Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

Thats the problem with such equipment. Even before fighting real enemies, soldiers already half dead from setting it up

Cannot say like that lah. 120mm mortar is usually towed to the deployment ground. Setting up is easy. 2-3 min kao tim..

Only on rare cases where there is no accessibility to DG via vehicle and range constrain, you die die need to sarpok the infantry bros....

Den manpack lor....

was told by my instructor during my stay at SAFTI that the GPMG course is also demanding. think need 3 guys as a team to manpack weapon (+ spare barrel ?), mount and ammo.

Still got a anti air stand.

Damn heavy.

I remember some 1 question who still use gun shoot aircraft.

Straight kenna arrow carry the stand.

That is with sbo helmet rife .

I remember I was the commander . I still got a bloody signal set with 2 weapon .

1 of my team kenna declare death .

suddenly the instructor tell me why I leave my buddy weapon behind for the enemy.

LPPL I pick up his m16.

2 m16 1 gmpg + signal set ,do fire fight and climb window

Forever remember that mission

it was private plate if i remembered and i believe the only 1 in singapore. at that time the only other G-wagen was a the command jeep.

Because it is classified

Thats the problem with such equipment. Even before fighting real enemies, soldiers already half dead from setting it up

Nah..dis is how they action front the 120 mortar..

Infantry hope tio liao. No more 120 mortar for arty...passed down to infantry many years ago..

This is a very specialised course n only selected few can get in so not surprising it’s tough.

I’m curious to know the general courses what is considered toughest besides commando n naval diver? I suppose it can’t really be measured n ego is such, most guys will say theirs the toughest but from my time of late 70s n early 80s, the following were normally mentioned as tough (not necessarily in order):

Basic Arty

Basic Combat Engineers

Basic Armour

Infantry courses like snipers etc

Obviously above is wide ranging so difficult to put a “tough rating” on it. As I’m in Arty, I know the Basic Arty course in those days range from manpack of 120mm mortar to clear obstacles, digging of mortar pits, an exercise called “makan angin” which is far from that

was told by my instructor during my stay at SAFTI that the GPMG course is also demanding. think need 3 guys as a team to manpack weapon (+  spare barrel ?), mount and ammo. 

spare barrel not that bad. The Gun, Tri-pod and the belts of 7.62mm really no joke. We were all cross trained, and went through a mini conversion course within the unit.  

But my time MG teams were always given to those siao keng ones, and the MG commanders also were all the grade 2 NCOs.. [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Been there...done that....they have a special harness designed to manpack the barrel and baseplate...

so far I only know 81mm manpack the guns and plate, the only bigger guns I know did that was the 106mm from 2 Guards when they were in starlight going up 虎头山, that was under Major Lim as CO. 

120mm, really never heard of, but when I was at lancer, the FO attached to us told us he heli-repelled down a 120mm from a Super puma when on course, and jumped down with his  gun from the chopper. We all went rolling on the floor. He knock out half way on our mission to ex buaya. His runner was a lot tougher than him,  took over the FO and finished the mission with us. We were all quite respectful of the runner, even bought him the ginger milk tea when back to base.  We actually accepted him as one of us  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

Still got a anti air stand.

Damn heavy.

I remember some 1 question who still use gun shoot aircraft.

Straight kenna arrow carry the stand.

That is with sbo helmet rife .

I remember I was the commander . I still got a bloody signal set with 2 weapon .

1 of my team kenna declare death .

suddenly the instructor tell me why I leave my buddy weapon behind for the enemy.

LPPL I pick up his m16.

2 m16 1 gmpg + signal set ,do fire fight and climb window

Forever remember that mission

spare barrel not that bad. The Gun, Tri-pod and the belts of 7.62mm really no joke. We were all cross trained, and went through a mini conversion course within the unit.  

But my time MG teams were always given to those siao keng ones, and the MG commanders also were all the grade 2 NCOs.. [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

yeah, carry ammo no joke. when we carry 8 full mags for our M16 already can pull down our SBO.

my sadist sergeant made the fittest guy (ie, anytime 20 swee swee chin ups one) lift up the GPMG with one arm ala Rambo, even he could not tahan more than half a min. 

hahaha. it was so bleeding obvious. always muscle men with semi crew cut, in some black or camo clothes

Actually most of the time they are wearing seal pt kit with boots [:p]

Brown colour "fruit of the loom" top with marine shorts :a-shoot:

Even taBaoing or makan or chilling at CP europa or Charlie's corner  :a-toast:

This is in the early 90s...now young gen might be wearing diff style liao  [thumbsup]

Dont think you can manpack the 120mm mortar la. Think you can only manpack the smaller version of 81mm mortar.

I’m a former 81mm mortar man..

The 6 wks mortar course was like Hell Camp,.

This is a very specialised course n only selected few can get in so not surprising it’s tough.

I’m curious to know the general courses what is considered toughest besides commando n naval diver? I suppose it can’t really be measured n ego is such, most guys will say theirs the toughest but from my time of late 70s n early 80s, the following were normally mentioned as tough (not necessarily in order):

Basic Arty

Basic Combat Engineers

Basic Armour

Infantry courses like snipers etc

Obviously above is wide ranging so difficult to put a “tough rating” on it. As I’m in Arty, I know the Basic Arty course in those days range from manpack of 120mm mortar to clear obstacles, digging of mortar pits, an exercise called “makan angin” which is far from that