Let's talk about NS... good memories or nightmares?

Scion

Anyone know any Specs who converted to Officer mid career? Have to go thru OCS, of course.

I remembered a OCS dropout join my coy and came under my charge. However he went back to retake his OCS, passed out and rejoin my coy as PC and I reported to him directly

ok. Think I know which case already. If I am not wrong, the recruit's either mother or father pass away and request to go home but PC give him nasty remarks. This recruit is also those quiet quiet type.

Think he "can't think open" and shot his PC.

BTW, the dead PC was my brother's platoon mate during OCS training.

Yes, that was what I heard as well. Very sad case

hi toyo, think I am is the same batch as you.

you are from Charlie platoon 9, bunk next to the "famous" three doors bunk?

the above incident have on 2nd or 3rd Sept 1993 right during night range.

the recruit is from Alpha company, tekong first PTP batch.

My PC was the pall bearer for the death PC

Yes, same batch. I was fr bravo platoon 7.

Towards end of our BMT one of my mate was beaten by E coy at the cookhouse. We went back to gather some guys and march to E coy for revenge but was caught by our CSM at the parade sq. my OC who is clearing his leave prior to his ROD came bk and gathered all of us at Charlie 3 dr bunk. (that's how we went in)

Wah bro, I went in 95 already 3rd mono intake 40SAR. You must be even before that? Full armour battalion ?? you are OLD BRO !! [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Enlisted in 1973 boarded 3 tonner at MINDEF Tanglin Road, sudah tua liao [:(] Please don't push me in MCF MU, I'll drop dead [dead]

congrats

you are probably the most lao jiao of all ex-NSmen in MCF [thumbsup][laugh]

Mine probably no memory and boring as i'm consider a white horse, uncle happened to be 3 crabs when i was enlisted

I'm allow to book out everyday and no guard duty

I can even say that i had never even done BMT also

The day when the 3 tonner pick me up from mindef to the reporting camp, i was greeted by my uncle at the parade square

On the same enlisted day i book out liao

During high key I can also move around freely even when i was in taiwan, thailand, australia

Best of all rsm let me drive his car home on a daily basis since he dont use the car

Edited by Dfx16

congrats

you are probably the most lao jiao of all ex-NSmen in MCF [thumbsup][laugh]

Most likely trained by the israelis too.

Yes, that was what I heard as well. Very sad case

Not nice to ask this...but how come pc reluctant to release the fella since it was a valid reason. My unit sent 2 fellas home from overseas training for the same reason. One was my company...both was when we were in saiyok..they went back on different days but the one from my company later claim that he was sennt to bangkok by helicopter...dont know true or not. But the other guy was my cousin ( he was from bravo same unit as me). Another evacuee was my nco...his appendix burst during ROC. Fella was sent home on SIA Business Class and the stewardess were attending to him like a wife attending her sick hubby....happy siak!

have to admit they are quite efficient on this...

i MR early this year (completed 10 ICTs), got my watch and MR cert in the ceremony, and the CPF topup was done in the following month

even though my official MR date is listed early next year (technically they can still call me up) [cool]

Initially I thought the $3000 would be lump sum into OA, on checking then discovered they break down into OA. SA and medisave.

This thread only sees the Soldier and Navy, where are the Air Force, Police Constable and VC buddies ?

[:(][smallcry]

you no read properly lah.......I already said I'm from the SPF......we're known as Special Constables actually...... [laugh]

Hahaha...that was the 30 rounder....if it was the 100 rounder drum...there will be so many bullets on the ground...xiao. I carried 3 drums during battalion standby...plus fbo...want to stand also difficult siak!

Rifle cleaning till kee siao

my NSF memories -

1. turn out middle of the night

2. chg parade incl FBO in various forms (no. 4, civilian, underwear)

3. get wet, sandy, wet & sandy during lecture & field trg

4. weapon overhead high kneeling

5. FBO defaulters parade, prone, charge, prone, charge, low rope...

6. water parade tekan 3l, drink till merlion

7. standy by bed & cupboard in parade sq

8. human stack up to 4 layer due to IC forgot to buy trainer lunch during field trg

9. field camp wo bath for a week; only powder bath

10. pow trg / treatment

11. guard duty/ turn out

12. mt biang bashing

13. mt berdayang river x-ing

14. taiwan five finger mount

15. nights out at changi village

16. aust reservist trg - 3 weeks w 4 days actual trg

17. "welfare" dinner bot from safti canteen during live firing

18. "welfare" outside food during islandwide radio exercise

19. sleeping on hammock during trg after gotten beret

20. survival trg at tekong k.