Traffic Police get extra help from auxiliary officers

Darthrevan

last sunday evening saw TP expressway patrol volvo with lights flashing, at ECP carpark beside sunsetbay pub n restaurant, 1 middle aged angmoh guy handcuffed and placed at backseat, nearby saw 1 BMW 5 series with entire right side badly damaged, wonder if drink driving and side swipe. hope angmoh not given chance coz FT..........

U wait at the traffic courts lor then update us. [:p]

Catch also those who likes to on 'High Beam' and Fog lights when our streets & roads are brightly litted ..... :angry:

And Taxis who have one side normal beam and the right at 'High Beam' ....... [furious]

brake lights also.. 9.9/10 taxi have faulty brake lights... IMHO, faulty brake light even more lethal...

lol. like that they then got excuse can slowly outsource cabinet mah.. get our pay but hide in other country..

SPF can outsource, why army never outsource!!!! no fair!!!!

Airport police are our state police. Singapore only got 3 aux police force. They are cisco, aetos and SATS police. More commonly, they are known as rent a cop.

you're right, Airport Police is an unit of the SPF just like the rest of the Land Division.

Aux police still got others, like the CIAS Aux Police and PSA Aux Police etc.....

I guess, u are the ONLY Odd person that change in pairs.

If spoit, both spoilt. Then no headlamp for that few days.

Change 1 will do. At least you are sure that 1 of the headlamp will be working.

i buy bulb in pairs. so i change in pairs lor

What a joke....cyclist and pedestrians jaywalk should leave it to Cisco enforcement.

TP Plate should be on the expressway or on the road.

The deployment of these APOs are part of the TP's initiatives to step up enforcement efforts. At least nine APOs are deployed everyday around the island at various locations to take action against offences such as drivers beating red lights, cyclists riding on the footway or pedestrians jaywalking.

I'm not surprised, maybe safety briefing before moving out to the roads. Go for easy targets, those very heavy vehicles, leave them alone.

Cyclists and pedestrians are pretty harmless, unless there's a mad group out there who starts stabbing TPs when approached, then probably they'll also leave this group alone.

people usually change in pairs leh

I think most change the blown bulb only. I also change one only. Unless both gone at the same time.

i buy bulb in pairs. so i change in pairs lor

So the old bulb that wasn't blown you just throw away huh ?

entire cabinet can be outsourced if the moolahs right......save cost

Outsourcing does not save costs. If it does, it means the salary of the employee is severely depressed.

Some of the breakdown for outsourcing besides salary includes paying the company CPF, outsourcing fee, 13th month, bonus, insurance and workman compensation.

Go figure if it does really save cost or salary is depressed.

If need extra help, why not recruit more Traffic Police officers?? Why must hand over the job to Auxiliary cops?? So private companies can earn government money?? Same like Brompton Bike case, NParks staff go set up own company to sell ownself bicycle using public funds. Huat ah!!!

Auxillary cops many are from Malaysia. In Malaysia, these ppl anyhow park their cars, got their driving license thru "unofficial" methods, Then they come across the causeway to lord over Singaporeans who spend thousands of dollars booking many "money-sucking" practical lessons just to get their license. It's like getting a bad punk-ass street-wise monkey to look over nice docile obedient monkey just in case they break the law.

Fully agree with this. Whats the point of outsourcing jobs that police ought to be doing? Its not like they have some shareholders to please. Some scholars in Home Affairs must have written a paper on this and got a promotion.. [rolleyes]

Harlow we live in Singapore Inc. ok? Of course got shareholders to please. You want to raid the reserves issit?!?!

That's why I asked earlier, who are the stakeholders of this Aetos and Cisco. I dig dig abit this is what I found:

---Quote---

AETOS Security Management, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd, provides integrated and tailor-made solutions that cater to the security needs of a diverse clientele.

---Unquote---

---Quote---

Corporatised on 1 June 2005 as a wholly owned subsidiary of Temasek Holdings, Certis CISCO today has operations in Singapore, China, Hong Kong, Macau, Indonesia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and the United Arab Emirates, employing over 19,000 people.

---Unquote---

*wink wink, nudge nudge*

If one day we quarrel with our neighbor and they decide to recall all their citizen back to their motherland, so who is going to protect Singapore?? From marine to aviation security, bank and now traffic enforcement we can see aux police. Do we really need to depend on them? Unable to recruit real police officer?

SPF has always been struggling to hire and many regulars had resigned every year.

During my time my unit is always below full strength and we need to borrow manpower from the neighboring units.

And these few years some new units like the Transport Security Command had been setup and more manpower were sucked away, thus makes the manpower even thinner.

Give the guys in blue a break..........I don't care if they sub-con the non-critical work out, just as long the job is being done. <_<

SPF has always been struggling to hire and many regulars had resigned every year.

During my time my unit is always below full strength and we need to borrow manpower from the neighboring units.

And these few years some new units like the Transport Security Command had been setup and more manpower were sucked away, thus makes the manpower even thinner.

Give the guys in blue a break..........I don't care if they sub-con the non-critical work out, just as long the job is being done. <_<

Shouldn't the HR practices be looked at so our boys in blues get treated properly rather than do this? We are trying to take care of the symptom rather than address the actual problem. Outsourcing is so much of giving them a break than killing them in the long run.

it's easier said than done........S'poreans complained about the lack of TP presence on the roads and TP responds with the quickest solution which other Home Team units had employed successfully ie sub-con to aux police units.

Attracting people to join uniformed bodies is not easy and after every graduation from the basic training, every units get only a certain number of newbies. Unless the compensation and benefits are greatly increased which will translate to higher taxes or an economy downturn occurs , this situation will remain.

If anyone has good suggestions on how to improve the recruitment for SPF, I'm sure it will consider your suggestion.

Till then, let's give them a chance to prove themselves before armchair critics like us put them down...... -_-