Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

I went through

BMT - 3 mth

Support Safincos - 9 wk

Basic Engineer NCO course - 20 wk

Armoured Pioneer Commander course - 12 wk

Armoured Pioneer course - 12 wk (take the men through the course)

As a corporal (later 3SG), i had to go through 1 yr 5 mth of courses before I was posted to operational unit. [sweatdrop]

The BENC course was by far the toughest. We had to build bridges (MGB, APB), and got kanna tekan'ed by trainers to carry bridging parts to run and touch the tree and come back [bigcry]

Also slept less than 10 hr on Mon-Thur nights added up during landmine warfare field camp, etc.

And in armour, we carried monkey ramps and iron pickets for flanking, sometimes... [sweatdrop]

And oh, we had to handle explosives - detonators, plastic explosives, mines, bangalore torpedoes, etc....

Wow I seldom hear NS men going for 2 different arms courses (Armour, CE in your case) so definitely u had it tough for sure! I guess for Armour, they do combine with other arms cos i remember a group of our Arty trainees were posted to Armour unit as well to become Armoured Artillery ie 120mm mortar in M113 so they had to retrain on how to mount in Armoured vehicle as well.

I guess u r a Armoured CE.

so far I only know 81mm manpack the guns and plate, the only bigger guns I know did that was the 106mm from 2 Guards when they were in starlight going up è头山, that was under Major Lim as CO.

120mm, really never heard of, but when I was at lancer, the FO attached to us told us he heli-repelled down a 120mm from a Super puma when on course, and jumped down with his gun from the chopper. We all went rolling on the floor. He knock out half way on our mission to ex buaya. His runner was a lot tougher than him, took over the FO and finished the mission with us. We were all quite respectful of the runner, even bought him the ginger milk tea when back to base. We actually accepted him as one of us [:p][laugh][laugh]

I remember and loved to watch the 106mm live firing. Damn bloody loud! Was mounted on the ww2 Jeep. The back blast was quite big.

Iâm a former 81mm mortar man..

The 6 wks mortar course was like Hell Camp,.

Oh yes. I observed it in the 90s! But I think the Milan course was worse cause the equipment was heavier.

I always feel that as long as it is combat vocation, all are tough. There is no such a thing as which course is tougher than the other, rather is more of which course you are better fit into. End of the day, which ever course one gets posted to, as long as play ball sure can pass out ok one. Sometimes is just mindset and responsibilities.

I have seen black beret solider who can put the red ones to shame, and I have also seen blur fark commando, and thats why I still think the way i believe it to be, its just where one get posted to, many time fate and fated lor.. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Of course there will always be cream of crops who are super tough, those stronger than the rest, but I am talking about in general lor.. ^_^

Ya bro agreed, hard to compare toughness n yes it’s the attitude that counts

Wow I seldom hear NS men going for 2 different arms courses (Armour, CE in your case) so definitely u had it tough for sure! I guess for Armour, they do combine with other arms cos i remember a group of our Arty trainees were posted to Armour unit as well to become Armoured Artillery ie 120mm mortar in M113 so they had to retrain on how to mount in Armoured vehicle as well.

I guess u r a Armoured CE.

Sigh... i pai miah. Apart from my own gang of 7 of us, i've not heard of anyone as pai miah as us. A typical Infantry section commander only needed to go through 3 mth BMT and 3 mth Safincos and they got posted to operational unit to serve 2 yr (relax life) till ROD.

And the 7 of us went on course (tio tekan continuously) for about 1 yr 5 mth before we got posted to operational unit - by which time we took out calendar to count down the 10 mth to disruption (for further studies)...

Very unfair to us, as i was told by our regular Platoon Sgt in BMT, that must salute the young punk PCs as they had gone through shit during their 9-mth OCS after BMT. So they suffered 12 mth and became officer.

And we suffered 17 mth to become.... a corporal :TT_TT:

In non-SCE units, the CEs are called pioneers, so there are infantry pioneers and armoured pioneers, depending on what units are they. Only within SCE units, then they are called boat engineers, field engineers, or the specialist bomb disposal unit.

So we were armoured pioneers (AP), the pai miah bunch.

Talking of pioneers, i think some here will remember the Pioneer magazine. During the posting on last day of BMT, got some people kanna posted to become pioneers, but all were clueless at that time. Some were speculating wah, is it go and publish the Pioneer magazine, which must mean relax life liao...

That was the last we heard of them, before everyone boarded the respective 3-tonners to fulfil our different destiny... And I bet they would be in for a rude shock when they finally found out what is pioneers [sweatdrop]

In armour unit, we were in support company, with the 120 mm mortar and scout platoons as neighbours.

For me, standard BMT then posted to AETI. Was wondering WTF was that, never heard of it before..

Was at AFS at PLAB for 3 mths I think? Best time of NS life, 9-5 like going to school.

After that posted to SBAB 120 SQN.. Also one of best time of NS life.. OJT then went into shift work. Learnt tons of things in there, like driving on the runway, communicating with the ATC etc..but before that had to go through another round of driving test to drive the MID vehicles..also learnt how to tow an aircraft.

Crazy things we did were taking the aircraft wash to wash our cars.  :D

Brunei detachment was fun also but not the C130 ride.. and also happened during SARS period..

SIA chartered a flight to bring all of us back, first time took business class.

After ORD, went on to further studies, never got called up for ICT.. but rest of the sqn mates all got called up for flag party supporting the national day fly past.

Those NS buddies are mates for life! 

Edited by Beanoyip

I remember and loved to watch the 106mm live firing. Damn bloody loud! Was mounted on the ww2 Jeep. The back blast was quite big.

Oh yes. I observed it in the 90s! But I think the Milan course was worse cause the equipment was heavier.

I remember walk into the Milan armskot room, the dry air really feel strange. Makes me wonder how it will survive in extended field ops in our weather.

My NS was more than 20 years ago, so the memory is a bit fuzzy, but here it goes:

On the day of enlistment - I was posted to a mono-intake cohort, and I spent my whole NSF stint in one camp, Hendon. On the bus trip to the camp from CMPB, saw a few worried faces, as well as a few very sociable individuals who were almost treating the trip like a happy outing. I belonged to the former. I still remember the ahbeng platoon sergeant who gave us a pep-talk on the day we arrived, in a mix of hokkien (90%) and English (10%). This would be the start of an insufferable 2 years and 4 months... 

BMT - I believe the training syllabus was largely similar to that of the regular BMT conducted in other camps. Based on my understanding with friends in other vocations, the key differences were the frequency and severity of turn-outs in ours. All our platoon sergeants were ranger-tab regulars, and some of the platoon commanders were from the SOF. My CO has a CV that included storming the SQ117. Somehow, they knew all the tricks that can break a man, and many of my friends did not believe the tekan stories I shared with them. Lost a lot of weight at this phase, and began to appreciate any night with uninterrupted 4 hours of sleep.

BCT (Basic Commando Training) - The physical aspects got tougher as we now have to meet the 9.14 gold criteria. Most of us can easily do 13 to 20 pull-up at this phase, and push up under 50 seemed almost effortless now. The technical skill and knowledge transfer at this stage seemed to be more professionally done by the trainers, and slightly less tekan and more sleep than the BMT. The highlights during this phase were the survival and POW trainings. To this day, the POW training was the toughest and most stressed period of my life, and most of the events cannot be recounted here in case someone gets into trouble.

At the end of BCT, we did a 35km route march in Tekong and received the jungle hat (not the red beret) after the march. We were promoted to the corporal rank after BCT. 

Vocational Training - This was the most enjoyable period in NS where we were all posted to different commando vocations (ie weapon specialist, medic, signals and demolition/boatman). We had more free time to interact with other platoon mates and bonds started to form at this stage. 

Basic Airborne Course - Some liked it but most feared it. I belonged to the latter group...

Before the BAC, we already did rappelling from helicopters and cliff, but this was another animal altogether. Jumping out from a plane was the thing I feared doing the most. On a particular parachute jump, I recalled landing on a tree, and a friend landed in the middle of an expressway. Miraculously, we both emerged relatively unscathed. However, one man was called to the Lord at the swing-landing trainer, may his soul rest in peace.

Operational - Before turning operational (receiving the red beret), we went to Brunei for jungle training. Brunei exercises were brutal, and I lost a part of my front tooth there.. After Brunei, we did the 72km route march along East Coast and Changi, and then got our red beret. It was a very proud moment. Our company size was at 100 when we finally received our berets, down from an initial recruit cohort of 240. 

Most of the time spent during the operational phase were preparation for Falcon and ATEC exercises. Highlight during this phase was the joint training with the UK commandos, Kopassus, the New Zealand training and the Route66 R&R. One of the UK commandos was a UK marathoner, and he managed to smash our long standing SOC record to 5 min plus, using his heavier military equipment and rifle.

ORD - bitter sweet memory on the last day. Bitter because of the friendship forged during the 2 years 4 months of suffering together (many of us are still friends to this day), and sweet because we are going back to civilian life.  

• Praise 12

My NS was more than 20 years ago, so the memory is a bit fuzzy, but here it goes:

On the day of enlistment - I was posted to a mono-intake cohort, and I spent my whole NSF stint in one camp, Hendon. On the bus trip to the camp from CMPB, saw a few worried faces, as well as a few very sociable individuals who were almost treating the trip like a happy outing. I belonged to the former. I still remember the ahbeng platoon sergeant who gave us a pep-talk on the day we arrived, in a mix of hokkien (90%) and English (10%). This would be the start of an insufferable 2 years and 4 months...

BMT - I believe the training syllabus was largely similar to that of the regular BMT conducted in other camps. Based on my understanding with friends in other vocations, the key differences were the frequency and severity of turn-outs in ours. All our platoon sergeants were ranger-tab regulars, and some of the platoon commanders were from the SOF. My CO has a CV that included storming the SQ117. Somehow, they knew all the tricks that can break a man, and many of my friends did not believe the tekan stories I shared with them. Lost a lot of weight at this phase, and began to appreciate any night with uninterrupted 4 hours of sleep.

BCT (Basic Commando Training) - The physical aspects got tougher as we now have to meet the 9.14 gold criteria. Most of us can easily do 13 to 20 pull-up at this phase, and push up under 50 seemed almost effortless now. The technical skill and knowledge transfer at this stage seemed to be more professionally done by the trainers, and slightly less tekan and more sleep than the BMT. The highlights during this phase were the survival and POW trainings. To this day, the POW training was the toughest and most stressed period of my life, and most of the events cannot be recounted here in case someone gets into trouble.

At the end of BCT, we did a 35km route march in Tekong and received the jungle hat (not the red beret) after the march. We were promoted to the corporal rank after BCT.

Vocational Training - This was the most enjoyable period in NS where we were all posted to different commando vocations (ie weapon specialist, medic, signals and demolition/boatman). We had more free time to interact with other platoon mates and bonds started to form at this stage.

Basic Airborne Course - Some liked it but most feared it. I belonged to the latter group...

Before the BAC, we already did rappelling from helicopters and cliff, but this was another animal altogether. Jumping out from a plane was the thing I feared doing the most. On a particular parachute jump, I recalled landing on a tree, and a friend landed in the middle of an expressway. Miraculously, we both emerged relatively unscathed. However, one man was called to the Lord at the swing-landing trainer, may his soul rest in peace.

Operational - Before turning operational (receiving the red beret), we went to Brunei for jungle training. Brunei exercises were brutal, and I lost a part of my front tooth there.. After Brunei, we did the 72km route march along East Coast and Changi, and then got our red beret. It was a very proud moment. Our company size was at 100 when we finally received our berets, down from an initial recruit cohort of 240.

Most of the time spent during the operational phase were preparation for Falcon and ATEC exercises. Highlight during this phase was the joint training with the UK commandos, Kopassus, the New Zealand training and the Route66 R&R. One of the UK commandos was a UK marathoner, and he managed to smash our long standing SOC record to 5 min plus, using his heavier military equipment and rifle.

ORD - bitter sweet memory on the last day. Bitter because of the friendship forged during the 2 years 4 months of suffering together (many of us are still friends to this day), and sweet because we are going back to civilian life.

Wow less then 50% complete the course?

On the day of enlistment - I was posted to a mono-intake cohort, and I spent my whole NSF stint in one camp, Hendon. On the bus trip to the camp from CMPB, saw a few worried faces, as well as a few very sociable individuals who were almost treating the trip like a happy outing. I belonged to the former. I still remember the ahbeng platoon sergeant who gave us a pep-talk on the day we arrived, in a mix of hokkien (90%) and English (10%). This would be the start of an insufferable 2 years and 4 months... 

BMT - I believe the training syllabus was largely similar to that of the regular BMT conducted in other camps. Based on my understanding with friends in other vocations, the key differences were the frequency and severity of turn-outs in ours. All our platoon sergeants were ranger-tab regulars, and some of the platoon commanders were from the SOF. My CO has a CV that included storming the SQ117. Somehow, they knew all the tricks that can break a man, and many of my friends did not believe the tekan stories I shared with them. Lost a lot of weight at this phase, and began to appreciate any night with uninterrupted 4 hours of sleep.

BCT (Basic Commando Training) - The physical aspects got tougher as we now have to meet the 9.14 gold criteria. Most of us can easily do 13 to 20 pull-up at this phase, and push up under 50 seemed almost effortless now. The technical skill and knowledge transfer at this stage seemed to be more professionally done by the trainers, and slightly less tekan and more sleep than the BMT. The highlights during this phase were the survival and POW trainings. To this day, the POW training was the toughest and most stressed period of my life, and most of the events cannot be recounted here in case someone gets into trouble.

At the end of BCT, we did a 35km route march in Tekong and received the jungle hat (not the red beret) after the march. We were promoted to the corporal rank after BCT. 

Vocational Training - This was the most enjoyable period in NS where we were all posted to different commando vocations (ie weapon specialist, medic, signals and demolition/boatman). We had more free time to interact with other platoon mates and bonds started to form at this stage. 

Basic Airborne Course - Some liked it but most feared it. I belonged to the latter group...

Before the BAC, we already did rappelling from helicopters and cliff, but this was another animal altogether. Jumping out from a plane was the thing I feared doing the most. On a particular parachute jump, I recalled landing on a tree, and a friend landed in the middle of an expressway. Miraculously, we both emerged relatively unscathed. However, one man was called to the Lord at the swing-landing trainer, may his soul rest in peace.

Operational - Before turning operational (receiving the red beret), we went to Brunei for jungle training. Brunei exercises were brutal, and I lost a part of my front tooth there.. After Brunei, we did the 72km route march along East Coast and Changi, and then got our red beret. It was a very proud moment. Our company size was at 100 when we finally received our berets, down from an initial recruit cohort of 240. 

ORD - bitter sweet memory on the last day. Bitter because of the friendship forged during the 2 years 4 months of suffering together (many of us are still friends to this day), and sweet because we are going back to civilian life.  

Bro your time RSM is Encik Sam Choo or Encik Robert Kiong [pirate]

2nd Coy against all odds  :a-shoot:

For honour and Glory  [thumbsup]

Edited by Pohhenry

Wow less then 50% complete the course?

Yes. People dropped out for various reasons – some due to performance, some health related (downgraded), some transferred to pilots, some went to support units…

Bro your time RSM is Encik Sam Choo or Encik Robert Kiong [pirate]

2nd Coy against all odds  :a-shoot:

For honour and Glory  [thumbsup]

My formation RSM was KKK (couldn't remember the battalion RSM). What a fine human specimen KKK is! [thumbsup]

I am also from 2nd Coy. Were you the batch that suffered from the helicopter rappelling incident?

My formation RSM was KKK (couldn't remember the battalion RSM). What a fine human specimen KKK is! [thumbsup]

I am also from 2nd Coy. 

Harban Singh and Kok Miao Chin right? :a-toast:

KKK is the loudest cdo :yuush:

Harban Singh and Kok Miao Chin right? :a-toast:

KKK is the loudest cdo :yuush:

Certainly loud but I appreciate his humour [laugh]

And when he f those newbie officers at the parade square, it was a glorious sight to behold  :D  

For me, standard BMT then posted to AETI. Was wondering WTF was that, never heard of it before..

Was at AFS at PLAB for 3 mths I think? Best time of NS life, 9-5 like going to school.

After that posted to SBAB 120 SQN.. Also one of best time of NS life.. OJT then went into shift work. Learnt tons of things in there, like driving on the runway, communicating with the ATC etc..but before that had to go through another round of driving test to drive the MID vehicles..also learnt how to tow an aircraft.

Crazy things we did were taking the aircraft wash to wash our cars. :D

Brunei detachment was fun also but not the C130 ride.. and also happened during SARS period..

SIA chartered a flight to bring all of us back, first time took business class.

After ORD, went on to further studies, never got called up for ICT.. but rest of the sqn mates all got called up for flag party supporting the national day fly past.

Those NS buddies are mates for life!

I think NS at Airforce or Navy are better, in term of welfare, than Army

Certainly loud but I appreciate his humour [laugh

And when he f those newbie officers at the parade square, it was a glorious sight to behold  :D  

During ICT at CTC, KKK always say he will drive taxi after his ORD from cdo  :XD:

I told him if our own guys flagged down his cab 100% will not board  :a-bang:

Especially those man he ever F them upside down before  :a-happy:

He ever F Fred Chong in the cookhouse remember? [sweatdrop

I missed the chicken rice at the swimming pool [:p]  and orderly room Jo Tan [inlove]

Edited by Pohhenry

with so many old camps demolished... are your camps still around?

the infamous Tekong bunk with the 3rd door certainly not around any more

my NCC camp (Springleaf camp) was flattened many years ago... i can't even remember its exact location now :D

You.  [laugh]

rambo-first-blood-ii-560.jpg

with so many old camps demolished... are your camps still around?

the infamous Tekong bunk with the 3rd door certainly not around any more

my NCC camp (Springleaf camp) was flattened many years ago... i can't even remember its exact location now :D

3door demolished liao ah..

Bittersweet.. I was from alpha co, also old camp. Woohoo long ago.

During ict many years later, did a exercise in tekong, remember going back to see my old bunk for old times sake.