgraded after he landed onto a jeep in a parachute and broke his ankle. The instructors were very nice to the trainees, and there was once my instructor booked a chalet and invited the class to join. He brought his girlfriend along, and for a long time we could not find them at the chalet, until we spotted them emerging from the toilet together ;) After OETI, I was posted to 30SCE and continued my relatively easy life. Nevertheless, I learnt practical skills which remain useful to me in troubleshooting my own car in my civilian life. Most importantly, I learnt to be independent and forged friendship with brothers who remain my truly best friends forever, and who never fail to help one another despite years after our stint in NS :) Just like I’m always reaching out to @dach...Let’s hope he will come out of his shadows... @discoburg dan @bancoe are always cajoling him earnestly without any complaints.. Let’s hope he will back to his cai png self Edited October 19, 2018 by Freeder ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...