Holdenutessv Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 comical. hopefully our boys can still match the MY boys Make that M.Y boys/girls. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Heard from my M'sian cousin MY Army camp is damn rundown... Always kena blackout & water supply cutoff. Camp is haunted & dirty. Also mentioned that he cannot eat pork during weekend book out, otherwise will see 'Hantu' when he go back to camp. Dunno how true... In terms of facilities, our amy camp way better than theirs, maciam like resort... In fact, our camp is better than some resorts in M'sia!!! but NS here no xmm to see!!! there you got xmm to do 5BX together leh!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 for chinese the chances of been called up will be very slim, even that can make up excuses to avoid mah 50% of the kids from each state will kena. and it's purely luck, 2 of my cousins kena liao.. Heng i didn't kena. Otherwise i'll be the 1st batch. Rather do 2 yrs NS in Singapore, at least SG side is proper military. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Defer NS for Singapore until 20yo. Don't fark care the reminder or warning from MY. Just go High Commission at Jervois to speak to the counselor saying your child still studying. They will offer letter stating that defer is granted. Even thou, the name may appear on MY State papers saying your child did not attend NS. Then when the time comes, serve Singapore NS and get Singapore Citizenship and process to renounce MY citizenship. Don't be surprise after some years, your child's name still appear on state newspaper saying he/she AWOL despite renounce citizenship back then. if is daughter kena, I don't know what to do already.. Anyway, they say if daughter better don't serve also.. there has been rumours that it is quite havoc inside.. My female cousin kena called up. She say it's like a holiday camp there. Yes, there are cases of rape etc, but it's far and isolated cases when compared to the big picture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Wrong. They follow the citizenship status of their parent. This is a misconception by a lot of people. So if my wife go US to deliver our child, would that make my child as a US citizen? I was a 2nd gen Singapore PR which was born and I grew up here. Served NS and the first batch to win the "lottery" from MY NS. Both true and false. If your parents are not citizens of country A, but you are born there, country A will offer their citizenship to YOU (I believe most countries practise this). But your parents can opt to take up the offer. Happens to me. I was born in SG, dad is Malaysian and mom Indonesian. Dad rejected SG govt offer and opt for me to take Malaysian citizenship. But after 20 years, i am back here, serve my 2 years and converted "back" to Singapore citizen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 (edited) Heard from my M'sian cousin MY Army camp is damn rundown... Always kena blackout & water supply cutoff. Camp is haunted & dirty. Also mentioned that he cannot eat pork during weekend book out, otherwise will see 'Hantu' when he go back to camp. Dunno how true... In terms of facilities, our amy camp way better than theirs, maciam like resort... In fact, our camp is better than some resorts in M'sia!!! Knowing malaysia situation, funds allocated for food, amenities and maintenance to the camps... mostly will disappear into pockets from high to low. That's why there were recent reports about camps so run-down that trainees refuse to report back! Also, standards differ because the kids that do malaysia NS hail from very different backgrounds. What is acceptable to someone used to a village lifestyle may seem to be below par for someone from the city. Edited September 30, 2013 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 but NS here no xmm to see!!! there you got xmm to do 5BX together leh!! Here also got female recruits for u to beo. But ur standard must drop a little to appreciate the type of xmm joining SAF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Knowing malaysia situation, funds allocated for food, amenities and maintenance to the camps... mostly will disappear into pockets from high to low. That's why there were recent reports about camps so run-down that trainees refuse to report back! Also, standards differ because the kids that do malaysia NS hail from very different backgrounds. What is acceptable to someone used to a village lifestyle may seem to be below par for someone from the city. All the camps are located in oil palm plantation.. go figure.. [laugh] Firearms training are optional, cos not enough money to buy rounds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Knowing malaysia situation, funds allocated for food, amenities and maintenance to the camps... mostly will disappear into pockets from high to low. That's why there were recent reports about camps so run-down that trainees refuse to report back! Also, standards differ because the kids that do malaysia NS hail from very different backgrounds. What is acceptable to someone used to a village lifestyle may seem to be below par for someone from the city. Yup... Think the regulars will makan the funds. The other time I saw a truck loads of soldiers along the NS highway... They are mostly fat, pot bellied LCP / CPL. Muz be having a good life & paying their way thru their annual IPPT equivalent. No need PT, no need RT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 My female cousin kena called up. She say it's like a holiday camp there. Yes, there are cases of rape etc, but it's far and isolated cases when compared to the big picture. yup.. that is what i'm refering to.. apparently, my MY relatives are all talkin bout it.. but damn strange lah.. my family tree so big and have many cousins in MY... only I kena the lottery that time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Yup... Think the regulars will makan the funds. The other time I saw a truck loads of soldiers along the NS highway... They are mostly fat, pot bellied LCP / CPL. Muz be having a good life & paying their way thru their annual IPPT equivalent. No need PT, no need RT. Watch this documentry : Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 50% of the kids from each state will kena. and it's purely luck, 2 of my cousins kena liao.. Heng i didn't kena. Otherwise i'll be the 1st batch. Rather do 2 yrs NS in Singapore, at least SG side is proper military. ehh.. but I feel MY side the "suffering" make the serving more like military.. Singapore one is holiday camp.. good food good bed... any time ask mum write complain letter sure win... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Watch this documentry : i watched that before too. not sure if our commandos are as well trained as them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 I was a 2nd gen Singapore PR which was born and I grew up here. Served NS and the first batch to win the "lottery" from MY NS. So did you went back MY to serve their NS ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 Happens to me. I was born in SG, dad is Malaysian and mom Indonesian. Dad rejected SG govt offer and opt for me to take Malaysian citizenship. But after 20 years, i am back here, serve my 2 years and converted "back" to Singapore citizen. Was your Dad disappointed when you came back to do NS and take up SG citizenship??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 why they need you to do NS when they dun even trust the chinese? then ask you to exercise for 3 months and thats it, trying to tell people they also have the similar national service program? <_< 50% of the kids from each state will kena. and it's purely luck, 2 of my cousins kena liao.. Heng i didn't kena. Otherwise i'll be the 1st batch. Rather do 2 yrs NS in Singapore, at least SG side is proper military. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 ehh.. but I feel MY side the "suffering" make the serving more like military.. Singapore one is holiday camp.. good food good bed... any time ask mum write complain letter sure win... Count urself lucky then to get into a holiday chalet for ns. If u get a rifle/guards/ce or commando u dont get to sleep in the bunk for half of the serving yr....and lunch/dinner in camp is a luxury and u will learn to eat using a broken off styrofoam box. Even the storeman from this units has it tough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic September 30, 2013 Share September 30, 2013 why they need you to do NS when they dun even trust the chinese? then ask you to exercise for 3 months and thats it, trying to tell people they also have the similar national service program? <_< And sg government trust 'us'! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...