Singapore WoodLand and Tuas Checkpoint Traffic Peak Hours

Guanleng

From boarding BUS at Boon Lay to reaching Genting …. About 12 hours.

Started from Boon Lay at 7.15 am. About 4 hours was spent on the 2nd link jam. The other delays were due to heavier traffic along the way.

On return to 2nd link (9 Aug night) the MY immigration did not scan the passports on their computer, just visual check. On SG side, an additional lane was opened for buses/vans …. Otherwise the bus queue would definitely stretch to the top of the bridge. They definitely posted more people for faster clearance.

the jam is at msia custom ... you dont see it

each time when i was reaching spore, i see woodland and tuas (especially) sibei clear sibei happy

but then kena jam like siao at msia custom [mad]

And to add to this.. Queue cutting has been rampant.

Not sure this time they deploy cops like in the past, my experience during the June holidays was rather frustrating as there wasn't anyone managing the traffic

From boarding BUS at Boon Lay to reaching Genting . About 12 hours.

Started from Boon Lay at 7.15 am. About 4 hours was spent on the 2nd link jam. The other delays were due to heavier traffic along the way.

On return to 2nd link (9 Aug night) the MY immigration did not scan the passports on their computer, just visual check. On SG side, an additional lane was opened for buses/vans . Otherwise the bus queue would definitely stretch to the top of the bridge. They definitely posted more people for faster clearance.

Don't scan it's fine.. Important is to make sure they stamp the passport.. to avoid doing naked squats lol!

Will the car run out of fuel in a 5 hrs jam?

Actually I wonder those cars with auto engine off feature.. Will they run out of battery if they blast the air con while the engine is off?

I rented a VW Polo with that feature when in France recently.

It is the most useless feature possible, imo and annoyingly cut off the engine when coasting into a roundabout.

I found it dangerous as it sometimes cut the engine when I was slowing but not intending to stop and it worried me that following cars would bump into me as they were expecting me to carry on.

Of course as well as a drain on battery power with continuous on/off when in jam I dunno how it works with air con.

For those cars with automatic start/stop, the car batt is of larger capacity compared to normal cars thus it allows the car to run longer from its battery. Also these cars have computers and circuitry to monitor battery levels, car engine will kick in when battery level is low.

Don't think there is anything to worry about, but I am surprise to know BlueMotion (VW) kicks in even when car is running? From my understanding most cars automatic start/stop only switch off ignition when car is on stand-still

I rented a VW Polo with that feature when in France recently.

It is the most useless feature possible, imo and annoyingly cut off the engine when coasting into a roundabout.

I found it dangerous as it sometimes cut the engine when I was slowing but not intending to stop and it worried me that following cars would bump into me as they were expecting me to carry on.

Of course as well as a drain on battery power with continuous on/off when in jam I dunno how it works with air con.

No way battery will be drained under normal circumstances. It needs AGM battery.

No way will it cut-off engine unless engage neutral gear & leg off clutch pedal.

Edited by Davidtch

Went in the morning today at 8+ Totally no jam. Went shopping, wash car, pump petrol and depart for sg at around 1230pm and could see ham already started near ciq. Cleared in about an hour, including sg custom

Maybe many people went out for the past 3 days, so today tired and rest at home also to prepare for school and work tomorrow.

bro...u didnt see the line at both Checkpoint on Saturday? Some said the line was there for more than 24 hrs! Now we wondering when are those cars coming back!

Went in on 9 Aug with no jam. When coming back at about 4.30, got stuck for about 1.5 hr at EDL to jb icq. Sg icq was a breeze.

Most of the time it's the Malaysia custom that cause the jam.

But when you go in, sure jam. Muffin Law. [laugh]

That's the law that says must buy Darryn a banana chocolate chip muffin right?

Murphy ' s law says that anything that can go wrong will go wrong and that the chances of a slice of buttered bread falling butter side down are directly proportional to the cost of the carpet.

Yesterday we came back in 3 groups.... reach sg 10am, 1pm and 5pm respectively each claiming the others will be caught in the mother of all jams. Turned out very smooth traffic at all those times.

Dont tell me everyone went out one way ticket?

Edited by Karoon

when in on fri 130am with little jam over at Malaysia. came bk on mon noon with no jam at both side.

5hrs jam is no joke. I think drive in during odd hrs will be better during long holiday.

that kind of queue cutting is EVERYDAY .... !!! skip to 1:40 for the start of the action ;)

see who scare who

side sweep ... 50/50 ... both car also lose ...

if the car behind don't dare to cheong to cover the spot ... then kena label no balls ...

if cheong ... then side sweep ... spoil the day

in front also got 2 cars ... fighting each other for the spot ... [mad]

ahjib kor really fast fast implement VEP RM100 a pop la

Checkpoint stressful

Driver hits car to cut queue from bus lane near JB checkpoint -- and still argues he's right
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/driver-hits-car-to-cut-queue-from-bus-lane-near-JB-checkpoint

Checkpoint stressful

Driver hits car to cut queue from bus lane near JB checkpoint -- and still argues he's right

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/driver-hits-car-to-cut-queue-from-bus-lane-near-JB-checkpoint

Is 50/50.

Like what I mention in another thread. This is very common at custom.

If you reaction too slow LL have to give way.

There's nothing to get angry.