VellfireS 4th Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 Bros, I don't know whether you guys encountered before. But I have been going in for the past few weeks during the afternoon. And always. Always the car park would be jammed up. I don't know why. Is it because of the renovation outside the exit? I think they might have to either A) Put a traffic light/warden in front of the CP exit to clear traffic B) bigger yellow box? Because the wait. No joke. 20-30 mins just to exit carpark... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 Park at the HDB MSCP behind AMK hub next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 (edited) No prize for guessing - perpetual heavy traffic outside exit/entrance. Taxis occupying left lane and cars/other vehicles/buses lining up along middle lane... I rather park at the open air carpark behind the Hub. Edited September 15, 2013 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 (edited) I always notice that area always heavy traffic, whether the car is turning into or out of the hdb mscp or the amk hub. Feel something wrong with the design of the place or the traffic lights?! Edited September 15, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 (edited) The problem is within that short stretch of road. There are already 3 sets of traffic lights. Well... The one before the Hub exit is not relevant. Immediately after the hub carpark exit, there is one not far ahead, just below the overhead bridge. Following this there is another one for the cross junction. When the traffic gets busy, with these two traffic lights, they are good enough to cause a jam along the road, let alone those exiting the HUB carpark. This is where exiting the carpark becomes a problem. With this alone, it's already good to tell that, beforehand, analysis for traffic weren't properly given a thought through. It is both the problem of the design of the place and the positioning of the traffic lights. Before the hub was built, there was never such an issue because there isn't a "focus" point for the crowd to zoom into. AMK central is such a big central, they decided to build a hub to concentrate the human flow and traffic to just one location and of course this creates flow problem. I always thought that, when the NTUC mart and the bus interchange were at the big carpark where the Library is, the crowd is spread out and prevents the concentrated crowd problem which the area around AMK hub is facing now. Edited September 15, 2013 by Heartbreakid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 I think u often drive in n out during peak hours. I avoid amk hub between 12 to 2pm on weekdays if I need to go there during the day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 I like to shop around amk center many years ago before amk hub was build but after with the hub raised no longer go there.. can't tahan the jam and crowd......I think I go there not more than 3 times so far.. go also I will park at courts there and walk around those small outlets... Nothing in amk hub attract me except the aircondition... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ATTB 2nd Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 Good hill hold training platform. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Although AMK hub is big, I think there's nothing much to do there. I went there a few times but end up just go NTUC and buy things only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 I like to shop around amk center many years ago before amk hub was build but after with the hub raised no longer go there.. can't tahan the jam and crowd......I think I go there not more than 3 times so far.. go also I will park at courts there and walk around those small outlets... Nothing in amk hub attract me except the aircondition... Same here. I will park at the open space car park behind Courts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 The problem is within that short stretch of road. There are already 3 sets of traffic lights. Well... The one before the Hub exit is not relevant. Immediately after the hub carpark exit, there is one not far ahead, just below the overhead bridge. Following this there is another one for the cross junction. When the traffic gets busy, with these two traffic lights, they are good enough to cause a jam along the road, let alone those exiting the HUB carpark. This is where exiting the carpark becomes a problem. With this alone, it's already good to tell that, beforehand, analysis for traffic weren't properly given a thought through. It is both the problem of the design of the place and the positioning of the traffic lights. Before the hub was built, there was never such an issue because there isn't a "focus" point for the crowd to zoom into. AMK central is such a big central, they decided to build a hub to concentrate the human flow and traffic to just one location and of course this creates flow problem. I always thought that, when the NTUC mart and the bus interchange were at the big carpark where the Library is, the crowd is spread out and prevents the concentrated crowd problem which the area around AMK hub is facing now. Well analysed and I agree with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmylim 4th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 similar issue is happening outside clementi mall too. poor planning i would say. within a short distance, you have a taxi stand, carpark entrance to clementi mall, bus stop plus those vehicles that are picking up or dropping passengers. during peak hours, it is crazy with the long line of buses, going to middle lane because left lane is blocked with vehicles and taxi. so now LTA will station their folks or cisco bikes there. i also observed that majority of the buses stopping there are actually going to turn into and terminated at clementi bus terminal. make no sense to me since the bus stop and the terminal is so close. wrote to LTA to suggest these buses just go straight to the terminal to drop off all passengers instead of stopping at the bus stop so as to clear up the road. the reply is the passengers will need to pay a bit more due to the additional distance traveled and also they have to walk a bit more to the train station. standard reply. wonder if they ever check out the real distance added and why can't they do something to the distance traveled fare etc? think passengers can save more time instead of waiting in the buses queuing up in the main road. poor planning plus rigid thinking make us struck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Addats 1st Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 I remember when the AMK hub just open, there is no traffic light under the overhead bridge. It is added later on by the MP reason being it is requested by the resident. This is typical of doing things blindly. There is already a over head bridge why the need for the traffic light. The over head bridge has an escalator some more so should not be a problem for old folks right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 The problem is within that short stretch of road. There are already 3 sets of traffic lights. Well... The one before the Hub exit is not relevant. Immediately after the hub carpark exit, there is one not far ahead, just below the overhead bridge. Following this there is another one for the cross junction. When the traffic gets busy, with these two traffic lights, they are good enough to cause a jam along the road, let alone those exiting the HUB carpark. This is where exiting the carpark becomes a problem. With this alone, it's already good to tell that, beforehand, analysis for traffic weren't properly given a thought through. It is both the problem of the design of the place and the positioning of the traffic lights. Before the hub was built, there was never such an issue because there isn't a "focus" point for the crowd to zoom into. AMK central is such a big central, they decided to build a hub to concentrate the human flow and traffic to just one location and of course this creates flow problem. I always thought that, when the NTUC mart and the bus interchange were at the big carpark where the Library is, the crowd is spread out and prevents the concentrated crowd problem which the area around AMK hub is facing now. I think it is the car park exit that is the problem. Long before AMK Hub, that place already had a shopping centre (memories....) but no car park exit. I think the traffic lights issue can be solved with proper timing on when they turn green/red, it is the exit that is the problem. It should be closed and cars should only be allowed at the alternative exit at the back where Centro and the bus interchange is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 since the AMK hubopen, i have never park in the building before. All along, park behind the Macdonald mscp. plently of lots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kakabobo Clutched September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 same issue with clementi mall carpark. taxi bus car all wanna take left lane entering. somemore with illegal parking gone case liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Best time to go is either 8am or 8pm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turboguy 5th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 some of the jams are caused by; kuku inexperienced selfish drivers, taking their sweet time waiting at the carpark exit at the end of the up slope, wanting to cut across 2 lanes into lane 1 to do u turn or turing right ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...