Poohbor 4th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Hi, Any experts in marine tank setup here? Want to find out if it is possible to have a marine setup in a pond? The pond is outdoor (exposed to the sun) and is about 6ft - 3ft - 1.5ft. Tks in advance ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Your marine fish tank got fish exceeding 7 inches? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Hi, Any experts in marine tank setup here? Want to find out if it is possible to have a marine setup in a pond? The pond is outdoor (exposed to the sun) and is about 6ft - 3ft - 1.5ft. Tks in advance i am not expert...but exposed to the sun will have a lot of maintenance for u..clearing those algae will be a headache.......chiller must be powerful enough to cool the pond during the day...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Your marine fish tank got fish exceeding 7 inches? u looking for shark har? u r into fish too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 u looking for shark har? u r into fish too? I'm into fish but I'm not into you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tcx607 4th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Very challenging hobby. However, keep live coral away may be possible. Just like underwater world and Oceanraium, no real coral in the tank. Only fish and fake coral. Keeping the algae at bay is possible on different area such as sump tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 I'm into fish but I'm not into you liar!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Very challenging hobby. However, keep live coral away may be possible. Just like underwater world and Oceanraium, no real coral in the tank. Only fish and fake coral. Keeping the algae at bay is possible on different area such as sump tank. yeah...i think keep indoor is better...even keeping fresh water fish outdoor is a challenge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acanthus Neutral Newbie September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Keeping marine in an outdoor pond is possible. However you will need to have a roof/shelter over it. Best if the roof can allow sunlight in. - other than that, there isn't much difference between in house tanks and ponds. You probably have to consider the type of corals and fishes you are planning to keep - pond view is from top, if water current is too strong, can't see anything. Algae is not really an issue as long as you make sure there is a good filtration system, no dead spots in the pond (in terms of water circulation) and a really good skimmer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itali4must4ng 2nd Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 this one very challenging leh.. fresh water already buai tahan already >.< Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 outdoor marine pond? firstly, what are you going to keep? fishes only with live rocks? or mixed corals and fishes? you will need to have a giant sized protein skimmer, chiller and a large sump tank. if you have not kept any marine fish before, I would suggest that you start with a 3 footer or 4 foot tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitemondeo 1st Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Best kept indoor if you want them to live longer. Not dilute the salt content. You will need a good chiller, 10,000kelvin lighting for the fishes and coral. Unlike fresh water tank, PH, alkaline, salt, water temp have to be containly monitored. Good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 Your marine fish tank got fish exceeding 7 inches? anything exceed 7inches u surely interested hor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 I'm into fish but I'm not into you u into fish meh....i tot u into somewhere dark... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear September 2, 2013 Share September 2, 2013 my office got 3 big tanks of marine fishes and corals....not easy to treat the tanks.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poohbor 4th Gear September 2, 2013 Author Share September 2, 2013 (edited) Thanks for all the kind advice. I am currently keeping japanese top view ranchus (TVRs) in this pond with an internal laguna pump and external 3 chambers filteration filled with Bacteria houses and coral chips. No UV sterilization though but the filter is able to keep the algae at bay. Unless I up the number of TVRs and the bio load, I recently added a Jebo external filter to complement the existing filteration setup to manage the water parameter and keep the algae away. Lots of maintenance and tender loving care is needed. Yes keeping fish outdoor is a constant challenge due to the weather and roaming predator(s). I am getting quite sian with TVRs liao...they don't come cheap ($2000 onwards for a show quality fish) and they have lots of restrictions and die easily, eg. water level mustn't be too high or their tail will warp, water movement must be slow, etc. I have a good 5 figure sum lost overnite just because of rain. Am now toying on the thought of converting it to marine setup instead Edited September 2, 2013 by Poohbor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poohbor 4th Gear September 2, 2013 Author Share September 2, 2013 outdoor marine pond? firstly, what are you going to keep? fishes only with live rocks? or mixed corals and fishes? you will need to have a giant sized protein skimmer, chiller and a large sump tank. if you have not kept any marine fish before, I would suggest that you start with a 3 footer or 4 foot tank. Never had marines before...and I understand it is hard work...something goes wrong and one will have to start all over again. That's why I come seek advice before I consider whether or not to venture into this hobby. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poohbor 4th Gear September 2, 2013 Author Share September 2, 2013 Your marine fish tank got fish exceeding 7 inches? Bro...I understand Lion fish aka scorpion fish can grow to this length ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...