Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

I called my sargeant SIR when i was a recruit. The fella shout at my face....i am not your sir...you better dont call me sir! I am not your farking officer! Get that in your head! That was Sargeant Sathiveloo for you.

In the 70's NSF, Officer and NCO are trained by the Israelis and attach to recruits platoons and companies to conduct full 3 months BMT, MINDEF wanted to honour these corporal and above NCO's as Training Officers and ordered them as Commisioner Officer for these recruit soldiers.

After pass out parade, the soildier will address NCO's with their ranks of corporal, sergent, staff-sergent....except Warrant Officer as Inche or RSM = Regiment Sergent Major.

In the 70's NSF, Officer and NCO are trained by the Israelis and attach to recruits platoons and companies to conduct full 3 months BMT, MINDEF wanted to honour these corporal and above NCO's as Training Officers and ordered them as Commisioner Officer for these recruit soldiers.

After pass out parade, the soildier will address NCO's with their ranks of corporal, sergent, staff-sergent....except Warrant Officer as Inche or RSM = Regiment Sergent Major.

Wah...din know that! Thanks for the clarification. Actually its not inche..its Encik....which stands for Mr. A relic from our colonial pass.

Edited by Eviilusion

Was it the one where only two gun salutes were fired instead of three?

Yup... I was at that parade too....heard lotsa huhsss????

Seemed like a lot of Armor folks here. As a gun nut, I'm glad to be part of the Armor family. Where else can I get to operate a range of weapons from 5.56mm all the way to 40mm AGL. I was the platoon's "heavy arms IC" and I'm one of those siao kia who always kena arrowed to strip and assemble the heavy weapons at double quick time to send back to armstoke after a long day.... or to mount the HMG/AGL on the cupola at doublequick time with all blanks attachments fixed and blanks belted before moving out of the training shed...

Otherwise for me my NS are mostly downs, esp after I settled into my unit with an operationally incompetent and sadistic superior. An officer who is a sword of merit, who is the only officer to tekan specialist and men in the whole company, and knows nuts about his vocation which led us to failure many times despite our attempts to correct his judgment. He is one of those siao on to do silly things but when shack cannot think liao.

Luckily I pressed on with positive mindset and luckily my bunch of guys in my platoon are the best folks I've know to trust with my life.....

This is delicated to my farkup PC during my NS in my unit 1999-2001 xxSAR xxCoy xxxPlatoon

Edited by Pocus

If amx kana round from 84mm or 106mm what happen? Always want to see them do that but they always use plywood and tank silhoutte for live firing.

most likely the turret will shoot up into the sky. [laugh]

if you got the chance to visit our armour museum, you can see how these anti tank round punch thru armour plates.

most likely the turret will shoot up into the sky. [laugh]

if you got the chance to visit our armour museum, you can see how these anti tank round punch thru armour plates.

All i know is aAT rounds are shaped charges...learnt from History channels Tank Battle.

what do you think?

ok, ok, no harm telling you:- we served our country with our sweats n tears, she served us with her sweet smiles..... soft power :D:wub:

Hmm....I am sure if the next day you were to go into real combat and die there, you would have no regrets! [laugh]

Wah...din know that! Thanks for the clarification.

If you ask those borned in the 50's old uncles, they'll tell you many camp oldies which is far apart as compare with the newer batches of soildiers.

Notes:

1) Languages Name Tag, Green=English Speaking / Orange=Mandarin Speaking / Red=Hokkien Speaking

2) Starch Uniform with Mirror Shinning Boots for Parade Marching.

3) Use alluminium Mastin and a plastic mug for cook house food collection to eat.

4) Red & Green beans soup for night training.

5) Compo ration(super hard biscuits) for toppo and road march.

6) Punishment for Extra Drills till mid-night at parade square.

7) and so on............... [knife][dead]

NS is indeed one of male Singaporeans' fav chit chat topics, other than women, beer and football

Only 2 days, this thread already close to 500 replies

NS is also a topic to separate the citizens and PR, and men and women, and lastly the men and the boys. :D

This is delicated to my farkup PC during my NS in my unit 1999-2001 xxSAR xxCoy xxxPlatoon

Is your PC a regular?

Was in rockhampton ex wallaby.... after morning assault... the air was cool and nice.... decided to s--t.... move to a side took off and let go....

Can feel the cool air on my butt... and the surrounding was nice and quiet with a few kangaroos thinking what the hell is that guy doing???

Best s--t I ever had...

All i know is aAT rounds are shaped charges...learnt from History channels Tank Battle.

there is also one type called APFSDS aka Armor-Piercing, Fin-Stabilized, Discarding Sabot.

pure kinetic energy round punching thru tank armour.

If amx kana round from 84mm or 106mm what happen? Always want to see them do that but they always use plywood and tank silhoutte for live firing.

The AMX-13 Frontal steel armour is only 40mm. The M113 APC is around that same but uses aluminium....even worst. These relics don't stand a chance with conventional AT weapons, even during my time...

NS is also a topic to separate the citizens and PR, and men and women, and lastly the men and the boys. :D

Something that you guys might not aware about NSF, good boy will become abit bad boy and bad boy will become abit good boy within the blending and mixtures of all different family brought-up, culture & races in our society to be a soldiers in the 2 years training [cool]

Was in rockhampton ex wallaby.... after morning assault... the air was cool and nice.... decided to s--t.... move to a side took off and let go....

Can feel the cool air on my butt... and the surrounding was nice and quiet with a few kangaroos thinking what the hell is that guy doing???

Best s--t I ever had...

Please look around for Rattle Snakes to snatch away your Piston [laugh][:p]

Something that you guys might not aware about NSF, good boy will become abit bad boy and bad boy will become abit good boy within the blending and mixtures of all different family brought-up, culture & races in our society to be a soldiers in the 2 years training [cool]

yalor.....I was one of the good boys who were introduced to the dark side of KTVs......... :ph34r:[laugh]