TVT Supercharged October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 it reminds me of an incident when a 10-tonner in our convoy went puncek during an outfield exercise my platoon had to help the driver to change its tyre (about 1.5m in diameter)... damn siong! dunno why we din call for the maintenance team back then What vehicle is a 10-tonner? That is almost the weight of a M113 carrier which is 11-tons! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Could be a blessing in disguise An NSF died 3 days before his ROD (yes we still had ROD back in the 80s). It was a nite training in Thailand and the M113 overturned and fell into a 9m cliff. He was manning the GPMG then and fell asleep during training. I remembered his head almost chopped off except for a fold of skin. Many Thai monks came to pray for him and he had a State Burial back in Singapore. I was speechless when I saw his distraught parents Wah lao.. which year were you in armour? i was also involved in an exercise in thailand when one m113 turned turtle off a cliff... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Cannot jump means pcc too much lar...or too much bedminton. Knees becomes loose. I ever told off a young lad for that and he can come up to me alone asking me how i know...ccb....play soccer cannot even dribble or run with the ball but i know he is better than that. He paisey and walk ofg...i told him if he need to do that do it a few days before a match! Knn... [laugh] Next time I tell PTI I pcc too much so ask him excuse SBJ. FYI, I can dribble very well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Live firing on Poyan reservoir was tough yet the view was breath taking. Hope they will never develop that area. Alamak... now then realise my mistake... i mentioned that Poyan range view was like Jurassic Park. It's actually Poyan reservoir, not range... too long ago, forgot liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Few months prior our incumbent BSM ROD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 That was Ex Cressendo for 46SAR, think was in either 1989 or 1990. Yes, it was a sad moment that day, a black day for armour! When it happened, the whole battlion stopped the mission, do largar and the soldiers rest (many did not know that someone had died). hi... were you from Charlie Coy? I still remember the CSM shouting at the top of his voice for all medics in the company to go to the front of the vehicle coloumn... From tactical movement before accident, after that all vehicles turned on headlights to go to largar site... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Alamak... now then realise my mistake... i mentioned that Poyan range view was like Jurassic Park. It's actually Poyan reservoir, not range... too long ago, forgot liao... How come poyan range like Jurassic Park? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 How come poyan range like Jurassic Park? You hear this great roar and the water puddles vibrate.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 during my era (mid-90s), one of the scariest postings was to combat engineers i remembered i prayed very hard not to be posted there after BMT saw some of my friends (posted there) waiting for the 3-tonners in very low morale heard the first moment when they arrived at their camps, their seniors greeted them "welcome to hell!" but now combat engineers all use machines so not as siong anymore yah me later went SCE too... that was after safincos... some of my BMT mates were posted directly to Pioneer... and they thought it was related to the Pioneer magazine [laugh] but it's actually combat engineer become men... siong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 yes it was 46 SAR, should be 1991 cos I was returning to camp to serve my last 3 mths as I had disrupted to study. when i reached my work area, my colleague told me there was an accident and told me those remained in the camp was told to help out in the wake. All the helpers were scolded by family members ( can understand their feeling)... My workshop sgt took a photo of the overturned tank...after it was recovered.... very tragic indeed. Cannot be. It was 1989 year end, confirmed, cos i was about 100 m behind the 'C' Coy 2IC vehicle that overturned. It took a wrong route as it was tactical movement with 2IC leading the column to largar site... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 - no white horse (bullsh|t! this one confirm have) Yes, I read the paper. I no big shot, just a clerk. The intent is as per what the Minister said. oh no need that white scientist horse my time already got one in my BMT company... think son or nephew of some BG, a Eurasian my company did have more canteen breaks than others... tekan also lesser 7BTS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 How come poyan range like Jurassic Park? with the mangrove plants having roots above water that is still, in dim light overnight, plus the open ground (can see far), and the sound of nature, it reminded me of the scenes of dinosaurs movies (before Jurassic Park at that time)... serious, that was my instinctive thoughts when I saw the sight... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 can see a handful of guys from the black beret family. was an armoured engineer during my NS days. my trainer always joked that we were the "blowjob" specialists. anyone participated in the inaugural Ex Lion Walk in '94? Hey, same same here... call sign 52 also is it?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 Yup, encik Fum, big sized fellow . He became RSM of 46 SAR around that time... arrh.... yes, him... think he was HQ CSM before becoming RSM... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 46SAR is damn old and eerie, esp the vehicle shed. one of the prowling check point is at the rear gate that lead to Area D. My platoon mate one vehicle knocked down the rear gate when going out to support other units' exercise... RSM looked for him sign extra... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 after one or twice was Ok lar... to me the worst is when there was troop returning from area D... esp after a heavy downpour... bloody hell have to walk all the way from guard room to the rear to unlock and open the gate....damn muddy. and not forgetting the long walk from the guard room to the main road to take bus home on Saturday. It was even longer when we returned for reservist when it was at the old RATC which was further in..... You already good... only did it during reservist... I was in the camp (Sugei Gedong Camp 3, before all three camps were fenced up to be Sungei Gedong Camp Complex later on) initially in 38 SCE, before posting to next door 46 SAR (Sungei Gedong Camp 1) then... Had to walk out every Sat for 7 mth... And during that time had to clean the manhole in the area where the M113s and tanks (the one with AVLB) were washed (can't remember the name of that place already)... the mud collected at the manhole could be chest level high... someone had to jump in to scoop up the mud then others throw outside the fence, in area D... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 You already good... only did it during reservist... I was in the camp (Sugei Gedong Camp 3, before all three camps were fenced up to be Sungei Gedong Camp Complex later on) initially in 38 SCE, before posting to next door 46 SAR (Sungei Gedong Camp 1) then... Had to walk out every Sat for 7 mth... And during that time had to clean the manhole in the area where the M113s and tanks (the one with AVLB) were washed (can't remember the name of that place already)... the mud collected at the manhole could be chest level high... someone had to jump in to scoop up the mud then others throw outside the fence, in area D... D801 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 2, 2013 Share October 2, 2013 with the mangrove plants having roots above water that is still, in dim light overnight, plus the open ground (can see far), and the sound of nature, it reminded me of the scenes of dinosaurs movies (before Jurassic Park at that time)... serious, that was my instinctive thoughts when I saw the sight... Lol, i forgot how the surrounding of poyan range looks like?! Only remember the surrounding there very quiet and dark at night! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...