A day at Ikea

Ahtong

On 9/10/2013 at 2:44 PM, Nicholas said:

If ikea is beside mrt, same thing sure happen.

cannot lah. Later, people will appeal to allow furnitures to be carried onboard and trains will be filled with all Ikea furnitures. [laugh]

That's why both our Ikea stores are built far away from MRT stations.

Edited by Kangadrool

After about three hours of waiting for significant other to shop in this store, I too would like to curl up and take a nap. Of course, I know better than that as I used to get my butt whooped for even thinking about it.

Speaking of barbarian. Ask them not to lean against railing also kena death threats [rolleyes]

Took this on the way to Bishan from Paya Lebar on the circle line at around 9.30pm on 08/09/2013.

Before that the auntie on the priority seat and the woman standing was telling this China guy nicely that he was leaning on the pole and the woman standing didn't have a place to hold on to. The China guy proceeded to shout at the auntie that he can do whatever the hell he wants and I think he proceeded to insult Singaporeans. (didn't catch what he said as I was on earphones)

One uncle at the other end then stepped in and told him he was at fault by leaning against the pole when the train is so crowded and to stop insulting Singaporeans.

Highlight: at 40 seconds China guy made a death threat and said he will kill the uncle if the uncle went to China.

On 9/11/2013 at 9:19 AM, Babyt said:

nothing stressful in the video...u want to lean on pole can...but if its crowded, pls be considerate n let ppl hold the pole.

Or let people hold his body since he blocks people from holding the pole :D

On 9/11/2013 at 9:19 AM, Babyt said:

nothing stressful in the video...u want to lean on pole can...but if its crowded, pls be considerate n let ppl hold the pole.

Yup, just an old fart being a prick.

More Singaporeans should stand up to him instead of just 'see show'.

If I meet this kind of idiot who want to talk so much despite being wrong, I'll just give the finger and walk away. No need waste my breath.

On 9/11/2013 at 2:35 PM, Nicholas said:

Yup, just an old fart being a prick.

More Singaporeans should stand up to him instead of just 'see show'.

If I meet this kind of idiot who want to talk so much despite being wrong, I'll just give the finger and walk away. No need waste my breath.

The problem is no point talking to people like him, the only way is to beat him to sense....

U know in sg heroism comes with a price...sadly

On 9/10/2013 at 9:20 AM, Ahtong said:

Check out how working class PRCs live in Beijing. Makes you appreciate your pigeon hole doesn't it?

SY-Beijing-03.jpg

Liu Jing, 21, from the central province of Henan, works as a pedicurist in east Beijing. She comes back to her bed two floors below ground level to sleep before returning to work in the morning.

SY-Beijing-09.jpg

This closet-size room, barely wider than a single bed, has been beautician Zhao Dan's home in Beijing for the past year. At 350 yuan a month, the rent is just ten percent of her income, but she chooses to stay here because renting an apartment would cost at least three times more.

SY-Beijing-14.jpg

Deng Lixia, 24, graduated from university in Qingdao, eastern China, in June of 2011 and came straight to Beijing to do an internship at an IT company testing software. Her boyfriend, who is also in Beijing and working at a supermarket, shares room A32 in this basement.

SY-Beijing-04.jpg

Jiang Ying, 24, a waitress, shares this basement room in central Beijing with her girlfriend Li Ying, 23, an office worker. They have lived here for one and a half-years and made the room their own by plastering on bright pink wallpaper.

SY-Beijing-17.jpg

Construction worker Ren Liang, 22 with his back to camera, enjoys a home-cooked dinner with two friends visiting from his hometown in Hebei, northern China. Ren has lived in this basement room for the six months he has been in Beijing for.

These people have the guts and willpower to go to the big city and try to survive on a shoe-string budget while trying to make something of their lives. It is very admirable and brings a tear to my eye.

I guess these are the kind of people that SG needs. Between a strawberry Sinkie (who complains and demands too much while living a comfortable life) and these PRC guys/gals, it is clear who will do better if given the same opportunity. It is no contest.

Sorry for the pro-FT sentiment, it is obvious to me which type of young people will be more useful to the nation.

Edited by Viceroymenthol

On 9/10/2013 at 10:27 AM, Bystander50 said:

The best way to deal with them is to shame them publicly with their behaviour. Stomp is a gd platform.

Where got shame?

I was using the PPS lounge on a trip and all was well until a group of about 15 AT came along.

I think I don't have to tell you their volume and imagine that X15 of them [dizzy]

And the way they go about the food at the buffet table and the drinks in the fridge <_<

All the ang mos at the lounge turned and gave them the frown but they yayapapaya at the attention they got.

I was so embarrassed then.

Edited by Poohbor

On 9/12/2013 at 5:47 AM, Viceroymenthol said:

These people have the guts and willpower to go to the big city and try to survive on a shoe-string budget while trying to make something of their lives. It is very admirable and brings a tear to my eye.

I guess these are the kind of people that SG needs. Between a strawberry Sinkie (who complains and demands too much while living a comfortable life) and these PRC guys/gals, it is clear who will do better if given the same opportunity. It is no contest.

Sorry for the pro-FT sentiment, it is obvious to me which type of young people will be more useful to the nation.

That's why it's time for Singaporean to tough up & compete with the Tiongs here... The conditions here is heaven compared to what they have as migrant workers to the big cities like Shanghai & Beijing. They don't have a choice. It's the survival of the fittest. S'poreans are seen as whiners when they complain about anything. We should adopt these positive traits they bring over!!

On 9/10/2013 at 7:44 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

The picture sleep on the rail very cool, if never hear oncoming train then can sleep forever

when there is an incoming train, the rail will vibrate.. it should be enough to wake him... unless... he is that tired.. den yea... he can sleep forever.

It is short-sighted to treat permanent residents (PRs) as expendable commodities.

Under past policies, many foreigners became PRs to meet short-term goals. This resulted in a large mixed bag that included people who did not even bother to come here and others who used the system to their own benefit. This left many Singaporeans with a bad feeling about PRs.

The best of PRs are not