Rustyz 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 That's why i say SG NS is damn song when compared to MY NS. Although the BMT part training is more shiong than their training, but at least we get proper bed, bathroom etc.. Food wise, it's subjective la. BMT food was the best IMHO!hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Yeah lo.. but there is no way to prove mah! no pink IC, passport not ready, no certificate of citizenship!! imagine you kena routine check by police!! lol... I can't remember, but ICA got issue temp IC pending collection of your pink IC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Author Share September 30, 2013 Then why in your 1st post stated that you are "in the same situation" as your friend's? From some of the posters here wanting to get SG citizenship or getting SG passport, one cannot ignore that some pple like to play "2 timers" for the self benefit while avoiding NS, be it in SG or MY. Like I said, life's no free lunch. Same as in my kids are in the same predicament as my friend's kids laa.... Don't get confuse here. My whole family gave up MY citizenship. No intention of freeloading from MY. Just that they REFUSE to let the kids to give up. Clear now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 well, i would say my situation is even worse mah.. considering that I didnt' even have SG citizenship the more they shouldn't or wouldnt let me renounce.. this is because, you have to get the certificate of renounce first and provide to ICA then can get SG citizenship. failure to do so, you will not be granted SG citizenship... My case is, the application to renounce Malaysian citizenship (completed by you and signed by MY high comm) will be used to prove that you've renounced the citizenship. And ICA will use this as a basis to give you your SG citizenship. The official renunciation cert from MY will only arrive 6 mths after you submit the form to MY high comm. By then i already have my pink IC and SG passport liao. Just need to go down ICA to show them the renunciation cert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 BMT food was the best IMHO!hahaha comparing to other camp.. ya.. Tekong food (the tekong NOW, not the one in the early 90s) is helluva better compared to mainland camps. Probably the only better cookhouse food i can think of is SAFTI MI and MINDEF. Both happen to have alot of crabs and stars walking around. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 (edited) link what u think? Based on my own Tekong pre-WW2 camp-1 BMT experience, pretty much similar in the mattress and pillow department. All stained and yellowed...and we didn't even complain nor did our parents during the initial weeks. But I did "enjoy" the discipline and takan sessions that was drilled into our recruit mind-set. IMO, SG NS is not a walk in park for good reason. BTW, do MY NS trainee do area cleaning? Edited September 30, 2013 by Wishcumstrue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Same as in my kids are in the same predicament as my friend's kids laa.... Don't get confuse here. My whole family gave up MY citizenship. No intention of freeloading from MY. Just that they REFUSE to let the kids to give up. Clear now? Simple. Get the letter from ICA proving your child's nationality. Send a copy to Malaysia high comm and ask for their reply. If this turns out negative, check with your MP. To make double sure, if you have a son reaching 12, make sure he gets pre-enlistees done for SG NS liability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Then why in your 1st post stated that you are "in the same situation" as your friend's? From some of the posters here wanting to get SG citizenship or getting SG passport, one cannot ignore that some pple like to play "2 timers" for the self benefit while avoiding NS, be it in SG or MY. Like I said, life's no free lunch. there is no way you can avoid holding both countries citizenship while avoiding NS on both country. It is either one or the other. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 That was when my dad decided to move us to Singapore. Due to better education and safer environment. Btw, he passed away last year.. and i'm toying with the idea of going back to Jakarta now. [laugh] Good luck with your Jakarta plan. Once can never know when May'98 will repeat again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Same as in my kids are in the same predicament as my friend's kids laa.... Don't get confuse here. My whole family gave up MY citizenship. No intention of freeloading from MY. Just that they REFUSE to let the kids to give up. Clear now? where did you went? I went the MY high comm in Singapore. I also remembered that they are more polite and easy going there. I can only say, I finished SG NS before 21 and did all these things myself.. If my dad was you, I wouldn't have remembered a thing!! lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Author Share September 30, 2013 Simple. Get the letter from ICA proving your child's nationality. Send a copy to Malaysia high comm and ask for their reply. If this turns out negative, check with your MP. To make double sure, if you have a son reaching 12, make sure he gets pre-enlistees done for SG NS liability. All these are done above board and MY side well know the SG citizenship status of my kids. This is not something new and has been in such process for god knows when. As far as MP is concern, they have no jurisdiction over MY side. Heck, during my time, MY side took so long just to submit the renunciation form, ICA also lan lan have to wait for us, though they gave a timeframe of within 3 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 there is no way you can avoid holding both countries citizenship while avoiding NS on both country. It is either one or the other. In our ideal world, people learn to repay the benefit they gain from a society. Unfortunately, there will always be leeches around. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Good luck with your Jakarta plan. Once can never know when May'98 will repeat again. There will be telltale signs. Only thing is, that time was exam period, so we decided to hold out until my exams end. Who knows, the riot started on the last day of school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 hahaha.. that's true.. but those units you mentioned are the minority mah.. most of us just got in to those normal units where life is isn't that miserable.. or rather, relax.. in fact, i wish i was able to doing all those tough stuff since it will be quite an eye opener.. didn't have the chance to.. At any one time there are 6 rifle unit....3 guards unit....1 commando unit and a few ce unit on active duty! U tell me are they the minority? These groups are the majority in saf unless u talking about ns as a whole...police and scdf counted! There are a lot of horror story especially from the initial stage of ns till right now. Even though we dont like ns we try to give our all. One tough guy from my unit whom i met recently even told me not to talk about our ns days as it was that bad.....and it has been more than 10 yrs since we mr! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 comparing to other camp.. ya.. Tekong food (the tekong NOW, not the one in the early 90s) is helluva better compared to mainland camps. Probably the only better cookhouse food i can think of is SAFTI MI and MINDEF. Both happen to have alot of crabs and stars walking around. [laugh] Cook house also got chef special one. Like MI I tried the bkt before Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 But these guys comes out usually are tougher and stronger (in character), and more confident and independent. And their friendship with their buddies also stronger! Hahaha...sibei true! Very independant until i really heckcare about my family when i initially ord! Life was tough but enjoyable especially when u see the unit as a big family! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear October 1, 2013 Share October 1, 2013 (edited) There will be telltale signs. Only thing is, that time was exam period, so we decided to hold out until my exams end. Who knows, the riot started on the last day of school. That is why so many Indonesians here in Singapore..and you happened to be the result of this event. Any sign of trouble, those who can afford will fly off at moment notice. Sad people. I remember SAF was placed on alert when the the Jakarta demonstration against Suharto deteriorated before May 1998. There was info the riot and violence pattern were started by some elements within the Indonesian military after they fail to control the students demonstration. One of many reasons why SG NS existed. Edited October 1, 2013 by Wishcumstrue ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...