COE refinements to be finalised in next few weeks

Darthrevan

I KNOW exactly why it is there. I am criticizing the rules that resulted in Audi being in the list. Not whether I understand the rule. So please, step down from your pedestal, stop thinking you are that clever guy and I do not understand. I am doing a critique a level higher. Take a step up and lets have a proper debate.

My point is: power cut off is a stupid rule. So long as there are luxury marques left in Cat A, the whole policy shifts will be a massive fail.

You remain stonewalled in your narrow vision telling us why Audi is in Cat A and how the place of power cut off will affect civics. Step up an intellectual level. Power cut off is a fail. Do that, then start belittling others with some fancy quotes. [rolleyes]

There is no utopia or perfection in public policy planning.

So there is nothing to debate with someone who does not understand and see the multiple factors and compromises involved in public policy planning.

Please continue your potshots and 'debate' with the people at your self proclaimed higher level.

That one i said long ago.. No one listen leh.... [laugh]

Best is Property also full cash only..... Best best...woohoo.

I think they should listen to us. Property can't la.. If property also full cash i'll hv to change trade already.. Ur low lex very shiny le.. [thumbsup]

well, that makes 1.

[rolleyes]

Audis still remain in CAT A and people who wants those Audis will still completely financially out-muscle those in CAT A. In short this move fail to achieve even the most ridiculous aim it had. Yet somehow it has done a good job. There is no one as blind as one who refuses to see.

Haha, +1 to what you said.

My first reaction when I saw the news this morning (of the 130bhp ruling) was like "what the...".

Let's see what happens from now till next Feb. Play on... [laugh]

A man works hard usually for a better life for himself and his family, dio Bo?

A better life means:- nice home, nice food/clothes etc, plus status and freedom eg freedom of movements, he can go anywhere, any time. dio bo?

Unless the man is home bound and doesn't step out, freedom of moments is a good thing, dio Bo?

Btw, basic needs are just basic, or bare essentials. A man who is contented with just the basics, is a, well, contented man. Good for him. But many of us will continue to strive for better things in life beyond the basics.

A car gives the man status, freedom of movement. Thats why in most developed countries, a man will buy a car as soon as he can afford it. Call it a want if you will, but a car is top on the list and there's nothing wrong with it.

In these developed countries, most people can more or less afford to buy and use his car if he belongs to the mid-income group. This is almost universal.

In sgp, the trend is that car ownership will only be a dream for even the majority of the mid income group, ie a big chunk of the hardworking population will be deprived, artificially by policies and rules, the freedom of movements.

Given the need to squeeze 6.9m into our tiny island, we don't have a choice but let these policies n rules take away the freedom.

The only consolation is that one day hopefully the promised improvements in the public transport systems will give back to us some kind of semi-freedom of moments ie efficient, easily available, affordable, convenient, and well connected mode of transport. [:)]

A so called developed first world country must live up to the name by providing its people more than just the bare essentials. In the case of sgp, it must focus on giving the people a truly world class public transport system.

Ah Sok, Kong Tuck Hoe, Gumn Tank !!

I still feel its a want. I have 2 kids and there's a gap of 2+years. One is just a baby few months old only. I don't have any problems using public transport even during rush hour. Only problem is when it is raining really heavily. But how often does that happen? If no car just take cab during those few occasions lo. I end up also hardly use my car. Find it more convenient to just use public transport and go straight to work.

If its a need then how did so many families in the same situation survive without a car? I know of quite a few families like that and they don't have a car.

you are right, there are many examples around us [nod]

There is no problem with COE but how we had deviated from it.

1. First, the flooding of COE in the market during the past years which should have been controlled.

2. Second, COE in the limelight because it had escalated to be a social issue cos everyone NEEDS a car.

3. Third, COE premium high because supply < demand (which I agree but must managed to supply = demand)

So adding bhp in categorizing is to push luxury cars to Cat B so people will not perceive that luxury cars are pushing up COE premium? Then I have another question, Cat B is equally high so should we push luxury cars to Cat E instead?

Ok enough said dun say I dun give chance, let's see in Feb 2014 whether the Cat A will drop to suit the MASS MARKET else it is LPPL if MASS MARKET cars are still as expensive as LUXURY CARS.

I don't car dealers for luxury model (e.g. BMW, Merc) will sit back now that majority of their car models are out of cat A. I am sure they are in the process of ensuring that they will import other car models that will just fall below the 130BHP benchmark to be in the cat A market. For car dealers of Audi and/or VW, they won't be affected too much as their B&B models (Audi A1, Jetta, Polo, etc) has always been below 130BHP in the first place.

but i guess power a safer thing to play with. OMV the dealers can play with options. Also the currency enchange makes it more dynamic...

well, looks like tuners gonna get busy [laugh] [laugh]

yah man, I better pick up my tuning skills fast and make some extra pocket $$ :D

Like what I posted elsewhere, any amount of tweaking to COE is not accepted by everyone. It is never a one size fits all, but a necessary evil.

The running costs of driving here are manageable, and with the rising affluence (not withstanding the widening income disparity), more and more don't mind spending more to secure their COE. The announcement just see-saw the distribution, but the demand is still there.

If the govt is smart, do it HK's way - impose exorbitant parking, fuel taxation and road usage charges (here, it's ERP). Also, further enhance public tpt. In summary, just make it more expensive to drive per trip (eg. $50-80 per trip versus a $5 public transport), and the demand kills by itself.

BMW can start importing their 114i

Capacity in ccm 1,598

Max. output in kW (hp) at 1/min

75 (102) / 4,000

Max. torque in Nm at 1/min

180 / 1,100

BMW Official Website

Merc will bring in their A180.

1,595 cc (97.3 cu in) I4 turbo (M 270 DE 16 AL red.) 122 PS (90 kW; 120 hp)@5000, 200 N

BMW can start importing their 114i

Capacity in ccm 1,598

Max. output in kW (hp) at 1/min

75 (102) / 4,000

Max. torque in Nm at 1/min

180 / 1,100

BMW Official Website

Merc will bring in their A180.

1,595 cc (97.3 cu in) I4 turbo (M 270 DE 16 AL red.) 122 PS (90 kW; 120 hp)@5000, 200 N

when dealers bring in all the bmw, merc, audi and vw 1.4L turbo with < 130bhp

the sales of cat A still the same which is > 70% car sold are conti

then what will LTA do?

i still think the japanese and korean dealers will continue to eat grass ...

Looks like all the midsize MPVs will move to Cat B starting from Feb next year?

Does not look good for large families who wants to drive their parents and kids around.

Going to need to take public transport or call 2 taxis. [:(]

or buy a mini-bus (9 seater) which I almost did when my aged parents were still around

when dealers bring in all the bmw, merc, audi and vw 1.4L turbo with < 130bhp

the sales of cat A still the same which is > 70% car sold are conti

then what will LTA do?

BMW & Merc is all KO liao. Detune is out of the pic as per some1 before.

Only left VAG.

Every1 will flock back to Altis?

Sounds like you already have the answers? [laugh]

Why don't you come up with that lists of cars that you can put into B&B Cat A pool and premium Cat B pool and post it for us to see?

Since it's obvious it should be an easy job.

I'm sure LTA and every driver in SG will thank you and that includes me too.

Let's put an end to all these COE whining threads once and for all. [;)]

I have the solution doesn't mean I need embark on futile campaign to win over ignoramuses and bigots.

Whining doesn't become so merely because well thought ideas are articulated strongly.

new rule is Feb 14 la

from now till Feb 14 ... still got plenty of time for dealer to bring in models that are < 130bhp ... dealer will "outsmart" govt ... as usual

BMW & Merc is all KO liao. Detune is out of the pic as per some1 before.

Only left VAG.

Every1 will flock back to Altis?