Carnoob Supercharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/10/2013 at 1:58 PM, Wt_know said: now many complain the best sellers in cat A are conti even change rule to 130bhp ... conti is still highly likely to be best sellers in cat A the problem is not the car model ... the issue is supply and demand supply = 500 coe for cat A demand = 1000 buyers the 500 who got coe are likely buying conti because only conti dealer has "huge margin" to play with to outbid other and naturally pushing coe higher and higher testing new height ... same goes to cat B Precisely, they are not address the problem direct, just on the pretext of solving "social equity". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/10/2013 at 11:51 PM, Kar_lover said: After registration, the normal LTA rules pertaining to modding would apply. This rule being cited is to address possibility of importers DOWN TUNING their car so as to qualify for Cat A instead of Cat B. That means i can buy Golf TSI 122hp with Cat A COE. After that, remap to 140hp. Isn't that a loophole then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalaisgongon Clutched September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 12:09 AM, Myxilplix said: I long ago brought up COE balloting system machiam HDB liao, with fixed prices somemore. People here disagree To those still talking about the remaining contis in CAT A, please lah. How many people actually buy those small hatchback contis or 1.0/1.2 litre contis? How many Audi A1s and WV polos you see on the road? I know there are a lot of badge whores in the Singapore car-buying public, but for the same reason they won't be buying compact hatchbacks even if the badge on the front is sibeh satki. Must be minimum C-Class/3-Series size then got face. Or are you trying to say that every month after February all the 200-300+ CAT A allocations are going to be snapped up by people buying Audi A1s, 1.2 litre VWs and Mini Ones?? Exactly. Those cars are so small, people who have a family and some common sense, and who actually care for the comfort for their family, wouldnt want to squeeze 5 people into a a1/polo.... Furthermore, if use OMV, no one consider the other side of the equation ah? what if euro crash, then merc/bmw become below 20k. Now a class is 25 k omv. you never know, if it drops how? or if PI brings in Barebone of the barebones versions? No wheel, no tire. Can save then save. press below 20k. then sell as CAT a, sell alr, fit everything locally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jani7Bray Neutral Newbie September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 I have been pluggin in and out my 32Gb Sandisk Class 10 SD Card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 12:09 AM, Myxilplix said: I long ago brought up COE balloting system machiam HDB liao, with fixed prices somemore. People here disagree To those still talking about the remaining contis in CAT A, please lah. How many people actually buy those small hatchback contis or 1.0/1.2 litre contis? How many Audi A1s and WV polos you see on the road? I know there are a lot of badge whores in the Singapore car-buying public, but for the same reason they won't be buying compact hatchbacks even if the badge on the front is sibeh satki. Must be minimum C-Class/3-Series size then got face. Or are you trying to say that every month after February all the 200-300+ CAT A allocations are going to be snapped up by people buying Audi A1s, 1.2 litre VWs and Mini Ones?? I advocate bidding COE with Singpass for all Cat except open cat. Since it has to be cash, bidder would think twice to bid high high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:08 AM, Wishxsr said: Should they own a public housing here? And i think car are not really a luxury item to alot of singaporean as they need it for work purpose, family & etc. When the time the 6.9Mil is here, really cant imagine how many locals here can even afford a MIC car. To the govt, car is a luxury. U have bus & MRT. If u think no good, why not everyday write in to complain until something is done? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalaisgongon Clutched September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 (edited) On 9/11/2013 at 1:27 AM, Davidtch said: To the govt, car is a luxury. U have bus & MRT. If u think no good, why not everyday write in to complain until something is done? Yea. wonder which government in the WORLD has said that the car is NOT a luxury. If a car is a necessity, the next thing people will say. I got family, kids, got work. So need to have safer and bigger car. so now qq cannot, must have G wagon. So accident my family safe... necessity what, necessary for safety. then i got work, i spend alot of time in traffic, need to get here and there fast, maybe helicopter is also necessity, cause i wait in traffic too long, my leg cramp, then leg pain.... the slippery slope way too ridiculous Edited September 11, 2013 by Lalaisgongon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:31 AM, Lalaisgongon said: Yea. wonder which government in the WORLD has said that the car is NOT a luxury. The problem we faced is lack of MACRO view in Ministry of Transports/LTA. Fix 1 problem but create another 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishxsr 2nd Gear September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 (edited) On 9/11/2013 at 1:20 AM, Lalaisgongon said: So you are saying that the govt should restrict non singaporean to buy car to make it cheaper for singaporeans to buy? like that, might as well, buy a local car company and sell cheap car to singapore ( HDB of cars). Think that plan didnt work too well, (aka pr_t_n, in one of our close neighbours.) Its the Coe thats matter, so they no need to buy a local car company. its seem quite alot of F.T here leh.hehe Edited September 11, 2013 by Wishxsr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 I still don't understand the logic of a car is NEEDED for work, family & etc. Even if it is a need, then my question is why new? Car = Family, Work, etc Car = New car and used car So it is still the choice of an individual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalaisgongon Clutched September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:35 AM, Wishxsr said: Its the Coe thats matter, so they no need to buy a local car company. Yea. so we increase COE to meet demand. then demand goes up again. Every singaporean own 1 car. Then people want variety want to own different model/ different colour. COE go back up... Then people come out say, Eh garmen, why you no look after our needs for cheap car, come come you , create car company give us cheaper car.... Die la like that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalaisgongon Clutched September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:36 AM, Carnoob said: I still don't understand the logic of a car is NEEDED for work, family & etc. Even if it is a need, then my question is why new? Car = Family, Work, etc Car = New car and used car So it is still the choice of an individual. excatly, to add to his point, to those who really NEEED a car. like NEED. there are second hand cars going for 20-30k or lower. Why need to buy new car that needs COE The fact that someone buys a new car is no longer a need. For example if you NEED water to survive, would you go buy Evian? Or you neeed food to live, would you say no plain bread? and go, yea need to have caviar then i eat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:23 AM, Lalaisgongon said: Exactly. Those cars are so small, people who have a family and some common sense, and who actually care for the comfort for their family, wouldnt want to squeeze 5 people into a a1/polo.... Furthermore, if use OMV, no one consider the other side of the equation ah? what if euro crash, then merc/bmw become below 20k. Now a class is 25 k omv. you never know, if it drops how? or if PI brings in Barebone of the barebones versions? No wheel, no tire. Can save then save. press below 20k. then sell as CAT a, sell alr, fit everything locally. euro already dropped so much during the last 2 years......that's why last time c class omv about 32k, now about 30k. if a major currency can crash so much more after what has dropped these two years, then surely the world economy has got very serious problems that even the IMF and G8 country leaders cannot address. and no matter how much yen moves relative to euro, we can be sure omv of bmw 1 series, mercs c class will never dip below that of altis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:08 AM, Wishxsr said: Should they own a public housing here? And i think car are not really a luxury item to alot of singaporean as they need it for work purpose, family & etc. When the time the 6.9Mil is here, really cant imagine how many locals here can even afford a MIC car. Why do you think owning a car is not a luxury? Do you mean if you don't have a car now you and your family will not be able to survive in Singapore? You won't be able to move around without a car? Or do you just want to own a car for your own convenience only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaixing Neutral Newbie September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 To battle illegal mod & adjustment of Horse power LTA will make all new cars from Feb to undergo annual vehicle inspection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalaisgongon Clutched September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:39 AM, Acemundo said: euro already dropped so much during the last 2 years......that's why last time c class omv about 32k, now about 30k. if a major currency can crash so much more after what has dropped these two years, then surely the world economy has got very serious problems that even the IMF and G8 country leaders cannot address. and no matter how much yen moves relative to euro, we can be sure omv of bmw 1 series, mercs c class will never dip below that of altis. we may never know what may happen? Hence by using BHP , there less variable factors to be involved. Correct, the Euro dropped before.... and no one can do anything about it. Give me the benefit of the doubt, say IF (Big IF) euro crashes, and YEN spikes like crazy. then how? Altis go cat b and 1 series go Cat A. Then how? But BHP drop can do something about it, government can simply say, ok, for 3 series, i will take the average of all the 3 series you have in the world, or say 316 in the world, and use that average. so they cannot just bring in a 316 that is lower just for sg. They will see overseas, what is the BHP of the 316? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:39 AM, Lalaisgongon said: excatly, to add to his point, to those who really NEEED a car. like NEED. there are second hand cars going for 20-30k or lower. Why need to buy new car that needs COE The fact that someone buys a new car is no longer a need. For example if you NEED water to survive, would you go buy Evian? Or you neeed food to live, would you say no plain bread? and go, yea need to have caviar then i eat.... Looks like I m 1 of those who WANT a car. But I nvr buy new 1. I buy recycle COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalaisgongon Clutched September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 1:41 AM, Nzy said: Why do you think owning a car is not a luxury? Do you mean if you don't have a car now you and your family will not be able to survive in Singapore? You won't be able to move around without a car? Or do you just want to own a car for your own convenience only? Sense.of.Entitlement. People think everything is suppose to given to them, that they deserve it... cause you know, they "pay" garmen 1million each, so they suppose to be wonder workers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...