Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

Alamak no one sat in Bedford’s ?? Lagi teruk one .... real bone shaker..... but at least those days got free pick up points .... nowadays must arrange own transport one

we are not so ancient lar....

Bedford? Any picture?

Ok managed to find one ......I remember the round hatch next to driver as seen in pix here .... very unique back then

Then came the Leylands which were smoother and gear shifts too

post-157298-0-22960100-1539005677_thumb.jpeg

Edited by BanCoe

dont think that time have swd or speed limiter.......all drive very fast wan, i not driver so no have inside info. The fastest were the fiats......power steering somemore. If mercedes, i see the driver turn the steering wheel i feel pity sia eventhough i was in a rifle company....

Bedford? Any picture?

bedford-rl-3ton-cargo-50-el-82.jpg

Speaking about Bedford trucks, who remembered all these on our roads decades ago?

Bedford-Trucks-Prices-Truck-Parts.png

Bed%2Bgreen%2BStock%2Bcrate.JPG

bedford_tk-.jpg

Bedford%20KM-Before%20Restoration%20Sm.j

unimog was part of my unit estab until the Fiats came in. Fiat very lay chey to climb up and down. During NDP parade, Fiat drivers were reminded repeatedly to use throttle control and minimal brakes otherwise the guys at the back will lose balance. Can be a bit embarrassing if the guys lose balance at Padang that stretch.  [laugh]

we did a groupie in the field, 10 of us shower under moonlight. jin lomantic one ...  [:p]

SAF still have Unimogs now?

bedford-rl-3ton-cargo-50-el-82.jpg

Speaking about Bedford trucks, who remembered all these on our roads decades ago?

Bedford-Trucks-Prices-Truck-Parts.png

Bed%2Bgreen%2BStock%2Bcrate.JPG

bedford_tk-.jpg

Bedford%20KM-Before%20Restoration%20Sm.j

SAF still have Unimogs now?

Unimogs retired long long ago.

My unit land rovers and unimogs (and later Fiats) all have SWD

For some odd reason 5 ton Merc don't have. So that was transport of choice when need to drive out to collect fresh ration during field exercise. Serious workhorses those 5 tons. [thumbsup]

Yes, I did hear our drivers sharing experiences of flooring the 5 tons around Tuas and Lim Chu Kang. [sly]

I think they were phasing out the older mercedes and replacing with the fiats.......maybe thats why there were no swd. That time there were no ciq in tuas yet.....the road ends near the sea and a bund leading to kranji area.

Bedford? Any picture?

Ok managed to find one ......I remember the round hatch next to driver as seen in pix here .... very unique back then

Wa, never see before. Which era one de?

It was an era .... even remember Berliet’s around ..... the logo similar to Volvo but were special purpose vehicles like tow trucks

Bedford? Any picture?

Very nice Bedford  [thumbsup]

During NS time my best memory was sitting inside the SAF Black Benz G-Wagen  [inlove]