Any dual SG/MY citizen kids kena MY NS?

Tjkbeluga

So did you went back MY to serve their NS ?

Nope I didn't. Like I said, I was born and grew up here. Don't understand much malay language.. Definitely going to be a target board if I go.. Siao meh!!!

Count urself lucky then to get into a holiday chalet for ns. If u get a rifle/guards/ce or commando u dont get to sleep in the bunk for half of the serving yr....and lunch/dinner in camp is a luxury and u will learn to eat using a broken off styrofoam box. Even the storeman from this units has it tough.

hahaha.. that's true.. but those units you mentioned are the minority mah.. most of us just got in to those normal units where life is isn't that miserable.. or rather, relax..

in fact, i wish i was able to doing all those tough stuff since it will be quite an eye opener.. didn't have the chance to..

Edited by Knoobie

why they need you to do NS when they dun even trust the chinese? then ask you to exercise for 3 months and thats it, trying to tell people they also have the similar national service program? <_< <_<

They have to include all the races mah. If not how to explain how come one race is exempted leh?

Count urself lucky then to get into a holiday chalet for ns. If u get a rifle/guards/ce or commando u dont get to sleep in the bunk for half of the serving yr....and lunch/dinner in camp is a luxury and u will learn to eat using a broken off styrofoam box. Even the storeman from this units has it tough.

But these guys comes out usually are tougher and stronger (in character), and more confident and independent. And their friendship with their buddies also stronger! [:)]

Nope I didn't. Like I said, I was born and grew up here. Don't understand much malay language.. Definitely going to be a target board if I go.. Siao meh!!!

and if my kids do go back and do NS in MY...surely get tekan like hell....can't speak a word of malay...

yup, you get my point... that's why if he's a boy, wait for SG NS and serve and convert SG citizenship.

Otherwise, he will still be called up even he is PR. Imagine I renounce liao my relative in KL say my name pop out in news paper again after so many years.

If shes a girl, then I don't know how to help you liao...

yup, you get my point... that's why if he's a boy, wait for SG NS and serve and convert SG citizenship.

Otherwise, he will still be called up even he is PR. Imagine I renounce liao my relative in KL say my name pop out in news paper again after so many years.

If shes a girl, then I don't know how to help you liao...

yup yup....agree, no point for him to go back liao...all his frens and whatnot is here......somemore SG Gov giving him scholarship..so i think is right for him to do NS here! Anyway, he cannot go back also lah....he will scream like mad if he go back!!!

Afetr that, it's totally up to him on what he want to do with his life, be it in SG or somewhere else...hor!!

So what did you do to avoid MY NS? Just ignore the notification?

ehh.. but I feel MY side the "suffering" make the serving more like military..

Singapore one is holiday camp.. good food good bed... any time ask mum write complain letter sure win...

Ya. But there they don't teach you how to kill enemies, here they really teach you about combat skills.

Was your Dad disappointed when you came back to do NS and take up SG citizenship???

Nope. after i move back from Jakarta in 1999, his plan was for me to take up SG citizenship ultimately.

why they need you to do NS when they dun even trust the chinese? then ask you to exercise for 3 months and thats it, trying to tell people they also have the similar national service program? <_< <_<

They don't teach you how to fight enemies there. There's a regular army for that. Malaysia NS is purely to bond the 3 races together.

there are other thing to do for bonding, soccer, board game, bowling, billiard, karaoke, etc [laugh] [laugh]

They don't teach you how to fight enemies there. There's a regular army for that. Malaysia NS is purely to bond the 3 races together.

there are other thing to do for bonding, soccer, board game, bowling, billiard, karaoke, etc [laugh] [laugh]

Try forcing 50% of the 18yo to all go soccer/board game/bowling/billiard/karaoke together.. I think havoc ah.. [laugh] [laugh]

A friend of mine was asking. For those kids who are below 21 and took up SG citizenship, they are not allowed to renounce their MY citizenship until the age of 21. I wonder will they be picked to do MY's NS or not..... Since we are also in the same situation, I'm curious to know too...

Anybody has such experience?

everyone's gotta pay their due, one way or another.

If want to enjoy benefits from both countries, then jolly well contribute back x 2. No free lunch.

My 0.01 ringgit.

Edited by Wishcumstrue

I read their NS (National Service Training Programme (PLKN) often ended up recruit fighting one another in the barrack.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/murder-national-camp-045504323.html

Program Latihan Khidmat Negara (PLKN) aka Malaysia's national service program.

plkn-ns-logo.jpg

Only when u stay together then can bond lah. :D

i played 24 hour of billiard before or 2 days 2 nights of mahjong, the bonding was very strong i must say [laugh] [laugh]